We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Year Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best New Year Ever!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Letterfinlay for their New Year package and what a wonderful time we had.

We were greeted by a very cheery Sharon who's smile was as genuine from the minute we arrived till the minute we left. Gavin, in his very professional manner, was always on hand to assist with any questions and always took time to stop for a chat which made us feel welcome during our entire stay. He also makes a mean Baileys Hot Chocolate.

Supper each evening was a delight to behold, with a very varied and sumptuous menu to suit both our tastes and appetites.

We were booked into the Osprey Suite and words can hardly describe just how palatial, luxurious and romantic it actually was, not forgetting the stunning views from our private balcony. This needs to be experienced first hand.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Clay Pigeon shoot on the Osprey Deck, which was expertly conducted in a relaxed and safe manner by Alex MacDonald of Achnacarry Sporting.

This is not the first time we have stayed here and every time we experience this level of care, attention and enjoyment. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    267
    100
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
575
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We booked into the restaurant for a meal whils visiting Fort William over Hogmanay and had a brilliant time. The service was excellent and the food was innovative, well prepared and mouth-wateringly tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We use Letterfinlay on a regular basis and always enjoy going back. The New Year package was exceptional value and coupled with great food, comfortable bedroom, great staff, relaxed atmosphere and of course magnificent views, our party had a wonderful time - already booked in for next New Year.
One of the best places in Scotland to bring in the New Year.

Room Tip: Book a room with a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had a wonderful two nights stay which consisted of DBB which we found to be great value. The hotel was comfortable and welcoming will lovely views. The staff where all very helpful and friendly would like to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Can a hotel be over hyped? To its detriment? You get so carried away by the enthusiasm of TA reviewers that you sort of fail to triangulate that information with other things.. Such as the price you are paying and the star rating and indeed how the hotel describes itself. I feel like I allowed myself to build up an expectation of this hotel that it didn't (couldn't) meet and that is no-ones fault but my own (well, mine and TA's). Be in no doubt this is a lovely place. Location and views are outstanding and the staff led by manager Gavin are fabulous - warm, welcoming and providers of excellent service. Rooms are nicely appointed too (we were in 7 which was so cosy and had great views over the loch). The en-suite was small but offset by the deepest ever bath - great for a long soak after a day exploring the area. There are decent sized grounds too for a post-breakfast wander along the shore. Despite being on the main road it feels peaceful and inside hotel is quiet. All as we had hoped for so far ..so why only 4 stars? Well my vision of this hotel included a vision of the dining buoyed by those rave reviews which spoke of the food in glowing terms. It was reason we booked a DBB deal. Going by other hotels we have stayed in I imagined white table cloths, a daily Table d'hôte menu with a focus on local produce with perhaps a wider a la carte or grill type menu also on offer. I suppose in my mind I was thinking one or two AA rosette standard. But that is not the reality. The hotel serves all day food so what you get is the all day food menu..it's bar meals supplemented by one daily special each for starter main and pud. Good pub food yes...but it's not wow factor gastro, nor what I would call typical small hotel dining and not how previous reviews come across. It's steak pie, fish n chips, scampi, hamburgers etc. I'd say fully 8 of the 11 mains served with chips. Definitely no tablecloths .. Just nice wood tables which in summer will have a fabulous view. However we felt just a bit let down in terms of the overall experience. But then I think for £99 for two of us per night DBB what do you expect. It also helps me understand a earlier reviewer comment on the pool table and dart board which we did think seemed a bit out of place in an otherwise fabulous lounge area which had great leather recliners for your after dinner relaxing. But this is a hotel on the main Ft William to Inverness road. They have to appeal to passing tourist trade and probably locals too - they need to keep alive in difficult times. So in summary...outstanding locale and staff, good rooms and unpretentious no-nonsense food.

Room Tip: Go for superior room and ensure a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macelven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Letterfinlay Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Thanks to all at Letterfinlay for a wondefull New Year break, fantastic staff, excellent food, lovely room with a marvelous view and spotlessly clean and warm. This was our second visit and it will not be the last.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights on a DBB deal and we got upgraded to a deluxe room with a dual aspect view of Loch Lochy All of the staff were very courteous and friendly and the Manager was always circulating round the public areas and was impeccably dresses in collar and tie. The standard of the food far exceed our expectations with a wide and varied selection of local produce from the Land,Sea and Loch Lochy.

the smoked salmon was smoked in a local smokehouse on Loch Lochy and it rates as some of the best I have tasted.

There was an issue with the Hotels water supply on the Saturday evening. The hotel is served via a private water supply from tanks high up on the Aonach Mor Mountain Range above the hotel and the water is piped down the mountain to the hotels water treatment plant and storage tanks in the roof space. The water supply was restored a few hours later and our thanks go to the plumbers who braved with weather to effect a repair to the supply pie, half way up the mountain, which was damaged by a landslide following heavy rain.

We enjoyed our stay so much we are planing to go back in the spring and hopefully see the Ospreys from the new deck which overlooks the loch.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,199 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
23.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing