We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly little pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carne Arms

The Carne Arms
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Carne Arms Llysworney is another pub serving great food, with great atmosphere from Newmill Ventures Ltd. We also have the Star Inn Treoes and THe Ivor Arms in Brynsadler, each serving great pub food with high standards. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome at all of our pubs.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Been going there for years, not regularly but often, nice friendly atmosphere. always a good warm welcome.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HaydnNelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    71
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty little number”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great, quaint pub/restaurant with delightful original features and friendly staff. Visited on a Wednesday evening and were the only visitors which was a pity as the food was delicious. We had salmon and the mixed grill and ate the lot as it was mouthwatering but perhaps a little over priced. However, would definately return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphysGirl_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing country pub with fantastic food, service and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Myself and my family have been frequenting the Carne for over 2 years as it provides fantastic food and they pride themselves on providing fresh local produce which is cooked fresh. It is also an excellent place for various family events , quiet dinners for 2 (:-)) Sunday lunch and the most amazing beer festival events in the vale , when the adults are not having their fun in the garden it is fantastic for children also and does supply proper homemade food for them too. I have yet to experience one of their wine and fine events which I have heard are excellent. I was in recently and the Xmas menu is now available too which I shall be booking, especially with the homely open fires burning

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Handent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gastropub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Well worth short detour from Cowbridge for lunch. Excellent local lamb (cooked pink and juicy) with fennel and delicious sea bream, on the bone, with spinach. Shame for the chef that were very few customers to enjoy his food which also meant it was a bit lacking in atmosphere but friendly welcome. I'm really glad we went and will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not impressed!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Be sure to drive by this place, its reviews are not an accurate reflection of the experience that I had here. The roast dinner was rubbish and majorly overpriced, the owner was arrogant, rude and drunk (at 3:30pm). I wouldn't ever go back, the owner clearly thinks too highly of himself and his failing business.

Helpful?
7 Thank Rhys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carne Arms also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Carne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing