We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrity treatment for ordinary folk”
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Celebrity treatment for ordinary folk”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The website for Ty Mawr highlights its celebrity guests. To be honest, this slightly put me off. I have had bad experiences with hotels that have pretensions. However, I could not have been more wrong: this place makes everyone feel special. The rooms are large, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were superb - and generous. Evening menus offered a range of largely local produce, imaginatively cooked and well presented. Little touches like good wines by the glass at sensible prices and the overall cost will appeal to us salary slaves. The standard of service was very high from both the owners and staff - professional and friendly. We felt very well cared for. I could wax lyrical about the fantastic location, peace and quiet. However, my suggestion is that you check the website for yourselves. We shall be going back.

Room Tip: As we plan to go back, we looked at other rooms. I can say we woudl happily take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroakesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
207
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have to say the gesture of Martin meeting you at your car and helping with the luggage is indicative of the welcome you will receive at Ty Mawr Mansion. They make sure you have a pleasant break and not, like so many hotels, just out to take you money. Clean, great food and a great atmosphere. We took our 4 year old son and he was very welcome. The cinema is great too. I would recommend it especially as a place to feel comfortable with a little one. Our son could play in the grounds and feed the chickens! They even offered to watch our son in the room next to the restaurant if we felt he was being too loud. Not many places offer that! At Ty Mawr it is all about you having a fabulous time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our hosts Martin & his wife were welcoming & unpretentious. The hotel was home for a weekend & particularly room 4 was a haven where we could relax.
Romantic setting, entertaining animals..especially the chickens running into their house..!!
The rooms were delightfully quiet with no intruding sounds form other guests, just blissful time with ourselves... a very ,very special weekend thank you Ty Mawr....

Imaginative food, first class breakfast & gorgeous taste .....

Room Tip: Room 4 spacious & romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsbeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived at Ty Mawr Mansions on the 24th April 2012 for a two night stay. Martin, the Manager,met us at the car with an umbrella and helped us in with our luggage. We had booked the suite downstairs which was very luxurios and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was first class as was the breakfast in the morning.Everybody was so friendly and polite and Martin was helpful. We will certainly tell our friends and family about the hotel and certainly hope to stay again one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Had the most wonderful experience at this hotel,what a find. Beautifully decorated,wonderful host Martin even met us at the car with an umberella because it was raining. Restaurant food is fabulous, we even had home made biscuits in our room and after commenting on them he gave us some to take home. Breakfast as dinner used the best ingredients and was gorgeous. No wonder it's award winning. 5 miles from Aberaeron with lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Can't rate this highly enough. Well done to all the staff too. Forgot to mention the bed BLISS!!

Room Tip: we were given a suite because the hotel was quiet - ask and you might be lucky too. Even has a cinem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary186458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Mawr Mansion. A lovely getaway relaxing break with unrivaled customer service by the manager Martin and his wife and team of staff. We were met in the car park by the manager and he carried our case to our room. We originally booked room 7 and upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade into one of their named suites (Keira Knightley suite) which we happily accepted.

The room and bathroom was fantastic and the fine dining experience was exceptional. The chef was happy to meet you and discuss options for vegetarian courses for the evening meal.

We had a private viewing of a film we selected from their extensive collection in the state of the art cinema located in the basement of the hotel which was great fun but lacking in popcorn!

In all aspects a fantastic stay and we will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I just spent a night at Ty Mawr Mansion for my husband's birthday. The hotel is beautiful and the our room (room 3) was romantic and very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was wonderful. The locally sourced food was of an excellent standard, wonderfully presented and definately moreish! Breakfast was equally good with a huge variety of items to choose from.
The personal touches really make this place - being met from your car, homemade biscuits in the room and attentive service. I would recommend this to hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, special getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky-aherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
217 reviews
10.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
163 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
4.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing