We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letterfinlay Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Letterfinlay Lodge”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for one night,Sunday 23/09/2012, very friendly welcome on arrival. Enjoyed both our evening meal and breakfast served by very pleasant staff. I cant understand the critism of previous reviews.Sometimes a little patience is needed as foreign waitresses need a little time to understand our language which has so many dialects ranging through scots, irish,english and welsh. As to staff training I would suggest some customers could benefit from a little training in manners. I will certainly return to this hotel for a future visit which also has a lovely setting on picturesque Loch Lochy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neri36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    267
    100
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
575
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

did not stay at hotel this time but booked evening meal for my wife and friends birthday.the meal was fantastic. the 3 girls that waited on us were amazing nothing was a problem. always had a smile on there faces really made it a most enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant and our staff.

We hope you will pop in again next time you are passing, or even come and stay next time.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had stayed here courtesy of a 5pm big deal which we received as a present - we upgraded this to stay in a massive room which was just adjacent to the hotel - it had its own door and a large decked terrace which was only for us. It wasnt the warmest day so we didnt get to use this but could imagine this being lovely on a nice summers day overlooking the loch. The room itself was recently refurbished and was massive - it was decorated to a high standard and had a great view over the water.

Dinner was very good and breakfast the next day was excellent. Staff were all very friendly and efficient. Would definently recommend this and consider staying here again in the future

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Gordon78

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We have many special offers on throughout the year. Get in touch or check out our website for our current offers and Festive offering.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I travelled to the Hotel with my other half, parents and 2 spaniels, staying for 2 nights at the beginning of September.

We were in the Pet friendly room ( room 14) which was excellent and clean...the best dog friendly room I have ever stayed in. It s location at the back of the hotel with direct access outside which was ideal. The hotel were happy for the dogs to be left in the room during dinner and breakfast which made us much more relaxed over mealtimes knowing that they were safe.

My parents stayed in the Sea Eagle room in the newer rooms, at the side of the main hotel building, which again was very clean and had views over the Loch....Dad was sure he saw an Osprey one morning!

The food was excellent and all the staff were exceptional and friendly. It was a really relaxing place to be.

The only thing that could have improved the stay would have been if we could have taken the dogs into a designated area in one of the lounges / communal rooms as unfortunately the weather did not allow us to sit outside on the balcony.

We hope to return and I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Samantha M

Thank you very much for your kind words and detailed review.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you will all get the chance to return soon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August and it was better than I expected. Massive room, though my parants room was much smaller, lovely and clean. Very nice and friendly staff, Lithuanian girl with the best Scottish accent ever. Good location, v good food well served and cooked good beer and wine I'd recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skutter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Scutter2

Thank you very much for such a positive review of our hotel.

We believe we have a great team, reviews like this give us the confidence that we are on the right track, as we go forward.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were looking for somewhere special to have a memorable birthday meal at the end of a great day of activities, whilst on holiday at the end of August. We came across this hotel on our way back to Inverness and thought it was ideal as we had seen the loch from the top of the Ben Nevis cable car earlier. We had a wonderful meal sitting by the window overlooking the loch and my husband was in his element taking photos between courses of the view outside. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly. One of the waitresses even showed our 11 year old how to fold the decorative napkin shape so that made his day! If you want a beautiful location for a meal - this is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Not only are we blessed with amazing scenery in and around our location as you have sampled. We are also very lucky to have some of the finest local produce on our doorstep.

We hope you will consider spending your next birthday with us?

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This Lodge is advertised as Fort William but its about 10 min drive past in a place called Spean. That said this place is gorgeous. Rooms are fairly basic and the lodge is quite old but the scenery more than makes up for it. It is warm and clean and the restaurant is wonderful, the outlook and the food. I had an amazing salmon dish and a wonderful meringue and banana desert.
we went walking after dinner as it was light in May until about 10pm and it was just so silent and stunning. The staff were lovely and our bed comfortable. I wouldnt hesitate going back here!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the Loch and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Frogmelbourne

Thank you for your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you back sometime.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
23.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing