We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheepleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheepleys
Ranked #3 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wedding in South Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

An excellent B&B with standards of a Five star hotel. Why cannot a lot of hotels in the UK match the welcome and service we received from Wendy and Roger. Well worth a visit We had a beautiful comfortable room with all that is needed for a relaxing stay. Great breakfasts.and with the town of Carbridge down the road a good place for coffee stop.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were attending a wedding in a nearby village and booked this B & B due to its close proximity and reasonable prices. This is the first time I have stayed in a B & B which is also someone's home but I had nothing to worry about. The room was very pleasant, clean, nicely decorated (with added sheep friends) and fulfilled all our requirements. We needed to return in the early hours of the morning due to the wedding reception which I cleared with Wendy and didn't seem to be a problem. The breakfast next day was homecooked and Wendy was more than accommodating with our every need. The setting of the B & B is beautiful with stables housing horses and a donkey, three dogs, a cat and some birds. This gave the place a homely feel and if I was ever in the area, I would definately come back!

Room Tip: Follow Wendy's instructions for getting there as the postcode does take you to a different place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

A great place to stay, A lovely big room with ensuite, A separate television lounge if required tea mashing facilities in the room and a nice biscuit, Thermostatic shower over a corner bath, Wifi a very welcoming house, quiet and a very nice breakfast. I would recommend sheepleys to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just spent a fabulous few days at Sheepleys with our horses. What a great place to stay, and if you have the opportunity to take your horse I strongly recommend it. A horse riders dream. We stayed two nights and after a long ride there, we arrived to a warm welcome from Colin the donkey (who was adorable) and Wendy, who showed us around the lovely stable yard which had everything we could possibly need. The horses settled into their immaculate paddock which also had a shelter. Saddle racks were available to hang saddles and bridles on and the outbuilding was securely locked.
The rooms were spotlessly clean with a flat screen TV and modern bathroom. There were tea/coffee facilities and we even had some home made Welsh Cakes and shortbread. There was a very small fridge in the room which was handy for the odd can of beer or packed lunch to keep chilled. Nearby pubs and restaurants were listed in a handy information folder in our room. It gave useful info and directions for the surrounding area.
Breakfast was outstanding and Wendy was cooking ours at 7am so that we could leave early for the long ride to Ogmore Beach. There was a choice of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit including strawberries. A toaster was available so that we could help ourselves and our orders were taken for the full English or I really should say Welsh as lavar bread and home made Glamorgan sausages were choices on the menu. The quality and presentation of the cooked breakfast was second to none and set us up for the long day ahead.
Wendy supplied us with a map to get us to the beach and explained the route, she also gave us tide times to ensure we had a nice wide stretch of sand for a gallop.
We had a fantastic day and it was great to climb into a comfy bed at the end of it. After another great breakfast we set out on another long ride home.
We really commend Wendy and Roger for the effort they put into making us and the horses feel comfortable. Thank you both again. We will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: There is a room available that is separate from the main house and next to the stables. It has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonerjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at Sheepley's B&B. Great place to explore the countryside. I cannot fault the service we received from Wendy and Roger. The breakfasts were divine and the rooms are really clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. Wendy provided us with a detailed map and information on tide times for our trek over to Ogmore by Sea, which proved invaluable. The horses paddock was clean and secure, the grass was fresh and green. Colin the donkey is adorable. I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation, we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

have just spent 3 wonderful days at Sheepleys! we took our horses on a little holiday there too and they loved the lush green grass as we did our accomodation. had a lovely welcome not only from wendy and roger but also from colin the donkey, he`s so cute! a perfect base for exploring the beaches, the countryside or even cardiff. the breakfasts are really high quality infact the best we`ve ever had. would high recommend to all but if you know of any horse owners that fancy taking their horses on holiday, then this is the place! can`t wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very friendly welcome from the hosts. Beautiful comfortable room with all that is needed for a relaxing stay. Great breakfasts. Wonderful courtyard with a range of friendly pets: Dogs , sheep, Donkey, finches. A great place to base yourself for the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
2.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.4 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 3 in Cowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Cowbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheepleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheepleys

Property: Sheepleys
Address: LLandow, Cowbridge CF71 7PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the market towns of Cowbridge and Llantwit Major, Sheepleys is the ideal place to stay for weekend breaks, business trips, romantic getaways, visiting family and events in Cardiff. You will appreciate all the comforts expected in this former farmhouse with light and airy rooms which have been tastefully furnished and decorated. Relax in our cosy guest lounge and enjoy a delicious welsh breakfast in our elegant dining room. Twin/double rooms are £70 per night and single occupancy £50. Ample parking. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheepleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheepleys Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing