We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly good food and stay!”
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We recently stayed here in the 'Matthew Rhys' suite and had a most excellent stay.
The room was perfect - of a lovely size, especially the bathroom! My husband and I had a
leather sofa each to watch the large flat screen TV as we chilled! We ate in the hotel restaurant, where every mouthful of food was delicious. I've rarely before felt it was a pleasure handing over money for a meal! Breakfast equally good and service excellent. Owner very pleasant, affable chap with an eye for making guests happy, relaxed and comfortable. All good hotels should be like this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186460Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at Ty Mawr Mansion where we celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The bedrooms were well proportioned and luxurious, and the food was out of this world. Together with the efficiency and friendliness of all the staff and the peaceful location of the hotel it is definitley a place to which we will return. There are no negatives to report and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_cat1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I think this is the 5th time we have stayed here because it is such a wonderful place. Cath, Martin and staff are wonderful, the food is divine and the place is so romantic and luxurious. The breakfast is excellent and the flicks in the sticks (in house cinema) is a great option for a rainy day. On a nice day, the surroundings, coastline, local towns and walks are wonderful. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uglybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

If you are intending to spend some time in this beautiful part of Wales do not miss this gem. We stayed for one night for my wife's birthday and Martin was welcoming and the perfect host. Imagine when we were shown to our room and it was the Kiera Knightley suite! The size was more than the average house ground floor area with an ensuite jacuzzi.
The food was absolutely superb and the staff really helpful.
Breakfast was again first class and we would recommend anyone to spend some time at what is a first class hotel in a really beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Just speak to Martin to see what he can do to hel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The only problem we had with Ty Mawr was that we only stayed the one night. To fully appreciate this place you need at least two nights so you can have a full day relaxing there.
Martin was a wonderful host, just no good on the weakest link.
If you think the rooms look nice online, they are even better when you get there and there is a lovely atmosphere about the place.
Gareth & Liz June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza_wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed over with friends for a Saturday night and dinner and had a really good experience. This is my second visit and it won’t be my last. The basement Cinema was just great – just like going to a private screening and something not to be missed!
The rooms we were allocated were terrific, the dinner way above the standard expected and the breakfast superb. Making the whole thing however are the proprietors who truly play host and create a real home from home country house party atmosphere. No corporate hotel feel here!

Room Tip: ask about using the cinema - its great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the Ty Mawr on Saturday 18/06 and had a lovely time. It is a fantastic place which has a load of character and some great owners. From the second you arrive you feel at ease. The food was amazing both at dinner and breakfast with fresh eggs coming from their own chickens!

Loved it and will be going back - perfect for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Quiet, luxury, friendly, peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing