We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but overpriced”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“OK but overpriced”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Third time we have stayed here, once for a New Year's Eve dinner, once for a wedding and the last time just for a night away.

The rooms are small and the last time we stayed they said they only had a small double available (we did book on the day so didn't have a problem with this). However, it appears that they gave us a single room as there was only one bath towel and only one packet of biscuits!!

There was also no water in the room and when I enquired as to why I was told that they don't provide bottled in a standard room. There was also no body lotion in the bathroom.

However, the breakfast was nice.

I wouldn't stay here again if there were other hotels available but there is nowhere else to stay in Cowbridge so one is restricted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

As you have visited us a few times now, we would like to let you know we have a new loyalty scheme starting in September where you can earn points to spend at one of our hotels in the Town & Country Group or at Oscars restaurants.

Also, keep an eye on our website for our great accommodation offers and treat yourselves to a luxury stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    152
    52
    19
    14
See reviews for
97
142
7
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked in here following reviews read on Tripadvisor and Booking.com. It is a lovely old hotel and we booked a table for six for dinner. The food was excellent, great wine list and the staff were friendly and efficient. I would probably have given it 5 stars but.........

We arrived back from the wedding at 1 am, only to find the front door locked. Two other guests also turned up just after us and we did not get let in until 1.30 am, despite the fact that the bar was clearly open. The receptionist the following morning was a bit curt when we complained as well.

DON'T FORGET TO TAKE YOUR KEY IF YOU ARE RETURNING LATE!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Our night porter locks the doors after midnight for security of the hotel. I am sorry you were not advised of this on check-in and could not get in.

On a positive, we are glad you enjoyed your evening meal, we pride ourselves on our freshly made food and it's always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to The Bear in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our son booked us into this hotel for one night and as a treat he paid for a high grade room. We arrived late after a very long day on the road, having notified the hotel that we wouldn't be there until 9pm. The receptionist was curt and there was no welcome, just sign here, here's your key, breakfast is at ....! The general appearance of the hotel is scruffy and in need of a good refurbishment. Our room was awful, a cupboard sized bathroom. The windows didn't open, the net curtains were on the floor and when putting them back up, were held up by a flimsy nail. I couldn't believe the room could be that bad. On checking out next morning the same miserable receptionist informed us that they had downgraded us, due to our booked room being in the middle of a wedding party and they thought it might be noisy. We weren't offered a choice or even told this until checkout, which we thought was appalling and I rather think it was a question of the wedding party wanting to be together than for 'our benefit'. The bill was obviously a lot less but that wasn't really the point
The staff in the bar were very friendly and in the dining room. Breakfast is a serve yourself, which is fine but it was very cold and offered no choice of egg, only scrambled.
Our son, who lives local and had heard good things about this hotel was really upset, that what was intended as a treat, definitely wasn't. When we visit we usually stay at the Travel Lodge and will most happily be doing so again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katieom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I am sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with your stay. Customer feedback is important to us and we appreciate your comments.

I have sent a response to you in the post today.

At the Bear, we pride ourselves on our Warm Welsh Welcome, and I’m very disappointed to read that we didn’t hit the mark in areas we should have. I can only apologise for this and hope your next visit is a charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst working away and I was very impressed with the location and friendly staff at the hotel. The night I arrived was chaotic to say the least as there was a primary school prom on but the check in staff were great! I had a room towards the back of the hotel which was well decorated and very peaceful. The overall deco is a little dated but this actually fits in with the charm and age of the hotel its self. I ate both nights in the bar and the food was excellent on both occasions and arrived very quickly despite it being busy. I did feel sorry for the bar staff as there was only one person serving and lots of guests. Some did get irate and I have nothing but praise for the staff who remained calm and professional - I could not have done the same! When working away in Cardiff again,I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quiet and have recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear and it is only through receiving customer feedback that we are able to continually review and improve the services and facilities we offer. I will pass your kind comments to the team who will be pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay here. The staff are friendly and professional and the rooms are maintained to a high standard. There is lots of historical atmosphere, not least in the 12th century cellar restaurant.

We had two excellent evening meals in the bar. The lemon curd cheesecake is outstanding! We also enjoyed our breakfasts, from full cooked to pastries and toast.

Worthy of special mention are Louise and Nan, who both really went the extra mile when it came to customer service. We shall be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC_Hotel_Wales, Owner at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay and we're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit.

I'll make sure Louise and Nom (Naomi) see your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I wanted to take my otherhalf for a special 50th birthday meal out, and as we both like Cowbridge I booked a table at this restaurant as we have never dined there before.

We arrived about 20 minutes early and were led to our table as soon as we arrived. The Cellars Restaurant is very cosy with a lovely atmosphere. There was a special menu on offer on the Saturday night we were there in addition to the usual menu. We both chose our mains from the special menu and were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious, service excellent, staff very polite.

Visitors with mobility problems should note that there are a few steps to walk down in to the restaurant, but from what we experienced from our visit I am sure that the staff there would be more than helpful. Also, the restaurant itself does not have windows due to its location, but if you prefer to be outside there are tables and chairs at the front entrance on the main road, and there is a courtyard dining area at the rear of the hotel.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone, and can't wait to go back there for another meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC_Hotel_Wales, Owner at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Congratulations to your other half and thank you for leaving such a lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlech
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food here, the freshly cooked breakfast was particularly good. Our room, whilst quite spacious and bucket decorated with a good shower, had no view except a fire escape and a noisy air conditioning unit. Avoid room 12! It was dark and gloomy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naylor205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC_Hotel_Wales, Owner at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, but disappointed that you felt the room was dark and gloomy.

We have an on-going refurbishment plan and always try to ensure that every room at the hotel is of the highest standard. However, the Bear is an old coaching inn with many architectural challenges.

Your comments are invaluable to us and fixing the air conditioning unit will be a priority.
We hope this won’t discourage you from visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing