We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How much!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We used their moorings overnight while cruising the loch and made good use of their wonderful restaurant. The staff were very helpful, polite and very welcoming. The hotel was warm and so very comfortable that I have no doubt at all that it would be a fantastic place to stay. The food was just stunning! Cooked to perfection and presented in the style of the finest restaurants this place is a must. Unfortunately they must have just hired a foreign waitress as her lack of communication skill was obvious and she did spill a few things but I'm sure with time the management will get to grips with this. The young lady we met in the reception and the bar was just lovely. We would definitely return for a longer stay however I must mention the bar prices. A round of three ciders and a JD and coke over £20......

Room Tip: be careful at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lochbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
The answer to the question HOW MUCH !! is zero/free ! that's how much we charged for the nights berth , the free pool and the loaf of bread given to your group for their breakfast the next morning ( you forgot to mention this) Thank you for the kind comments on the food and location however your comments on our Polish staff member were very unnecessary , Our drink prices are in line with all other small hotels and it always amazes me how much importance people put on the price of alcohol and how it determines whether they have enjoyed the experience !! kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    267
    100
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
575
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed for one night en route to Skye and have to say the outstanding feature was the location. Amazing views from the decking area complimented by excellent, hard working staff.

Food was excellent, both in the evening and at breakfast, plenty of choice both times.

The only one, slight drawback was the slightly tired look of some areas but, as our stay was late September, this could be excused.

Room Tip: If you can, get a loch view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
A great review ! thank you so much and perhaps the next time you visit you should try a stay during our summer months where all our beautiful surroundings take on a whole new ambiance. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely setting on the lochside. Informal atmosphere in lounge and dining room pleasant. Large open fire in part of lounge very welcoming. Food choice very wide and good value. Likewise drinks not too overpriced as per some hotels. A little way out from Spean Bridge

Room Tip: l;ochside is quieter and no car road lights at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks for a very nice review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freuchie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just back from a 2 night break at this little gem a short distance from Spean Bridge which allowed us to enjoy all the local attractions without having to travel too far from the hotel. Our room overlooked the Loch & the views were stunning especially in the evening. The room was compact but really clean, warm & comfortable so no complaints. The hair drier was even decent, a necessity for someone with long hair.Lindsay & staff were friendly but professional & made us feel welcome. Food was really good,well presented & served with the minimum of fuss. Bottle of wine was on par with hotel prices.Will be back .

Room Tip: Room 10 slept really well with the sound of the water sending us to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morag W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your very positive review and we look forward to you returning for another short break .We still have rooms available for our New Year celebration :) .kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for three days on a short break for my partner's 50th birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was made extra special by the obvious care and hard work of the staff, both front of house and in the kitchen. The food and service were second to none (even the porridge was delicious!). The speed with which the kitchen and waiting staff got great food out was astounding! One night we were late back through no fault of our own (minor epic on Ben Nevis) and were very kindly offered something to eat and a drink despite the late hour.

The room (three) was very spacious and immaculately kept, loads of hot water for the bath and a decent shower. It didn't have the views others have mentioned, but it was mostly dark when we were in it anyway so we didn't miss much.
A couple of hints for the owners;
Bar prices- a bottle of Magners cider at £4.95 was ridiculously overpriced and resulted in the embarrasment of your poor lass having to tell me the price and me nearly falling off my bar stool when I heard it. Needless to say I only drank one.... Drink pricing was the only complaint I heard among other guests as well.
Double glaze room three and cut out the traffic noise.

This would definately have been a five star rating but for the bar prices- and the hard working staff can't do much about that!

Room Tip: Room three is very spacious and has a bath. However it does not have the loch views others have ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CumbriaJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at Letterfinlay and i will pass on your kind comments to the team ! as for the statement regarding the price of Magners i think you should google the average price of a magners and you will see how reasonable our price is !! kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is a wee hidden gem. It is on the main road outside Spean Bridge and is handy for all attractions in the area. We stayed here for a three night break for our anniversary. Lindsay and her staff were all very nice. Our room was a standard double it was comfortable and decorated nicely and very clean. The views from the hotel were magnificent and we even caught site of a curious stag. The food was lovely, well presented, well cooked and very appetising. Service in the restaurant was quick and the food piping hot. We will certainly return should we be in the area again and cannot recommend it highly enough. Many thanks to Lindsay and her staff for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaydivpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
A big thank you from Lindsay and all the staff for the very kind review and it was our pleasure to have you . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, our room was over looking the stunning loch and mountains and very helpful staff, for the first night we had dinner and drinks at the hotel went to pay our bill and where shocked at the cost never mind for the dinner 2 drinks cost over £8 so the next night we eat out and saved some money. Very poor plumbing within room 8 very noise and I Mean very noise where woken up a few times through the night. Hotel was a bit tired but clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Please can you tell me the name of the 5 star hotel where TWO glasses of wine will cost £7.80 ? I would like to take book a few nights there !! Letterfinlay offers excellent DBB packages and for the standard of food the value is amazing . We are sorry you chose to dine out on the second night and i heard that the special kebab was very nice . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,199 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
23.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing