We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic warm welcome”
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic warm welcome”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at the mansion we knew it was special. A beautiful tranquil setting with chickens, pigs and horses in the immediate surrounding grounds.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner Martin who collected our bags and guided us to our room, Martin and his wife Catherine are fantastic hosts and catered for our every need and request, nothing is too much for them, they were always on hand to help.

The room itself was great, lovely big super king bed and jacuzzi bath, the decor of the hotel is tasteful and has great period features. We stayed two nights and on both days ventured to the sea side, a short drive away, we particularly enjoyed new quay.

One evening we dined in the hotel restaurant, this is a must, the food was delicious and very well priced for the quality, yet again staff were very attentive and Martin was on hand throughout to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The breakfast provided was also superb, full cooked breakfast was perfection for me.

Overall I would say the hotel was fantastic, especially at making guests feel wanted and comfortable, nowadays it is rare to be welcomed upon arrival and made to feel cared for throughout your stay, this is something Martin and Catherine have down to a fine art and we would recommend this hotel to anyone, great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannymc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
208
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a great little Gem. Found this property doing a random search. Probably best described as a Restaurant with Food, but we stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed not only the accommodation and food but the attention of all the staff. The owners, Martin and Catherine McAlpine have hospitality down to a fine tee. The food was really delicious and the breakfasts were unrivalled. I can't praise this hotel highly enough. Well done to all of the staff.

Room Tip: There was a small suite of rooms on the level, would book that room when visiting again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Been here a few times now and its one of the best places to eat, quality is of the highest level and the owners and staff are very friendly. The owner comes out to the car park to greet u which goes a long way seeing as most managers in restaurants these days hardly look at u when u walk in the door. Its a bit out the way but its not hard to find. I will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Excellent food, surpassed only by the friendliness of our welcome. I also enjoyed the local beer so much, I took a crate home with me.
Thoroughly enjoyed a peaceful break in a lovely setting. Will definitely return!
Brian and Shasha, Islington.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My husband&I have stayed in some wonderful places over the years,but never like this.I literally cannot think of a single criticism.This place is faultless from the moment Martin,the owner meets you at the door.We stayed in the Keira Knightly suite,which has a lovely spa bath.The bed is the most comfortable we've ever had in a hotel,the food is SUBLIME,the staff are wonderful,its so peaceful&beautiful&the best breakfast ever.Don t miss a chance to visit their wonderful pigs too-which have to be seen to be believed as they have curly white coats like sheep-hilarious!!The owners care so much that you have a perfect stay&are such natural hosts.We can t wait to go back there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Lovely hotel, very easy to find due to good road signs (and sat nav!)
We stayed for 4 nights, initially booked room 2 but were upgraded to the Sienna Miller suite, which was very comfortable, quiet and spacious. Martin, the host, was at the door to meet us. He did an outstanding job to ensure our stay was comfortable,
The food was excellent. Dinner was very relaxed, certainly no rush to get you out. Started very civil with an aperitif in the library, called in to the dining room once the starter was ready.Three courses of well cooked food, well presented too, a work of art! Finally, coffee in the lounge after dinner. Breakfast was superb, and plentiful. The waiting staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.
Definately recommend this hotel to friends and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A great location and a lovely hotel with superb food. We stayed in the Keira Knightly suite which was extremely spacious with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever stayed in.

We had dinner at the hotel which was to die for. Every course was faultless, and it was lovely to eat local food. We also had breakfast the following morning which was also great. It was lovely to be eating eggs fresh from the chickens that you could see from the window.

A great and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
713 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
10.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
4.3 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing