We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great weekend.”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

would just like to say a big thank you for the service we received when my wife Sheila and i stayed at your Hotel.it was excellent. Food was first class and staff could not have been more helpful.we will be back.Rick Irvine.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the loch.you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear turbine52

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We really appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you and Sheila back soon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    263
    97
    34
    27
See reviews for
126
562
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

me and my partner stayed for the weekend in the dunkeld suite, and had an amazing time.

the views from my room were breathtaking. the room was clean and tidy and the staff were excellent especially sharon who couldnt have beex nices.

the food was great and we were really made to feel so welcome. i would urge anyone to visit this lovely retreat .

the only negative is it is out the way and although there is buses, be prepared to pay for taxi services, but all in all had a fantastic weekend.

thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorgreen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Lorgreen

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you and your partner enjoyed your stay.

Dunkeld (room 7) is one of our most popular rooms, with excellent views across the Loch to the snow capped hills, as well as down the Loch to Gairlochy.

Regarding transport, there are frequent buses to and from Fort William and Inverness. The hotel is an official stop the the said bus services. We also have an arrangement with a local taxi firm which allows our guests a significant discount. For drivers, Fort William is a 15-20 minute drive.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

PS I will pass on your regards to Sharon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This was our first visit to the Letterfinlay and we loved it, from the warm welcome, fantastic location and wonderful food it was a delight . Our room overlooked the Loch and the mountains felt as though they were in the room with us, quite breathtaking!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a roomoverlooking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stev124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Stev124

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Letterfinlay and we hope it is not long before you can come back to see us again.

Best Regards

Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned home from a 5 day break at at Letterfinlay Lodge. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The food is excellent, beautifully presented and served by lovely friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The view from our bedroom was breathtaking. Very
comfortable lounge with roaring log fire. Gavin,Sharon,Grant & Derek made this break very enjoyable. We will be back, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Elizabeth B

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I would like to thank the friendly staff at the hotel for making our weekend so good . The food was good .We had a small problem with the shower ( no water ) but the staff did their best to fix it , this did not wast our weekend ...... Thanks again for a lovely weekend ..... We will be back soon

Room Tip: We had a large family room ...... Views over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Lynn O

Thank you for the review.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us, you were all good fun and understanding.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We arrived at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel on Friday 16th November 2012 and within the small reception felt the heat from a welcoming roaring log fire in the drawing room. We were welcomed expertly to the hotel and its facilities and enquiries were made about our dinner arrangements. It was such a warm and friendly welcome that we knew right away we'd come to the right place for a relaxing 'long weekend' break.

And so it proved, in the evening we came down from our room to a spotlessly clean restaurant and met a very pleasant, friendly young lady who asked us where we would prefer to sit and explained what was on the menu and what was part of the DBB package we had taken.

The food was of a very good standard and the wine priced at normal hotel prices. The excellent service and attention continued throughout the meal, this regardless that the restaurant was getting ever busier. As it did we met our third member of staff and lo and behold he was, just like the first gentleman and young lady we'd already met, absolutely welcoming and thoroughly professional.

Saturday breakfast was a feast, and all freshly cooked to order, we didn't get to meet Chef, however I'm convinced he'd have been of the same standard of service as the others, excellent!

Saturday was a foul day outside, we went for a hike and returned soaked through, no drying room, however our host took our wet clothes to the boiler room for drying out, all part of the service! Another excellent meal on Saturday night and another excellent breakfast on Sunday.

This hotel has unbelievable views over Loch Lochy, it is an imaculately clean hotel, it's not new, but it is well cared for. Without a doubt even with the spectacular views and glorious surroundings, the biggest asset this hotel has is its genuinely caring staff. What a wonderful welcome and it never let up from the minute we arrived until after we left.

Great effort and if the team were mine I'd be very proud of them.

I'll certainly return to this excellent establishment.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Superior Room 2, it's very spacious and the views along the loch are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Tom L

Thank you very much for your very detailed and considered review of our hotel.

We are very proud of our hardworking team here at Letterfinlay and for them to see a review like this coming through, it makes all the effort worthwhile.

All of our energies go into providing a typical warm "Highland Welcome", this feedback indicates we are going in the right direction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Letterfinlay soon!

Best Regards

Gavin & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a weekend break. The position of the hotel (over looking loch) was stunning, really a picture post-card outlook. It was a shame the weather was not that good, but that is Scotland!!!
The food in the restaurant is very good and full marks to the chefs.
On the downside, bedrooms could do with upgrading and maybe a heated towel-rail in the bathroom would take the chill off it. More hot water would be welcomed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, General Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Jambo9

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Due to our Special Winter Dinner, Bed and Breakfast offers we have been exceptionally busy, I am glad you found it good value and enjoyed your meals.

The room you were in is the last of our rooms to be refurbished and is scheduled to be finished before Xmas. I hope you can return sooner rather than later to see the improvements we have made.

I hope you guys made it back home in time for your appointment, I remember you had a very early start.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing