We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Lodge Invergloy(Spean Bridge)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Factor's House(Fort William)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
515
284
110
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
284
110
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslochy suiteloch lochysuperior roomdecking areaboth nightsthe main hotelstunning viewsprivate beachthis lovely hoteldining roombreakfast and dinnerlovely foodenjoyable stayfamily roomfirst classlovely roomsalmon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night as part on an Itison deal which was very good value B & B with high tea included.
We didn't bother with high tea but the staff very kindly gave us a complimentary drink instead.
The room was very modern & comfortable with stunning views over the loch.
Dinner & breakfast were both very good but the location on the loch really makes this place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for the great review as well as the fabulous pictures :) kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I can recommend this hotel, it's only a 3* but you wouldn't think so. The breakfasts were superb (poached eggs to die for) and a wide choice to suit all tastes. Our bedroom was very comfy, king size bed a luxury. The View of the Loch is stunning. Letterfinlay hotel is exceptionally clean, which is more than can be said for a lot of hotels in Europe. The staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. We enjoyed every bit of our 4 night stay and managed to see a lot within the area too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LancashireKarenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for the very positive review and your feedback will be passed on to all our hard working team. kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

L=Lovely E=Environment T=Tranquil T=Totally spotless E=Exceptional food R=Roaring fire F=Fun I=Isolation N=Nothing a problem L=Loch views A=Amazing staff Y=You should visit!

LETTERFINLAY!

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of an excellent deal we got with ITISON. We were upgraded by the wonderful manager as there had been an error with the original booking. This meant that we got to stay in the lovely Golden Eagle suite which looked straight out onto the Loch which was stunning even though we arrived to heavy snowfall. Lovely spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed, sofa, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, toasting hot water and a lovely deep bath with over bath shower. The suite and hotel were spotlessly clean. Fantastic staff who worked very long and hard to provide for their guests and with a smile too. Nothing was a bother. Food was freshly cooked, tasty, piping hot and beautifully presented. Lovely full Scottish breakfast too served again by the great staff who were cracking jokes and having good banter with the guests. We also had a lovely cream tea as part of the deal - warm scones with cream and jam and a pot of piping hot tea (YUM). Lovely sitting areas within the hotel and again all immaculate. Lovely scenery including lots of wildlife - deer, owls, pheasants, squirrels and plenty of walks. We went to Mallaig too as we travel a lot around the Highlands and love the countryside and history of our country. An excellent base and gateway to the Highlands. This hotel is a wee Highland gem and we will most definitely return. Totally chilled experience. The only down side was that we had to leave and return to work/reality. Well done to all the staff at Letterfinlay..you're amazing! Hope to see you again soon.
Maureen & Craig Clements xx

Room Tip: Suites within the Lodge were amazing - would recommend the additional supplement in order to secure one of these if you can.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAUREEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

What a fabulous review ! its so nice to receive such appreciation from lovely genuine guests ! please come back at any time ! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent last weekend here for my birthday, on an Itison voucher. Arrived just after 3 to a warm and friendly welcome. Room was decorated beautifully and there was a wardrobe, bedside tables and a large chest of drawers, which is excellent if you are staying longer than a couple if nights. We unpacked then went down to bar.

We were asked if room was ok (never been asked that in any large hotels we have stayed in), ordered a drink and took a seat in lounge to await out afternoon tea. Tea, scone, butter, jam and cream arrived with an apology of a slightly flat scone. If that was a flat one I would have loved to have seen what they normally come out like! Tasted lovely.

Later we headed down to dinner and were amazed at the vast choice of wines and the menu had plenty choices too. Starters were beautifully presented and tasted lovely (mine was a bit too much for me though so other half finished it!). Steak for main was cooked to perfection, charred on outside and rare in middle, still drooling at the thought. It had been a long time since in tasted such a good steak (again I couldn't finish it and I have a big appetite! Other half obliged again.) Liqueur coffees were perfect too. Breakfast had many choices, the full Scottish was ordered and it was beautifully presented and really nice and tasty. Dinner that evening didn't disappoint either and breakfast the next day for me was haddock and poached egg which was really good.

The hotel is set in perfect surroundings and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much bother. On the morning we left, we put bags is car and I felt like I was being watched, I looked up and there was a magnificent stag standing across the road staring at us, perfect end to a perfect weekend!

If we don't get back to stay again soon it's definitely been added to our lunch stops when we are out for drives.

Only disappointment of the weekend? Having to leave and come back to reality!

Thanks to all the staff for making my birthday weekend so special!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for the very kind review and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us . kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Loved this hotel, was an 'Itison' offer with 2 nights B&B with cream tea on arrival. Hotel was lovely, friendly staff, great rooms, beautifully refurbished. The cream tea was a treat, breakfasts, nothing to complain about. Meals & drinks are what we would say were a little expensive (£3.95 for a pepsi, no diet) but nice to sit in front of coal fire with your kindle. We were in room 7 where we had amazing views, its a corner room so had plenty natural light. Not much room around the lodge but short drive to Fort william & other places, good central location to visit other areas. We would return.

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely, nice view of the loch but doorway is next to steep stairs so best be careful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review of Letterfinlay lodge Hotel however we are very sad to read that you only scored us a 3 star for value considering the amazingly cheap voucher that you purchased . I will certainly look into the price charged for your pint of Pepsi as this should have only been £2.95 ! we are very sorry if you have been overcharged and if you return to the hotel we will gladly provide you with a complementary Drink for your troubles . kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews