We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B near Nevis range ski” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coinachan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coinachan Guest House
Ranked #15 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb B&B near Nevis range ski”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Fantastic accommodation with service that is above and beyond the call of duty. Lots of useful local tips, walking books aplenty, and a delicious breakfast made with high-quality ingredients. This is our second time here - the first for walking, the second for skiing - and would highly recommend. 10 mins drive from Nevis range Gondola, and v close to the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and it didn't disappoint second time around. The location is perfect with fabulous rural views of the Ben Nevis range but conveniently situated just off the main A82 Fort William - Inverness road. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. Dorothy is a great host and a mine of information and tips on getting the best out of your stay in the area. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed for a few nights as a friend had a wedding next door at Old Pines. Dorothy was really helpful and accommodating and makes the best breakfast in Scotland. We practically felt like part of the family and had a wonderful stay following several of her recommendations and ideas for our trip. It was the best b&b we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lovely location with great views. Dorothy & co were great too, providing a warm welcome and making a pot of tea made for us on arrival. Room very clean and had a modern homely feel. Dorothy had lots of suggestions for things to do/places to eat. Breakfast was very tasty too. One tiny thing: if you rely on a mirror for blow drying your hair you might want to take a travel mirror - the mirror in our room was a bit too far away from the nearest plug. Other than that, this place really has got it all covered.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BumblingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and wi-fi internet. Also, the owner was extremely helpful in recommending sights in the area and very friendly. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at Coinachan as our first of 5 stops while cycling the Great Glen Way and wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the lovely garden in better weather! Dorothy and Joe made us feel so welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. We loved the cottagey feel of the bedrooms and the sitting/dining area.

The children especially loved the special showing of the amazing surf dvd!

Thank you again from all of us and we hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

This place is definitely a home away from home, tucked away into one of the world's most panoramic, fairytale-like, and greenest areas.
The owners give you a home-like feel, and Dorothy is so hospitable, warm, and knowledgable about everything in the area, from historic sites to every plant you can think of in the highlands (she has a phD in botany). The B&B is very well-kept, as it is neat, elegant, and spotless. The rooms are also rather spacious, and breakfast is fresh and home-cooked. We had the double room, which was quite sunny, big, comfy, and had an en-suite bathroom and plenty of space for storing luggage and hanging clothes. There was also a hair-dryer, a coffee/tea maker, soap...etc.
All in all, we would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who is willing to tour the west highlands!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoulaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.8 mi away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Great Glen Hostel
Great Glen Hostel
#1 of 2 in South Laggan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge Gardens
Riverside Lodge Gardens
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coinachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coinachan Guest House

Property: Coinachan Guest House
Address: Gairlochy Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coinachan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coinachan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coinachan Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing