We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights here with an Itison deal - great value for the money paid. We were to have afternoon tea included but were offered a choice of this or a glass of wine with our meal thought this was a nice touch. Eat here both nights and the food was lovely as was breakfast. Lovely big lounge area to the front of the Hotel with large couches which were super comfy. Our room (14) was not in the main building, it was outside in an extension with its own door - the room was facing the loch with stunning views - in the summer there is a lovely decking area which can be reached from outside from this room. The only slight downside was that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere - Spean Bridge is a 15 min drive back down the road we came from - so if you need any supplies then get them there before reaching the Hotel - the Spar shop was very reasonable and the staff were very friendly. Would recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good deal like us. Worth the visit even just for the stunning views at the hotel and also on our way up from Glasgow - amazing country we are lucky enough to live in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review we will pass on your kind comments to all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    266
    99
    39
    29
See reviews for
128
572
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My fiance and I stopped here for lunch on our recent car ride from Edinburgh to Isle of Skye. The views were incredible and the food was even better! If you are passing by and decide to grab a bite to eat, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for calling in for lunch and we would love to have you back for a sleepover anytime!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed two nights for Mairi and Craig's Wedding in April. The location was amazing the views are absolutely stunning. The staff where super friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the food was yummy, what more can I say, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIqbal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had a fab time at Mairi and Craig's wedding it was one of the best we have held. I will pass on you comments to all of our staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Short weekend stay with friends and although first day weather was poor it didn't stop the magnificent views from hotel large balcony. Also sitting inside looking out is equally amazing.Warm welcome and showed to our rooms,staff very friendly as is of course the hard working manager.Dinner was so good , flavoursome and well presented and as we all had different choices no-one had anything negative to say. Situated 25 mins from Fort William which is worth a visit especially Neptunes Ladder where there are many locks on canal or further north along Long Lochy road we walked the canal again at Laggan Locks then to Fort Augustus. All in all a must stay even for one night.Will be back one day.Thanks to all staff for a memorabke weekend

Room Tip: Maybe ask in advance for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodblewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed the stunning scenery, i will pass on your kind words to all our staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed at the hotel April 2014 for a wedding, staff were very polite and efficient, nothing was to much trouble. Food was delicious but the views are stunning, will take your breath away, the outside deck provides an excellent opportunity to sit and relax with a panorama not seen anywhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Fabulous review thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Located right on Loch Lochy the view from the deck is spectacular. We stayed in a family room which was two rooms with the bathroom separating them - one double and one twin single room. The hotel has a lovely cosy feel to it and is obviously well looked after. There was a power cut during our stay (the whole of the west coast went down) and candles were rapidly distributed and far from feeling like an inconvenience it felt like a bit of an adventure.

The staff were all very helpful and the food was excellent - including our breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

The only thing to watch out for is the address says Spean Bridge but it's actually a way from there. Once found though you won't forget it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family which was very spacious for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gjgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for being so understanding about the major power cut we experienced at the letterfinlay however i think everybody really enjoyed the candles , log fire , fine wine and general good craic !! perhaps we should should have a power free package deal on offer for our guests ! it might prove very popular :) kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Came hear to celebrate our anniversary and have to say it was perfect. We stayed in the lodge apart from the hotel. The rooms were spotless and we had our own deck looking out to the loch and the views were amazing. The food was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 246Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Letterfinlay to celebrate your special occasion and we appreciate your very kind comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
178 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
702 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
321 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
580 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing