We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful short break in remarkable part of West Wales .
The situation was out standing in a beautiful part of West Wales only exceeded by the welcome of Martin the owner . the hotel is decorated in subtle colours and is very comfortable . Martin even gave us a short trip in his new electric car - obviously his "green" credentials are top quality !
The food was prepared by Martin's excellent chef - mostly local produce . All was served in the delightful restaurant by well trained and very friendly staff . The wine list was good and we are hoping to return very soon .

Room Tip: All rooms are very large and extremely comfortable . We could have held a dance in our bathroom !! C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squadault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
207
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Went for a meal this week and thoroughly enjoyed it. even though we only live about 5 miles away it was our first time. What a lovely location and setting, the place has been done up to a high standard with the décor to match. The owner is very welcoming and informative about the property and locality. The food was to a high standard and the service excellent, the prices are reasonable and there is a good choice of wine. Anyone thinking about going should not hesitate about it! We shall be returning in the near future

Room Tip: The rooms are huge and have to be seen to be believed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stansevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippysmate
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay, Martin and has the "it" factor, fantastic host, great larger than life personality, his delightful family help make the place what it is (even cookie the dog!!). Brilliant food, not over stated, just very fresh, well cooked and presented. Wine list very reasonably priced

If you are looking for a place to stay and chill out, this is the place for you

Room Tip: a suite is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We travelled from Australia for a brother's 50th birthday party. What a beautiful setting - there were 12 in the party- fantastic service - wonderful meal. 6 of us stayed overnight in beautiful accommodation. It was worth travelling around the world for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed Fri/Sat June 6 TH 7 TH
Great service great food and great room. Can't think of anydown side.I have stayed in hotels all over the world and rate this amongst the best. Martin is a brilliant host being at once informative and friendly but also sensitive to the need for people to have their own space. His love fr the building and sharing it with his guests adds to the enjoyment.
Food was of the highest quality both preparation quality and quantity....spot on!

Room Tip: Talk to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worcesterman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked a 2 night stay and were sorry that we could not have stayed there a little longer. We were upgraded to a suite which was really nice. We had a small sitting room as well as a large bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and had delightful views of the gardens.
The host was very friendly and made us feel quite at home. The food was delicious and we had dinner there both nights.
Ty Mawr is in a great position to visit the coast and we took advantage of this.
I would certainly recommend this lovely house to anyone wanting a relaxing break with good food in this part of the Welsh Countryside.

Room Tip: I am sure any one of the rooms would be comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickym830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Once we had decided to visit Aberaeron & New Quay over the May Bank Holiday weekend, I set about finding a hotel for the night. I first tried the well known hotel in Aberaeron harbour, which was full, and then tried hotels in New Quay without success.
I stumbled upon Ty Mawr by accident & quickly snapped up the 'Matthew Rhys' suite (the cast of 'Edge of Love' stayed here during filming).
Come the weekend, we spent a pleasant Saturday in Aberaeron, including a drink in the local harbour hotel, which was very busy and chaotic.
In the early evening we got back in the car and drove inland to Ty Mawr. After a short drive into the beautiful Welsh countryside we arrived at the gates to Ty Mawr mansion. As we drove up to the house and parked the car the owner, Martin, came out to greet us and took our bags into the house. We were shown around the reception rooms & dining room before Martin took us to our 'room', a beautiful suite in an annexe attached to the main house.
After some R & R in our room, and a freshen up in the huge bathroom, we went back to the main house for dinner. Drinks were served in the reception room whilst we made our selection from the small but perfect menu of locally sourced produce. I chose lamb (we were in Wales after all) and my husband selected pork. We both had scallops to start. The food was well presented and tasted wonderful.
We retired to the reception room for our after dinner drinks and then returned to our room so my husband could watch 'Match of the Day', kindly facilitated by Martin who showed us how to use the Sky system (thanks Martin, I think!). A pint of lager was also duly delivered to enhance my husband's enjoyment!
After a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed, we returned to the main house for breakfast, where I was reminded how much better local eggs & bacon taste than mass produced.
As we drove away my overriding thought was how glad I was that I'd discovered Ty Mawr and escaped the hustle & bustle of the main tourist haunts.
I hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: The Matthew Rhys suite was a wonderful blend of traditional & modern, set away from the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
10.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.4 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin
Ty Mawr Mansion Cilcennin, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing