We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my husband. If we'd known how lovely it was would have booked longer!!
A very warm welcome by manager. Service and food out of this world. Breakfasts were more than ample and varied.
Location wise, just perfect. We arrived on a sunny afternoon and enjoyed a drink on the terrace overlooking the loch.
Very enjoyable stay. We'll be back if we're that way again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie6priory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our food and service.

I will pass your kind comments onto my Team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel.

Best regards

The Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

PS:- You should come and stay with us at Christmas!! We have a fantastic Christmas package!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had a lovely stay here. Staff very helpful. Food was great. We had a standard room, was lovely and had partial loch view which was a bonus. Our bed was so comfortable, best night sleep we have both had in ages. The views from dinning area and veranda were fantastic. We felt dbb offer was reasonably priced and great choice on menu. The only one thing we found was that our room and dinning room was a little cool. However when we mentioned this to staff we were instantly given a extra heater for our room, which was amazing. We do feel that hotel would benefit from double glazing through out to keep heat in during winter.However this slight negative is easily out weighed by the positives. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel many times in the future for peaceful, relaxing breaks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonomous87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear anonomous87

Many thanks for your kind words and review of our hotel.

Letterfinlay is the perfect retreat for anyone wanting to get away for some rest and relaxation.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Have just returned today from a 3 night stay in the "Golden Eagle Suite" at the Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel as part of my 50th Birthday from my lovely wonderful man. What an amazing place, not only were the views stunning with the surrounding hills and loch but the entire staff at the Lodge were amazingly kind, very sociable and could not be more welcoming if they tried. Our accommodation was very comfortable which included a balcony which overlooked the Loch and everything that we needed was there for us. Food was delicious, very generous portions, could not fault the breakfast or evening dinner at all! I would certainly recommend a stay here anytime of the year and will almost definately return again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Janice N

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel.

The lovely chocolates you left us were very much appreciated, we even shared them with the chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The staff were lovely and helpful and meals were pretty good. The ambience, room and general experience fell well short of expectations. The forecourt area is really quite scruffy. Think managment should try a bit harder.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Bryan G

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words regarding our team.

I am surprised to say the least that you found our grounds (forecourt) scruffy. We employ a full time member of staff to look after the grounds and we are often complimented on them.

We would have apprecieted it, if you could have articulated in more detail your critisism of our rooms, ambeience and management. Constructive critisism, (which we believe this isn't) can always bee used to assist us improve, as we strive to better our product in every way.

I would be delighted if you could contact us at the hotel so as we can discuss your points in more detail.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We (4 friends) decided to stay here overnight on our way from Portavadie Marina to Fort Augustus. We arrived around 7pm just in time for a meal in the restaurant as we were all famished. The meal was nice , but still rather pricey for what the actual food on the menu was.
And to top it off £4 per latte!!!
The room was nice and clean with a lovely view over the loch. Breakfast was also nice, lots to choose from.

We would return to the hotel but not eat in the restaurant as it's very pricey for what it is.

The staff need to wear a uniform, I didn't like that all the staff wore casual clothes, and the girl who was 'cleaning' the corridors was listening to music through headphones - not very professional to say the least!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 11- nice view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear AllyBon

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and meal. I have taken your constructive comments onboard and they have already been discussed at our weekly management meeting.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards

Letterrfinlay Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We travel frequently between our home in the Western Isles and our other home in Wales and always stay at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel. It's quirky and fun, the staff are very welcoming and accommodating and the food never fails to delight. I have an unusual food allergy and this does't phase the chef. Last time we stayed we were accompanied by my sister and brother-in-law and unfortunately he was taken ill over breakfast. The staff were very attentive and we had to spend 5 hours at Fort William Hospital (excellent hospital). The only other blip was that we had been allocated rooms in the grounds ( we hadn't realised that there were rooms in the grounds) and had to insist on staying in the main house. The staff handled our complaint about the external rooms sensitively and sympathetically, the weather was atrocious and we would have looked like drowned rats at the dinner table - I had even packed my coats believing I wouldn't need one! We have already booked a room for our December visit and very much look forward to our return.

Room Tip: room 4 is super, we love the quirky plumbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear LucindLucile

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel again.

We really appreciate that you and your family continue to return to Letterfinlay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our second trip to Letterfinley Lodge, the first was in November 2011.

On arrival we were advised that we would be a little later in getting checked in as there had been a wedding party in for the last 2 nights and they were taking their time leaving (we saw some of them as they left - it looks like they all had a good night!). We waited in the bar for around an hour but this was no big deal and we were given a free round of drinks as we waited, which was really nice.

We were upgraded to the Osprey Suite which is very nice, but would have been just as happy in a standard room (as we were last time).

We were concerned at returning to a hotel we had such fond memories of as we thought the food might not live up to the expectations we held from our last visit. We were very wrong though, the food was wonderful again. For me, the dining experience is the best thing about this hotel and I would eat here every night if I could. They also catered for my food allergy very well.

I recommend everybody visits this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are out of the main hotel building if this concerns you check when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColandKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear ColandKaz

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.

Feedback like yours, especially from return guests is really encouraging to hear.

To answer your question (can we move in) Yes absolutely!

Check out our website for the excellent wine and dine offers that are on at the moment and haste ye back....

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
197 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
492 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
616 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing