We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Neist Point

Neist Point
Book In Advance
More Info
US$390.76*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Skye and Lochalsh from Kyle of Lochalsh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Be prepared for an 'interesting' drive as you wind your way through Glendale and on toward Neist Point! What you see when you get there is simply breathtakingly beautiful. Just when you think you've 'covered' Skye, you find yourself in a wide open space, elevated enough to test your nerves and sense of balance. But if the height overcomes you, there is a great path which takes you down and on toward the lighthouse. Unless you are staying in the area, this is quite a detour...........but don't miss it, and take a camera!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Coco24242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    281
    48
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

It took us 3 hours to reach the place driving but all was worth it as we stepped out of the car.
It is as it looks in the pictures, you can just stand the very last tip of the land and enjoy the vast, huge ocean in front of you. From the car park you need to select a spot and start walking towards it. Once you reach there views are breathtaking. Check the weather before you leave for Neist point, will not recommend it on a rainy day.. No facilities available at the spot so make sure you carry all you need.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Absolutely fantastic views and well worth the hike down.

Bit of a slog on the way back up but we had two young children with us and they managed perfectly well.

Next time we would take a picnic with us to have down on the rocks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank livinlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scenery but no facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I visited Neist Point on a glorious hot sunny day. The car park is small but I went late in the day so managed to get parked. The walk down to the lighthouse is very steep but the views are incredible. However I was disappointed to find that, unlike at Ardmurchan, the lighthouse is shut to visitors. They omit to tell you that until you have already made quite a challenging walk which involves steep inclines both down and up. This would be fine but I don't think most people were prepared to find that it was just a walk which would require walking shoes. Lots of people were in flip flops which is entirely unsuitable even for a short but steep walk as this is. A sign indicating that there are no toilet or eating facilities at the lighthouse itself would help but this should be at the car park. It is possible to see Neist Point and experience the views without walking all the way to the lighthouse which you can't go in. Not even into the grounds around the building.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 34Linda34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must visit (twice)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited twice, the first time in the hope to see some wildlife during the day and the second time to watch the sunset.

You should wear walking boots or sturdy shoes as whilst there is a concrete path it is well covered in sheep droppings. We did see some people wearing flip flops but this is quite a steep walk with various climbs and we cannot imagine their feet either being clean or blister free at the end of it.

There were areas where you could go off the path and either play on some rocks, sorry take in the view, or wander about on a hilly mound or go down to the shore. There are steep cliffs which children (big and small) need to take care on, but in the main this is a very safe walk.

We saw lots of shags, black guillemots and wheatears either in the sea or on the cliffs, no whales or dolphins sadly although I understand this is a very good place to see both. There's a lighthouse which looks like you can rent it for break however there is no access to this and no toilet facilities at all. It can also be a bit midgey and is very exposed to the elements (which was hard work on a hot sunny day).

At sunset we went back to enjoy the view of the sun dropping and being reflected in the sea. There were approx twenty other people with the same idea so the spot was not secluded however it was romantic. You do need to come prepared for the midges though as this is a favourite time for them, we didn't have too many problems but were well prepared (most people didn't have nets but why take the risk).

There is parking for approx fourteen vehicles possibly more so it is unlikely that you will not get parked along here. The parking area did have lots of midges though and was the worst spot for them (bizarrely). The views are great on the drive there and once you get there, it is well worth a visit.

Pop in by the red roof cafe on your way back for lunch or the three chimneys for dinner, we did both.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Calummurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neist Point also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 

Been to Neist Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing