We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay in the keira knightley suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“our stay in the keira knightley suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

lovely setting very quiet but rather overpriced .we felt the place was trading on the past glory of having accommodated film stars 5 years ago rather too much.breakfast very average not a patch on that at the harbourmaster at aberaeron.a little more attention to detail would nt have gone amiss.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelcritic499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
207
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Martin and family make you feel very welcome here, and the rooms are great. If you eat there then you're in for a treat (2 Rosettes!) and well worth it. Beautiful peaceful location and close to nice towns nearby like Aberaeron and New Quay. Better to eat here than in any restaurants in those towns. They do 2 set menus; £29 or £39 for Fine Dining - great stuff!

Room Tip: All rooms are of different quality and prices, but all excellent and judging by our bed, good sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed between 4 and 5 Sept 2012 to celebrate our 30 Year Wedding Anniversary.
The hotel was beautiful with all of the rooms decorated beautifully with high quality furnishings, fixtures and fiitings. We stayed in the Matthew Rhys Suite and it was gorgeous with a stunning bathroom.
The food was of an excellent quality deserving of it's awards.
Martin the owner mader is very welcome and even took us on an impromptu tour when we were leaving so we could see the other rooms and suites and they were all beautiful - all large rooms and beautifully decorated.
It is set up a quiet country lane away from Aberaeron and well worth the short trip for such a stunning hotel.
We would highly recomend and hope to return in the future

Room Tip: All rooms were gorgeous - those which are suites are particularly stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Tranquility, serenity & beauty.....perfection in heaven. From the moment we were casually met by Martin to carry our bags in to the moment we left. My husband & I were recommended this hotel for our wedding anniversary away from our 2 children. Our batteries were certainly recharged from the relaxing pace & genuine people here. We were upgraded to a suite & spoilt rotten. Every positive thing in every review you read is true

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Ty Mawr Mansion between 7th - 9th August 2012 as a wedding anniversary treat. Our celebrity suite was so beautiful and huge, same for the bathroom. The hospitality tray was always full and there were some home made biscuits too!
Martin, the owner, made the stay extra special. He really knows how to make his guests feel welcome.
The breakfast was to die for! Diner was excellent as well.
We used to love watching and stroking the horses. Next time we come back I expect some cats and dogs around the place too!
We will definitely come back:)

Room Tip: Keira Knightely Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KasienkaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 days 30th and 31st of July, 2012, and if there is a place which epitomises perfection, then this is it. Where do I start ?, the fantastic welcome on arrival, by Martin the owner, the idyllic setting, luxurious restored mansion, the list is endless, no wonder celebrities stay here. We stayed here on a deal, in a large double room, LARGE, it was immense, and so was the bathroom. The breakfast was superb, cooked to order, fresh eggs, from the chickens, who were housed in a blue caravan in the grounds. This is a very relaxing environment, very quiet, Martin and his delightful daughter Cary's, plus the 2 horses, Cery's and her foal Whispa, made this an unforgettable break. We have recommended Ty Mawr, to everyone, we did not want to leave, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: A corner room may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent close to a week in the Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel in Wales, we opted for this hotel
as base for daytrips into Wales.
We had a great time, management is very professional, very hospitable and friendly, customer oriented and everready to be of assistance.
The suite we stayed in was very nice, spaceous, and , most important of all , very clean and
well kept.

We will certainly be back !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
10.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing