We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Highland Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Highland Wedding”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Every couple wants their wedding to be perfect and ours was just that at the Letterfinlay Hotel. Nestled on the banks of Loch Lochy, this venue is surrounded by beautiful scenery and breathtaking views. Boasting charm and character, it was the perfect place for our wedding ceremony, photographs and reception on the 31st of August 2013.

Everything we needed was available including exclusive use of the dining room and sun deck for the afternoon, a superb meal that was well prepared and beautifully presented and comfortable accommodation for us and our guests. A lounge area was also available at the conclusion of our wedding where we were able to enjoy coffee, tea and wedding cake away from the other hotel guests. We were very well looked after from the time we arrived to our departure, nothing was too much trouble including hot toddies for the bride!

All weddings involve a great deal of preparation and our small one was no exception, so it was a delight to work with such professional and courteous staff who were able to ensure that every detail was taken care of. As we were such a small group, it was a particularly lovely touch that we were able to be seated together for meals during our entire stay which allowed us to spend some quality time with our families as they had travelled a long way to be with us. We had also been told by the hotel staff about two Stags that had been coming down the hill across the road to feed so it was like icing on the cake when they did appear much to the delight of all those wanting photographs.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend The Letterfinlay Hotel as a wedding venue. Our thanks must go to the Owners and Staff for helping to make our special day perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
It was a pleasure to host your fantastic wedding at Letterfinlay Lodge . We enjoyed meeting and mingling with your wonderful family and friends and look forward to having you all back in the not to distant future . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    267
    100
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
575
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

It's hard to book the perfect weather in Scotland at any time of the year but almost unheard of in October. So to have 3 days of gorgeous sunshine and a stunning location to stay in definitely made this weekend one of the best for us.

The hotel has an amazing setting on the banks of Loch Lochy surrounded by some of our country's stunning mountains. We were very surprised to be given a suite to ourselves which was very clean and modern set just behind the hotel itself.

We ate in the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was perfect every time and the staff service was superb. Absolutely have to agree......small hotel but big heart!

We really cannot recommend this gem highly enough and we look forward to getting the chance to go back.

Thanks for an amazing weekend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClareG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are so glad the weather was so fabulous during your stay ! it is truly a magnificent location and we are glad that guests can enjoy the stunning views whilst enjoying the fine food and friendly staff . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Another visit to Letterfinlay, and another enjoyable stay - great atmosphere, location, food and staff.

The one exception was our en-suite bathroom, which really should be addressed. (Can't recall the room number, but it was road-facing and had a green 'suite'). Extensive black mould spores on the ceiling is not particularly attractive; neither was the heavy staining in the bath, which was pre-filled with several inches of water from leaking taps on our arrival. The ceramic sink had several aged cracks in the bowl, and the wooden toilet seat should really be condemned (owner: please lift it up and look at the underside).

We will return, happily, but I do expect better for my £100.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank On_a_BMW_bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are very sorry that you did not like the Victorian bathroom that is part of our standard room . we take on board your comments however we have already arranged for the bathroom to be upgraded this winter . We have had such a busy season this year and it has been very hard to block of any rooms for maintenance /refurbish .Thank you for your continued custom and we look forward to having you back at anytime. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Isles. Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

i have stayed here on numerous occasions over a long number of years. The hotel retains its 'hunting lodge' charm with all the modern additions except WiFi !
Room was clean and functional. Plenty of car parking.
Wasn't impressed with the steak, certainly not of the best quality, will be unlikely to eat here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uist15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Uist thank you for your review and we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your steak ! our sirloin comes from the same local Supplier and we don't ever have any problems with the quality . However i will pass on the comments to them . Our location is a real problem with broadband providers and we are in the process of having a satellite company survey the hotel for guest WiFi. I hope that when you return to letterfinlay we can give you a great steak with some wifi on the side . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARLBOROUGH WILTSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had been sailing on Loch Ness and up the Caledonian Canal in lovely little Sigma and Moody 28ft yachts. Whilst it was a great deal of fun as always with our sailing club, we were all looking forward to a night in a proper bed and a hot shower. Some of our crew members elected to stay on the boats (they also have a small number of private moorings on a pontoon just a short walk from the hotel through their lovely gardens... ) We all gathered together for a final night dinner and we were greeted by the sight of our lovely table laid out for 14 in a private room just off the main dining room. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and drink flowed as did the wonderfully friendly hospitality! We had a lovely room overlooking Loch Lochy. The shower was hot and they bed was very comfortable and both were very welcome! We had a very good night's sleep and then woke to a wonderful views and a tasty and freshly prepared Scottish breakfast. You could also have had porridge, eggs benedict, French toast. We are planning to go back for New Year or Burn's night when they hold traditional Scottish festivities complete with piper! Good value, great food and hospitality. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as there are some overlooking the road on the other side, but they still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzanneThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We loved having you all at the Letterfinlay and we are so glad to hear that you made good use of our private jetty . Perhaps you will visit us again in the spring when hopefully we will have our new marina facility underway by then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teesside
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just enjoyed a four day dinner,bed and breakfast break.Hotel has a great loch side location and the bedroom was very spacious and comfortable.Service throughout the whole stay was excellent and both breakfast and especially dinner in the restauarant were first class. Would thoroughly recommend and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matthirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
i will pass on the great feedback to all our staff and thank you for your continued custom .Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

All been said in the other good reviews. Proud to be Scottish and hearing the other European and American guests rightly loudly praising the hotel particularly the wonderful food. Always like lochside, river type hotels and the Letterfinlay is right up there with them all, The views and location are brilliant. Only stayed one night but will be back, forget most of the over hyped, over priced hotels this place is much better value for money. Pleased to see that dogs while allowed are not allowed in the dining or lounge areas. Perhaps decking balcony could have some individual more comfortable seating but a very minor point. Overall excellent find very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Loch facing room but others looking to mountains are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Well said Fred ! we are very proud of our great wee hotel and the staff love to please the guests as much as possible so thank you for such kind words . please come back again as we are open all year with some fabulous deals available

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
23.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing