We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice afternoon”
Review of Glyndwr Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glyndwr Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 8 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Friends booked a visit to this vineyard as a birthday present. Had a great few hours... Started with wine and canopies, then a tour around the vineyard. Next a home cooked buffet meal which was excellent. Lovely wines on offer. Relaxed and unhurried in lovely setting.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Glyndwr Vineyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We went to Glyndwr Vineyard for one of their tours with lunch. The tour of the vineyard was really interesting and educational, and we hadn't realised we had such a large vineyard in South Wales! As we were dragging along our 15 year old daughter, we especially asked if we could spend some time with the resident llamas and our hosts were very accommodating and let us take them for a walk. The hosts were so welcoming, the food was delicious and extra special effort was made for me as I was a vegetarian and of course the wine was divine! We will be recommending the tours to our friends, and we have already bought Glyndwr wine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank Ros898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

2 people stayed 1 night at the vineyard. A really enjoyable experience and would defiitely recommend a visit.

Richard & Sue were lovely hosts. The wine was very tasty - 1 each of sparkling white, sparkling rosé, still white and still rosé.

tour: glass of wine and canapés on arrival, a really informative intro and history of the vineyard by richard. tour of his small vineyard, discussing grape varieties, planting, harvesting etc. don't be afraid to ask questions as richard is very good. after about an hour then back to lunch and more wine tasting. Lunch was very good with local produce and their own garden salad.
We were able to sit around at our leisure with others and talk and eat and drink (approx 10 people arrived for our tour time - some from shropshire!). The hosts were very accommodating and friendly.

Accommodation: self catering b&b although we were provided with the breakfast food to prepare ourselves. (please be aware that the accommodation does not provide for full british breakfast - which was of no problem to us but may be for others?)
Accommodation is not luxurious but is comfortable and on a hot day we were able to sit in the garden and wander at our leisure. the garden is very nice with pond and trees etc.

Other things to do: a walk into Cowbridge via the village of llanblethian is very nice - takes approximately 30 mins at a leisurely stroll. Can walk past St Quentin Castle or view from the field near the river. Walk through medieval archway into Cowbridge itself.
Cowbridge is small but nice to look at antiques and various local shops.

Evening meal: we went to the local pub (the Cross) 25 yards from entrance of the vineyard. Food was good and place was clean.

Overall an enjoyable tour and wine tasting and being able to stay overnight made it easier than driving back home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshrvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights B&B and found it to be just right for our requirements. We took our dog with us and it was ideal for us to be able to have her in the room with us, but also to be independent for breakfast as the ingredients are supplied and guests can suit themselves as to when they eat, etc. The property is in the most gorgeous location in the grounds of the vineyard, with lawns, borders, pond, etc, and parking right by the door. There is also a field right next to the property where we were able to walk the dog.

The property consists of one large room with a shower room attached. The one room contains two large single beds (very comfortable, zip-linked together), settee and TV, dining table and chairs, and a small kitchenette area. Breakfast ingredients consisted of yoghurts (only supplied for the first night for some reason), croissants, bread, 'spread', eggs, milk, cheese, ham, honey, jam, juice, tea & coffee, and a bowl of fruit. A good selection to choose from! Only small criticisms would be that real butter would have been nice, the ham wasn't British and there were 2 jars of honey and 1 of jam - no marmalade!

Cowbridge is only a couple of minutes away and is a pretty market town with a good mix of shops (no chain stores) and a large vintage centre. It has some lovely places to walk, including a Physic Garden.

We hope to visit again and would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdyjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have never been to a vineyard before and my husband and I were invited to his company's get together and this was the place they took us to. We arrived by coach so we were able to drink some of the beautiful wines on offer. We enjoyed a glass of sparkling wine and canapés on arrival and then had a tour of the vineyard. It was a beautiful sunny day so it could not have been better for wandering around the grounds. For lunch we enjoyed coronation chicken, Salad, Bread and a few cheeses. and for dessert was a chocolate brownie that melted in your mouth or flapjack if you preferred. Richard the host was very knowledgeable. His wife and son worked hard to make our day relaxing and contented.
We did not stay at the bed and breakfast so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I found we had a lovley relaxing time while staying here. The owners couldn't do enough for us, but also left us to our own devices. I will be back & I'll happily recomend to friends looking for a quiet break.

1  Thank deb98789
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our daughter loves llamas, so we booked to have a party at Glyndwer vineyard. Our daughter and her friends had a lovely time, they were able to walk the llamas around the vineyard, they also played with the dog and fed the chickens and ducks. The owners put on a nice buffet tea and the adults could taste the wine produced as the vineyard, which was lovely. The owners are very friendly, our daughter had a lovely birthday and we enjoyed it too.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Simon186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
1.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
504 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
449 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Llanerch Vineyard
Llanerch Vineyard
#1 of 1 in Hensol
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 4 in Cowbridge
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheepleys
Sheepleys
#3 of 8 in Cowbridge
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyndwr Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyndwr Vineyard

Address: Llanblethian Cowbridge, Cowbridge CF71 7JF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range: £70 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes' drive from the market town of Cowbridge, Glyndwr Vineyard offers a charming bed and breakfast and Self Catering retreat in South Wales. Overlooking ponds and surrounded by lawns, wild flowers and a 6-acre vineyard, this self-contained cottage has free parking on site, as well as some friendly llamas, chickens and ducks. There are two individual bedrooms, one twin and one double, both with their own ensuite bathrooms and kitchenette. The cottage in its secluded location, is a short stroll from the flower laden village pub and three minutes drive from the historic market town of Cowbridge with its many cafes, restaurants and shops. Only 20 minutes' drive from the centre of Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glyndwr Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyndwr Vineyard Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing