We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wowcher weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic wowcher weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a perfect stay. Couldn't fault anything and the menu was amazing quality and value. Scenery as expected - awesome. Only downside for our party is that we went by train and you really need a car to make the most of the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller_picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back at any time .kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    94
    31
    23
See reviews for
120
553
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

booked DBB on the 14/2/14 ,had a wonderful stay,food really good and a great choice on menu.We stayed in the ospery suite which was fab ,large rooms .very clean .just everything you could wish for.Staff all very nice and so welcoming .Lovely place to stay .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRENEP48810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
It was our pleasure ! pl;ease come back at any time .kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel last summer and had a great time. We would definately go back. The room was lovely and the lounge and bar was great, with really friendly service from the two guys behind the bar. In fact, all the staff were lovely the whole time we were there.

Outside the bar there is a deck overlooking the loch and the views are just stunning. You can easily while away the hours just sitting with a drink taking in the scenery.

We had our two young kids with us and while there isn't a lot specifically for children to do, they were really happy taking a walk down to the shore of the loch and playing there for a while.

We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was a great. The only issue we had was that the heating was stuck on in our room so it got really overheated at night, but they came and fixed that for us very quickly once we brought it to their attention.

We'd definately stop there again with the kids, although this would be a really lovely little bolt-hole for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for the great comments and i will be glad to pass them onto the letterfinlay team. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel on the night of 01/02/14 while attending our company night out. We stayed in the Lochy Suite wich is ti die for. Massive bedroom with the comfiest bed my wife has ever slept in, a lovely sitting room and a huge shower/bath room. Tea/coffee making facilities, ironingboard, iron, hoover, flat screen tellies in both sitting room and bedroom, plenty towels and toiletries provided. Amazing suite has its own views over Loch Lochy from the bedroom or the private decking (with furniture) outside. The meal we had was fabulous with quick service and ample portions. I opted for languistines, venison and pecan pie while my wife had confit of chicken, pork belly and biscuits and cheese. On arrival we were met by Shona was booked us in and took us the the suite, a very friendly and lovely lady who could not do enough for every one. She also doubled as a waitress and general assistant to all. Breakfast was also superb with a good choice of continental and cooked. I had French Toast with bacon and maple syrup and as much coffee as desired. \my wife had poached eggs on toast and plenty of the sforesaid coffee. The breakfast staff were again very friendly and chatty to all the guests even although it was busy. Special mention of the young cheerful lady with the long dark hair who buzzed about completely un-fazed despite most guests arriving at the same time to be seated. (Sorry I did not get her name). All the staff were fantastic and the whole visit totaly enjoyable. This is one hotel not to be missed because we think it is simply the BEST...full marks Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel. Grace and Iain.

Room Tip: Book the Lochy Suite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Another great night at Letterfinlay !! it was great to have hosted your staff party and we look forward to having you all back in the very near future . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel and it's location are fantastic. The Lochy Suite which we stayed in was modern, well furnished and equipped. We stayed for two nights and had dinner at the hotel on both. The food was excellent,reasonably priced and nicely presented. What made our stay so pleasurable were the staff, Lyndsey and Gocha. They were attentive,helpful and always smiling despite working very hard. If you want good craic, beautiful scenery, nice food and staff that genuinely enjoy having you stay I would highly recommend Letterfinlay Lodge.

Room Tip: If you want to treat yourself stay in the Lochy Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Letterfinlay and thank you for the great comments re our friendly service and great food . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing night away with my boyfriend, we had a beautiful room looking onto the Loch & mountains and was perfect to look at.
On reception & bar was the lovely manager lindsay who was very accommodating, chatty & easy to talk to. She ran the whole hotel the night we were there as well as doing reception duties she was also the perfect waitress and bar tender. We went a walk to the deck and private beach and the views were outstanding.
Our room was really nice, perfect for what we needed and shower and bathroom were also brilliant.
Dinner was delicious, we each had two courses and really enjoyed it - choices were brilliant. Breakfast was also delicious and I couldn't really fault anything at all. Would definetely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for the great genuine review and its so nice to know that people appreciate the great friendly service we offer at Letterfinlay as well as the stunning location , Thank you and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Myself, my husband and a 10yr old girl and 11yr old son all arrived in Scotland for the first time for New Year 2013. We had stopped overnight in Carlisle having travelled up from Hertfordshire. We then visited Carlisle Castle and headed off up the A87 toward Fort William. The drive on the M8 by Glasglow directly onto the A87 was very easy and the drive up past Loch Lomond was beautiful. Despite a 4 1/2 hr drive it was an easy one as this is an excellent road with fabulous views all the way. We arrived at Letterfinlay in the dark so had no idea where we were. There was a fire roaring in the lounge with people supping wine which looked very inviting and we immediately booked in for dinner. The first impressions were of a traditional building with wood panelling everywhere and tartan carpets and we really did not know what to expect. The welcome was lovely and we were very quickly in our family room, sorting out our things and back down to dinner. In the morning my daughter opened the curtains and said 'Mummy, come and look at this - just come and see'. There was the loch, with cloud half way up the mountains which were snow topped. The children were in awe. Breakfast and all meals in fact, were in a room that sat by the decking overlooking the loch. It was awesome in the true sense of the word and we were all quickly in love with LetterFinlay and Scotland. The plan was to give the children a proper New Year now they were old enough to stay up. The New Year's Eve party could have been a disaster for them as their long booked Ceilidhi band had to cancel at the last minute. Two chaps came in and worked very hard with their fantastic singing, Ceilidhi and much loved traditional Scottish songs way into the night. After a fabulous early dinner, a party and a great 10 pm hot buffet which disappeared instantly! we went off to bed at 2 am and the diehards were still there in the morning. It was great to see the hotel's hosts and their families joining in for the evening and indeed finding Ian still sitting there with the guests at breakfast - good for you guys. If I could have got my daughter to go to bed without me, I would have been there too! Partying and dancing with the guests and the two host owners, Ian and David was brilliant. The children loved it too and have told us we are definitely going again. All the food was excellent. This hotel has a proper chef! It is not often you find hotels with freshly cooked food and properly done (would have loved some puddings on New Years Day mind you but the buffet was brilliant with more than enough fresh tasty food to eat). As I am a pretty good cook I am so fed up with mediocre offerings that I have to pay for and I could not at any time claim that of this cook. If the lovely menu did not have something that the children fancied we asked for alternatives or variations and they were pretty much accommodated. My daughter even wrote the chef a thank you note as she so enjoyed the food. The clay pigeon shooting included in the break hosted by Ian was brilliant fun and done off the decking over the loch. We had a room looking over the loch but did not find one shower good enough for all four of us so we were immediately offered another very similar room with a great bathroom which worked very well indeed. Even though it was on the side of the road and not the loch, it really did not matter, the surroundings were beautiful and seeing the view at every mealtime was really all we needed. Walking around the hotel and pottering down to the loch-side and taking amazing photos was very enjoyable. We did try another walk up to the old railway line but couldn't find the path but did see the deer and birds over the hilltops right nearby. We took a trip up to Glen Nevis ski centre where the children had a ball playing on sledges in the snow and then returned to a very sunny but cold LetterFinlay only to sit by the fire, drink wine and snooze while the children played snooker and darts - heaven for a busy parent. We are going back this year as we plan to do a fishing day, maybe a kayaking day, the photographic day out and a number of other possibilities. David and Ian are charming hosts with warm and generous personalities which shows in how they conduct the hotel and treat their guests. I don't think they realise how much their personalities add to the place and it would be lovely to have seen more of them. Their girls who run around after you are also charming and very helpful. Aggi can sing like and angel and Lindsay is a great manageress. The hosts and guests at the New Year party were so charming to my daughter constantly asking her to dance and getting the children to join in it really made it for them. She fell in love with Ian (and a guest who I think may be there next year :-) ) and wanted to give him a proper goodbye before she left and he was very kind in coming out to see her. This hotel is being refurbished step by step and only has a little more to do so most of the rooms are now new. I know there are other plans to develop lochside apartments and the marina too for those guests who bring up their boats. This all looks lovely and in good taste so I really hope they keep that wonderful family welcoming atmosphere and the standard of their service and food because we are definitely going back. Thank you to all at the Letterfinlay as you really made our first visit to the Highlands of Scotland a great success. My daughter is so in love the place and Ian (and the wonderful guest David) it would not be option to miss next year's New Year. I do have some more great photos but the review only allows 10.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We absolutely loved having your family stay with us over the New year and thank you so much for the amazing review ! please come back soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing