We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I don't often write reviews but I had to tell everyone how great this hotel is. Martin and Kath make this such a special place. We stayed mid week for a short break only to be cut short as my son was unwell. So we were only lucky enough to stay one night. Martin was waiting for us as we pulled up to the entrance. We were put in the Keira Knightly suite, so named as she stayed there for a month. It is a lovely room with lots of light comfy sofas and a huge modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower. It was lovely and warm. We had a pre-dinner drink followed by an amazing meal. The food and service excellent. Breakfast the next day was delicious and helped by their own sausages! I couldn't fault this place. Our only regret was that we had to leave early before we could watch a film in the cinema! Please go and stay. It is tucked away in its own lovely grounds away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to everything. We loved it! I left my watch and they kindly posted it on to me, in a watch box complete with little cushion! Thank you so much. We will be back.

Room Tip: Lovely suites, light and so comfortable and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband booked us into Ty Mawr mansion as a birthday surprise foe me on 1st March 2013. We only live 10 minutes from the venue but it is known locally as the place to go for a special occasion. Alot of locals go there for a special dinner it is the place to propose to your fiance or some other special occasion. The attention to detail is stunning with 2 lounges to have a pre-dinner drink before you relish your fine dining experience. The rooms themselves are spacious with great attention to detail and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. designer toiletries await you in the bathroom as you sink into the huge Jacuzzi bath. After you can wrap yourself in the fluffy complimentary bathrobe (but you can't take it home folks) as you smother yourself in free designer body lotion.

Maybe you fancy watching TV in the spacious lounge or checking your emails at the computer desk; or just a nice cup of coffee with homemade cookies? The choice is yours you can either set in the lounge of your suite or lie in bed and watch the television. There will be no arguments over the TV as there are two. The spacious windows look out onto a seating area were you can have a pre-dinner cigar or cigarette or just walk over to see the owners lovely horse or the quaint chicken coop in the spacious grounds.

You will find the staff attentive to your every need and a wide range of information about local attractions if you fancy exploring. As you awake refreshed and ready for your day, you are treated to a wide range of breakfast options. From a traditional welsh breakfast with locally sourced food and freshly laid eggs or a lighter bite for those more health conscious there are lots of options.This is not a budget hotel and it will cost you a substantial amount of money but if you like the finer things in life, this is the place for you. Do you want to get a few brownie points with the wife or girlfriend? then this place will not disappoint, enjoy !

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, you will not be disappointed whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a fantastic find. We were so well looked after from the moment we arrived. After being upgraded to a suite, we had a wonderfully relaxing stay and possibly the best night's sleep in a long while (our first night away from our 6 month old!) The breakfast is the best I've had, poached eggs were cooked to perfection. Will definitely be returning and trying out the restaurent. Thank you Martin & Cath

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My partner (now wife) and I booked in for 2 nights at Ty Mawr Mansion to hold our very small and quiet wedding....only took 2 friends with us as witnesses.
Martin and his team could not have done more to make our special day even more special. Everyone went the extra mile to ensure all went smoothly. Martin even shot an impromptu video of the day and presented it to us as a gift.
The rooms were stunning, the food superb and the atmoshphere nicely layed back...what more can you ask.
Thank you to everyone at Ty Mawr Mansion.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We arrived at Ty Mawr for a family re-union and were welcomed by Martin before we even parked the cars. We settled in to our lovely rooms - complete with super-sized bathrooms! Martin and his team were excellent hosts and we enjoyed the superb food, imaginative menu and excellent service. The mixed Lamb dish and the chocolate dessert plate were both wonderful! And the locally sourced breakfast was amazing - eaten watching the chickens on the lawn. It was just like staying in a private house, where we felt able to relax and make ourselves at home.
Martin was always helpful- even down to tide times for the Coasal path walk from Aberaeron - and nothing was too much trouble. Our two night stay was too short and we hope to be back again soon! Ty Mawr made our first family get-together so special that we intend to make it a regular event Thank you!

Room Tip: Inernet access / mobile phone in room 7 not brilliant but that was a blessing! And the huge jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have eaten here before so expected our taste buds to be delighted by the wonderful culinary creations of the Ty Mawr kitchen. Service was excellent from the minute we arrived until the moment we left. As for the food well where do we begin? Delicious, fantastic, tasty, scrumptious simply do not describe tonight's meal with any justice. A dining experience of the highest order, indeed we both agree that it was truly exceptional and quite possibly the best meal we have ever had. Cannot wait until next time. Thank you again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Mawr Mansion. We were totally spoilt. The food was outstanding, and accommodation the best we have ever experienced. Thank you to Martin and Catherine for making us so welcome. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing