We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Pub”
Review of The Barley Mow - CLOSED

The Barley Mow
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A superb little find, in the heart of the picturesque village, Craig Penllyn. Traditional 18th Century building with many original features, including log fires and low beams. Recently under new management, Freehold pub, with weekly guest ales, and a wide range of spirits & wines. Our menus change to compliment the seasons, always using fresh & local ingredients. We offer everything from A la Carte, Lunch, Bar snacks, Sunday Roast, Home Made Desserts, to private functions, buffets, wedding receptions, all tailored to your specification. We accept Gourmet society cards, and you can follow us on face book. Our Quiz night is the first Thursday of every month & our acoustic open Mic/busker evening is the last Friday of every month. Last but not least why not bring your faithful friends along - as dogs are allowed in our cosy bar area also!
Bridgend,
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Country Pub”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sweet pub in a lovely village setting. Real ales on offer and serves food

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Been here 3 times now and had a great meal each time. Not your 2 steaks for 10p job but proper quality good food and massive portions! Definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gasandair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Places Do Not Stay The Same.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Being fairly local to the area my wife and myself often partake of a Sunday Lunch but tend to not stay local. We had never been therefore to the Barley Mow together although I had many years ago and carried my view of it as a pretty ordinary place that was OK for a pint.
We saw a programme on BBC that featured the place and it looked really nice so we decided to give it a go.
Now in our experience you get what you pay for. We are tending to get away from the £8.95 places or two course specials as we have often left feeling let down. It was with very low expectations that we booked the Barley Mow for a Sunday Lunch.
Expectations were not enhanced as the place was quite cold and the restaurant was full (good sign but nobody seemed to be eating). Realising most had all come at once we settled into the idea that the chances of being served promptly were next to zero. Right thats the bad bits and here is the rub:
The service was impeccable, prompt, polite and friendly. The food was fantastic - every bit of it. I was later informed the heating had broken down that day and that was why it was cold so I can forgive them this especially as the hot soup I had for starters was so lovely.
I realised that I had been carrying a view of this place that is nearer the Dickensian Period than current day.
Places do change, just hope this one doesnt for a while as we would definately return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socialentrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but was really worth searching out.”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We arrived on early lunchtime after Christmas. First impressions were a little mixed it seemed a bit too quiet it also felt a bit cold despite the wood burning stove. The atmosphere was nice however and the menu looked fantastic. There was real ale on tap which was excellent. We decided to have some of the lighter brunches. Both meals arrived within a reasonable time were well above the usual standard of most foody pubs. We were very impressed and would recommend this pub to anyone wanting to eat quality food. Certainly now on list of pubs to revisit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PVT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly excellent!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We visited on a Saturday night with two friends from Sweden. The place was packed with diners (always a good sign) but fortunately we had booked a table. Very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The menu was original with a range of choices (plenty of fish and vegetarian options, often rare in pubs). Although a great range of beers, my Swedish friends opted for wine; the short list was well chosen and very reasonably priced (just as well since we polished off two bottles). The food was truly excellent (try the black pudding or the chillie soup as starters) and the service very friendly; no problem when we requested a jug of (tap) water! My Swedish friends were really amazed: 'is all pub food as good as this?' Sadly, not everywhere... but it is in the Barley Mow.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing