We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxing, beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxing, beautiful”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I chose the Letterfinlay after a lot of searching for hotels in the Fort William area. We were travelling to Fort William as a couple for a long birthday weekend away to do some mountain biking, canyoning and walking. After driving through Fort William and seeing the hotels I had looked at onine I was relieved I hadn't picked those and opted for the beautiful Letterfinlay Lodge. It is about a 10-15 minute drive north of Fort William but well worth it. Its so peaceful and really feels like you're in the middle of nowhere. Being right on the Loch is so beautiful and its wortht he walk down to the "private beach". Food at the restaurant was great! Really good quality, portion sizes and value for money. We ate there one evening and it was the best meal we had during our stay. Breakfast is brilliant too! Lots of food to set you up for the day. There is also a really nice lounge area with sofas, TV's, pool and darts. The staff were always more than happy to help. One came out to our car to get my bike and store it for me and another offered to print us maps of some mountaining biking we didn't know about.
Overall it is an excellent hotel. Great staff, great food, great location. It isn't cheap but is most definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: We were room 9, it is quite small (as I believe a lot of the rooms are) but it was fine for us and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glewis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for the exellent review and it was a pleasure to have you stay at our wonderful lochside Hotel

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    265
    98
    38
    29
See reviews for
128
567
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Pro's: Great view; good food, excellent general staff
Con's: Did not get room booked and paid for in advance but had to settle for second best

The explanation given to us for the reservation snafu was not believable and the meager compensation offered not acceptable.

A recommended property, general staff and food but beware dodgy management.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GenevaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest thank you for your great comments on our Location ,food and fab staff ! i will look into the room booking situation that you have described even though your explanation is quite confusing . When you return for your next visit please contact the hotel direct and we will make sure you get a nice upgrade .

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
206 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

While the hotel is out of town it is a great spot to enjoy the solitude of the Scottish Highlands. The hotel overlooks the Loch and while there is only limted boat traffic the scenry of the hills opposite and looking over the water is beautiful. We stayed three nights and found the menu in the restaurant to provide adequate choice for the three nights stay. The breakfast was fine, cooked to order. The staff were very helpful and courteous.
We travelled from the hotel to Oban one day and to Mallaig the next. It is a good base for his region of the highlands.
I note that some have commented that the rooms were small, this was not the case for our stay as the room was very large with desk and lounge chairs. The bath room was large as well. Therefore there is a choice and it would be adviseable to enquire on booking. Our room was on the road side but we were not disturbed by passing traffic. There are rooms that face the Loch so again seek to book these rooms.

Room Tip: ASk for a larger room facing the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the stunning views across loch lochy

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gan shomron
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in two rooms as we are family with six persons.
The rooms are nice but not too spacious.
The breakfast is pretty elementary.
The scenery from the balcony is great.
The service and the staff are very nice and helpful.
The lack of wifi was frustrating.
Above all, the price of 340£ per two rooms (one family room for four persons and one double room) is over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guests we are very surprised that you thought £55 per person B&B was over priced for a peak time in August !! Even more shocked at you awarding our stunning lochside & mountain view location 2 stars ! But perhaps where you come from the view is better than ours so you can be qualified to comment so harshly. We also do not advertise wi-fi because due to the location and mountains it cannot be supplied to us but we have complained to the Scottish government about it so when Mr Salmond is finished staring in the new shrek the indepent movie we will be top of his list . it is also a pity that you did not like our Fine Scottish breakfasts and perhaps if you had actually eaten in our restaurant during your two day stay you would have relay enjoyed it . Our housekeeping staff were not happy with the boil in the bag rice sachets being prepared in the room kettles and we were forced to provide new appliances to each room .

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Letterfinaly Lodge Hotel overnight on our travels to the Highlands - its a lovely little hotel with a fantastic view. Our room was fine and comfortable, but sadly the lighting in the bedrooms are so poor - the management need to look at this because it is so hard to read anything.- we ate dinner in the restaurant and my family enjoyed it - the desserts were lovely. Breakfast was plentiful and it was served to our table. View is fantastic and to watch the sun setting is unbelieveable.

Room Tip: Take a torch with you as the rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hamida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your very nice review and we are glad you liked our food so much ! we will take on board your comments about the lighting in the rooms ! low energy is not all its made out to be :) please come back and visit us again at any time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to anyone who likes scenery and/or a relaxing time. Friendly staff and in a superb location.
Had a great meal, and a fantastic room with great views.
This was my second time, and I'll be back this December!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete20789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Great review from a great guest ! we look forward to your next visit in December

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here based on the excellent reviews, but we were left somewhat disappointed. The plus points were the location and the incredible view over the loch, the rooms were clean and very tidy and staff pleasant. There were many points on the downside but I don't want to go on and on. A short example: really small rooms/bed. Disorganised waiters. The manager seemed harassed most of the time. Way too over the top pricing on food (mini example £7.95 for 4 rings of calamari on salad, they definitely not fresh). I would recommend people staying here but it just wasn't what we expected.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GioiaMaria86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest thank you for the great comments about our Hotel however i must say the calamari was not £7.95 ! and never has been !! it is £6.95 and most defiantly fresh as is all our seafood . Our waiting staff work very hard during the busy season and im sorry if you mistook hard work as disorganization . perhaps when you return next time we can offer you a more satisfactory dinning room experience

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
172 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
686 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
314 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing