We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coinachan Guest House
Ranked #14 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having never stayed at any of the other 15 B&Bs currently listed in Spean Bridge, I can only assume that the area is unusually blessed for Coinachan to be rated 14th.

Very friendly owner, rooms and breakfast (and selection of teas) of a very high standard, whilst still feeling very homey, laidback and relaxed - wouldn't even consider trying any of the other places on next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

This is the best b&b we have stayed in in a long time Excellent warm welcome clean rooms .We was on a weekend trip with mum and daughter in tow had a good time lots to see and do a hidden gem

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Arrived here after a long trek from Newcastle.

We were greated with a smile and the lady in charge was very pleasant.

Rooms were comfortable albeit a little small.

Breakfast was nice.

I was very grateful as my husband left a top in the room and the owner arranged to have it returned to us.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NewcastleRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Highly recommend this spot. Wonderful people and great food. A little removed from the WHW Obelisk in Fort William but well worth the effort. Also a great starting point for the Great Glen Way from Ft. William to Inverness. This place is special.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haydukeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

My wife and I along with my parents stayed here during the August bank Holiday and will definitely return. We received a warm welcome from Joe on arrival, who after showing us to our room hurried away to make us some tea and coffee. Both rooms were immaculately presented, light, airy and with enough space to move around in. The drinks arrived and Joe spent a few minutes with us getting acquainted before leaving us to our own devises.

The rooms are off a small lounge/living room area that is very tastefully decorated and has a selection of CD's , DVD's , Sky TV and some eclectic reading materials, everything from Enid Blyton for the kids, local and national history, to the literary giant, a Scots Quair by Lewis Grassic Gibbon…there is also a selection of card/board games if you so wish. The whole area, as do the rooms oozes relaxation. Our room had windows on two sides. One side looking over the rear gardens and small pond to the distant mountains with the other window looking over the famous Commando Memorial, set against a backdrop of Ben Nevis and the Aonach Mor Range. It is a spectacular setting.

The on - suite bathroom was very modern and my wife and mother got very excited about the range of complimentary hand creams, toiletries and shampoo. I don't remember the brand but apparently they are very exclusive.

We soon met Dorothy and she was very helpful in advising us where to eat locally, her recommendation was spot on and we had a lovely meal in the small village of Royston, around 3 miles away. It was great to get back to the guest house and relax in the lounge area, rather than going directly to our rooms. The next morning breakfast was excellent, plenty of it great choice with additional toast, coffee and locally made jams and marmalades.
This is a wonderful guest house in a spectacular setting, if you couple that with Joe and Dorothy's enthusiasm, attention to detail and relaxed manner then it is actually one of the best guest houses in the country.

Tom Murray

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank biggusdickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
6 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
965 reviews
7.1 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Achnabobane Farmhouse
Achnabobane Farmhouse
#20 of 23 in Spean Bridge
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coinachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coinachan Guest House

Address: Gairlochy Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coinachan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coinachan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coinachan Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing