We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now my favourite hotel in the UK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Now my favourite hotel in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Not long home from my 2 night stay at the letterfinlay lodge hotel, I'm not even sure where to start, amazing, amazing, amazing, arrived on the Friday to a warm welcome from the lovely Lyndsey, got settled in and went down for dinner, the food was excellent, had a good nights sleep, the next morning my partner went into for a shower, the water tempature was way to hot and couldn't get it to cool down, I popped down to tell the staff who were very apologetic and we were instantly offered to change room and with an upgrade, Wow is the only word, absolutely gorgeous, I really did not want to leave, stunning views and private balcony. I'm not sure if these reviews are only suppose to be a few lines but I could ramble on for at least another 2 paragraphs about the food, the staff, the scenery. This hotel is a MUST, I shall most definitely be returning, we are looking into the whole family going up for the new year celebrations, thank you so much for an amazing weekend Letterfinlay lodge Lucindy x

Room Tip: You can pay a small amount extra for a loch view, well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and we apologise that there was an issue with your shower, however we are delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Letterfinlay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    94
    31
    23
See reviews for
120
553
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stunning views of the lake from this hotel, whether from room or from the restaurant. Though we stayed at this hotel over a year ago in July 2014, we remember our amazing time here. What we also enjoyed was the option to have dinner at the hotel, which helps when you're back from a tired day of sightseeing. Rooms were spacious as well. Also enjoyed taking a walk on the private lakefront garden of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivAsh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad that it left you with some lovely memories, please return at any time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here on Sunday. For some reason we were upgraded to a suite and it was excellent and very comfortable. It was a fabulous evening and the setting is stunning so we were able to have a few glasses of wine out on the decking next to the restaurant. The welcome we received from the staff was warm and although there were some issues with the food quality at dinner these were dealt with in a caring and friendly manner. Many thanks. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 750Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade, it was a pleasure for you to stay with us an we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked a "special" for one Sunday night and when we arrived were directed to The Perigrine Room in "The Annex" . This is a separate building from the main hotel. The room was tiny with barely room to get around the bed, looked out on the parking lot, and had an unpleasant "musty" smell. On returning to the reception we were immediately offered another room in the main building. This was The Black Pinnel room, a "family room" with one queen bed room and a separate room with two twin beds. The room was again not large, but better, and had a "peekaboo" view of the loch. The bathroom was also small but adequately appointed, however, the shower controls did not work properly and you got tepid or scalding water with no in between. As is the case in many old buildings converted to hotels, the hallways are a bit of a rabbit warren and divided by the ubiquitous "health and safety" fire doors. Wifi only works in the seating area by reception.

Room Tip: Specify a loch view if you want take the most of your stay. Loch side rooms in The Annex have slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onx23mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review, however we are not too happy with the way some of your comments have gone. By your own admission you booked a "special deal" which was a standard at a reduced price. Your comments regarding the room in the lodge house were obviously made to gain an upgrade at no extra charge which you were given immediately to save any problems. This room was not a loch view room, if you wished a large loch view room you should have paid for one! It's quite simple! We two corridors upstairs in our hotel and two fire doors so why you have to mention this on Tripadvisor is bizarre.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and our 8 month old daughter I stayed at the Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel for two nights on our whistle-stop tour of the highlands and we are so grateful that we did!!! From the warm and friendly welcome we received on arrival, to the generously proportioned and beautifully designed room and the exceptional quality of food available in the restaurant, we are dying to return to this little gem-of-a-place in the highlands!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandLornaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our large superior rooms. Our staff really appreciate positive feedback and makes their job feel worthwhile during a busy summer season. Please return at any time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a comfortable three-star lodge with an exciting surprise - the restaurant. Knowing we'd be sight-seeing all day, we opted for space over views when booking, and we were very happy with our adjoining rooms with shower in the main building. Initially, a bit worried by the poky and fusty reception area (now undergoing renovation), but our rooms were refurbished, clean and quiet, and we all had a great night's sleep. This could be partly due to a terrific dinner in the restaurant! A well-rounded menu, strong nods to local cuisine, hearty and excellent. No wonder the place was full. Friendly, relaxed staff. Must haves: breaded haggis and the wild mushroom ravioli. Good to know: no wifi, cellular network was spotty, but who cares with these Highland views?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review and we are very happy with the majority of it! Pokey and fusty reception area?? Are you sure you are reviewing Letterfinlay and not another establishment!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel provides an outstanding view over loch Lochy & a direct access to the loch.
Select a view room of you want to enjoy the panorama, otherwise your room will be directly over the road (which is very close to the hotel).
The major concern was about the temperature of the room (very hot specially this summer) even if some of them had a private air conditioning system.
In the shower, flow of the water was very tiny.
Overall, it's a nice place to discover the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your summer stay, we are sorry of you found the room warm however we did experience some very hot weather during your stay which unfortunately we have no control over that's why we provided you with a private air conditioning unit! The shower has since been repaired after a guest brought it to our attention during their stay which is the best procedure.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing