We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Fort William)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
US$88
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
East Lodge Invergloy(Spean Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bank Street Lodge(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
516
284
110
50
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
284
110
50
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslochy suiteloch lochysuperior roomdecking areaboth nightsthe main hotelstunning viewsprivate beachthis lovely hoteldining roombreakfast and dinnerlovely foodenjoyable stayfamily roomfirst classlovely roomsalmon
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a 3 night Hogmanay break here mainly due to how good a previous stay had been with fantastic food, good service and views to die for. Am sorry to say to we only had one out of three on this occasion which was the views! It was a friendly welcome and our room was okay it was warm with a lovely view. Dinner on the first night was spoilt due to my husband's food being cold and the wine not chilled. The manageress apologised, my husband's food was replaced with hot and the wine was taken from the bill, but it did spoil our evening. I asked for the smoked haddock the next morning which was on the menu to be told that they did not have any and when I asked if I could have boiled eggs I was told not really so I settled for scrambled! Things went a little downhill from then, while Hogmanay was good, New Year's Day was a bit of a disaster, one waitress trying to look after everyone at breakfast and bless her she did a good job, lunch was late, and the lounges were very cold.What was served at the evening buffet was very poor considering what we had all paid. The hotel also ran out of rose wine on the first evening, and had no cointreau or diet pepsi when we asked for it. On New Year's Day we did feel as if we had been totally adandoned. I have noticed from previous reviews that the manager takes a childish attitude towards criticism, but I would advise her that people expect certain standards for the money that they pay and if she wishes to run a successful hotel, taking into account your customers views would help point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Arch124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are very sad that you have posted such a petty & untruthfull review regarding your new year stay at Letterfinlay ! All the staff bent over backwards for you both however your endless moaning probably took its toll on us all !! its to hot ! its to cold !! its to noisy !! its to wet !! its to expensive !! and on and on . You also booked a late deal which was extremely cheap so the statement about the deal being overpriced is rather bizarre ! i did notice that you are rather fond of posting reviews however you seem have forgotten to post a review from your previous excellent stay at Letterfinlay !!! Or does it only work one way Arch ?? You also chose not to mix with other guests during your stay and you were the only couple Not to take part in the free clay pigeon shoot on hogmanay that one of the owners had organized. So perhaps the friendly and relaxed atmosphere that Letterfinlay offers is not for you ? All the best for 2014 and keep up with the endless amount of reviews so as not to disappoint your many Trip fans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Ok...my usual opener....please don't criticise other reviews!! The whole point of trip advisor is it's PERSONAL EXPERIENCE...I digress.

We have had the worst year ever so I thought, right lets book Christmas away, never done it before and it was FANTASTIC.
Upon arrival we met the two sweet and friendly Polish girls, bit confused when we arrived but no dramas.
We booked the 24th 25th and 26th December package and were looked after throughout, the food was A1 courtesy of the comical 'Paul' chef who's cooking was second to none....mmmm
Do you know what made this break? I'll tell you, it was LINDSAY the manager, she makes this hotel what it is. Lindsay works from first thing in the morning until last think at night, she is always happy to see you, interested in how you are and very knowledgeable.
The lodge was immaculate and room was perfect for us, we had the dog friendly room and was SO convenient for us, and easy to keep clean.
Room view.....best ever, draw the curtain and stare at snow capped mountains.
Sit around a log fire and chat to the other guests, mulled wine as and when you like, and we like!
The local area is isolated but we took a short drive and ticked Loch Ness off of our bucket list of things to do. Local scenery is second to none, it's Switzerland without the price tag.
Bar prices? Don't forget where you are, middle of nowhere, I have paid the same in central London without a fraction of the ambiance.
Met one of the boss's on Boxing day, Iain, he ran the clay pidgeon shooting afternoon, a very nice guy and would have been nice to interact more! "sorry but despite being a professional I couldn't hit the target for the life of me!" Err indoors did.
Minor criticism...No food available after Christmas diner at 2PM until breakfast boxing day, however Lindsay changed the itinerary the following day and provided a light lunch and later dinner, good girl.

To sum up.....I'm going back for my birthday next year because the scots do new years eve better than everyone else.

LetterFinlay....love it.

Room Tip: Got a dog.... suite 14 is for you,
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for the fabulous review and i will be sure to pass the feedback on to the staff and owners of the Letterfinlay ! keep practicing your shooting skills and perhaps you will master the clay pigeons next time. :)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were to be spending Christmas on our own this year so when an offer for a Christmas break came in through Classic Britain we decided to try it. We had never done this before but, after our experience at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel , we would definitely do it again although it would have a lot to live up to to match our experience there.

We arrived Christmas Eve and left after breakfast on the 27th and had an amazing time made very special and memorable by manageress Lynsey and her wonderful staff. They couldn't have done more for us all and were such a delight to get to know.

The setting is wonderful and whatever the weather is a definite photo shoot. All the meals were exceptional and served to suit us --a big thank you must also go to Paul ( in the kitchen ) who definitely excelled , not only at cooking but in the Christmas Day quiz with his Team Poland !!

Thank you too to Iain ( one of the owners ) who gave us all the chance to try out clay pigeon shooting --great fun and definitely worth trying.

We will definitely go back --hopefully in May to osprey watch but I think whenever you visited you would have a relaxing, memorable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were in Room 8 and overlooked the loch --would definitely hope to get this or Room 7 when we return .
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margaret383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your festive break at Letterfinlay lodge and we look forward to having you back next year for some Osprey spotting. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and i spent two nights in the Lochy suite at Letterfinlay Lodge on the 30/31st of October as a quiet base for our wedding in Glen Etive. Because of the occasion we wanted to find something a little bit special where we could relax before and after the ceremony, and in trying to locate accomodation we were met with either the typical highland b&bs which are perfectly quaint but not what we were after or the uber expensive luxury of a castle. And then we stumbled upon Letterfinlay Lodge while trawling through various locations online and we were so glad we did. Set in a beautiful spot beside the sprawling Loch Lochy just fifteen mins or so north of Ft William, Letterfinlay provides a venue which retains the charms of the country's scenery whilst giving the comfort and class of the modern world.
One of the reasons we love this area of the country is because the scenery offers something beautifully different at any given time of the year and indeed, our short stay here was filled with rain, clouds and a cold wind all of which only contrived to make the scenery around the hotel look all the more dramatic and it was lovely to watch the cloud roll over the hills and loch. Indoors the reception and dining areas are representative of decorative Scottish charm, comfortable and cosy. The dining area is situated to the rear of the building overlooking the loch which just amplifies the serenity as you enjoy a delicious breakfast. Happily there was also vegetarian sausages which i am reliably informed were some of the best my wife Susan has ever tasted. On the subject of food we were only able to have one evening meal which was excellent. I had pork belly and while i can't remember what the veggie option was i do know that both meals didn't last overly long on the plate after the first bite!
As i said, we chose the Lochy suite which is an apartment just a 30 sec walk from reception. As we arrived a little late and it was dark the girl at the desk was kind enough to come around with us so we could find the door, especially good of her as it was pouring down. The suite itself has plenty of space with a bright clean interior, very comfy king size bed, plasma tv, small living room area and a glamorous bathroom with illuminated his and hers mirrors and sinks along with a large deep bath which i can guarantee is big enough for two (snigger)
So what else to say? Well, apart from the beautiful location, great food and very friendly staff there isn't really anything else to say other than if you are looking for a place to stay which is more than the usual quaint tartan clad b&b but not as expensive as the boutique castles around this area then you cannot go wrong with this highland gem.

Room Tip: The suites overlooking the loch provide personal balconies.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for the very nice review and i will make sure that all the staff know how happy you were with the Hotel and the staff .Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay over on DBB package!!this is a cracking little hotel with a beautiful location and well worth a visit!!we stayed in room 4 Kate mclaren which is a lovely room,comfy bed!fiancee and me enjoyed the warm hospitality of the staff!!shame our stay was ruined by some drunk idiot fighting at 2:30 am in the next room!!but that's not the hotels fault and I have recommended this cracking hotel to all at work!looking forward to visiting again-one small thing-the gap between door /floor-the light came through from the hall but other than this keep up the good work!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jazzy1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We are so glad that you such a nice time at the Letterfinlay and we apologies for the guests behavior in the room next door ! please let us know when you plan to re visit the hotel and we will make sure you get a complementary upgrade. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews