We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Wow.”
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Wow.”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just returned from Ty mawr and had the most amazing time!! Our bedroom, Dinner, Service and even the weather was fantastic. They really do know how to make you feel welcome here! My highlight was enjoying the rare welsh sunshine on the terrace with a bottle of champagne! I will definately be returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone whos looking to relax. Thank you so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
207
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our stay at Ty Mawr was amazing, food rooms and especially Martin who goes above and beyond. Stop reading and book.
We booked on the kgb offer and at no point were madetofeel any less special than the 'posher' guests. The way the house has been restored and the love that martin puts into running the place is obvious in every way.

Room Tip: suite a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were lucky enough to experience Ty Mawr at the beginning of June for my brothers Wedding & wow, it was superb! Martin and his staff were at our beck and call and went beyond the call of duty, assisting with anything and everything we needed. Our room was incredible. I would describe the room as "classy authentic". We had just arrived from Perth, Australia and this was worth travelling half way across the globe for. The quality of decor, food, hospitality, added extras and general homely feel made our stay very pleasurable. Working as a Travel Agent and experiencing many locations across the globe, I can safely say that Ty Mawr Mansion is a must stay when travelling to the Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandTam44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at Ty Mawr a couple of month's ago for a friend's wedding and found the whole experience incredible. martin and his staff were there to meet us upon arrival after a long journey from London. The rooms were spacious, full of character and the environment was very relaxing. The restaurant lived up to expectation with excellent service and top quality food sourced locally.
We simply cannot say enough good things about our stay, Martin and his team are so friendly and welcoming that it was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stags46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at Ty Mawr in November last year and have been meaning to write a review for ages. We have been spurred on to do this as we are excited about having booked for a return stay. I think the fact that we are so excited about going back says it all. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Martin and Catherine. Our room was fantastic and so was the breakfast. We booked a table for a meal in the restaurant and we're so glad we did. The meal was one of the best we have had, and the only shame was we were to full up to try the superb looking desserts....maybe this time. This is the perfect rural getaway and we would and have recommended it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is first and foremost an excellent restaurant with a very talented local chef who uses local produce to create outstanding food. I really cannot understand the recent "disappointing" review on TA as this is totally at odds with our experience. The rooms are large and very comfortable for both short one nights stays after a meal and longer stays. The service all round from Martin and his staff was personable and efficient. We would definitely recommend this for anyone traveling in the area as a detour worth taking.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the ground floor one of which is readily accessible for anyone with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Spent a week at this amazing Country House with fellow travellers on a Coopersmith's Castle and Garden Tour of S.W.Wales.
Martin completely won our hearts with his attentiveness, and wonderful humour. He even made us popcorn while we watched movies in his "flicks in the sticks"- a great home movie theatre.

The staff was very friendly and the meals first class--and beautifully presented.

So peaceful to be in the lovely Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.4 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
4.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
4.1 mi away
Arosfa Harbourside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing