We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time visit”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Called in for Saturday lunch. Very interesting building with many twists and turns. It was very busy but our party managed to find a seat. Good choice on the light lunch time menu e.g. sandwiches, jacket potatoes and not too expensive. Good selection of real ale. Service was a little slow considering there appeared to be quite a few young waiting staff on duty. Meals had to be ordered at the bar but it would probably make more sense if your order was taken by one of the young staff rather than block up the bar area especially when there was only one person serving. Nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear and it is only through receiving customer feedback that we are able to continually review and improve the services and facilities we offer.

I will pass your comments about the poor bar service you received to our food & beverage manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We held our Wedding here in July 2013. The St Quentins suite is modern and the ideal space for a wedding. It allows all guests to remain in the one room, with the bar and also beautiful courtyard off this. The room is air conditioned which was ideal with the very warm weather.

The staff are excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The events team have won awards for the service they provide and rightly so. We visited The Bear on numerous occasions throughout the process of organising the wedding and every time all staff were polite and helpful.

Food was excellent. Guest commented on the high standard of food. We enjoyed all courses both on the day and in the taster session to decide the menu.

The guest rooms are more 'oldy worldy' but the bathrooms are very modern. The room was fine for what we needed.

Overall, the staff at The Bear made the day run very smoothly. I had so many guests commenting on the standard of food and the room. The Bear and St Quentins Suite were the perfect location for my wedding as it allows a high standard of service in a modern and functional space.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgendrachel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Conference & Banqueting Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the to post such a glowing review of your wedding held at The Bear earlier this year!

I was delighted to read your comments concerning the team, food & service and will be sure to pass these onto the rest of the team. Its always a pleasure & a privilege to be involved in the planning process of such a special day.

Wish us luck for the 2013 Wedding Awards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear Hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Third time we have stayed here, once for a New Year's Eve dinner, once for a wedding and the last time just for a night away.

The rooms are small and the last time we stayed they said they only had a small double available (we did book on the day so didn't have a problem with this). However, it appears that they gave us a single room as there was only one bath towel and only one packet of biscuits!!

There was also no water in the room and when I enquired as to why I was told that they don't provide bottled in a standard room. There was also no body lotion in the bathroom.

However, the breakfast was nice.

I wouldn't stay here again if there were other hotels available but there is nowhere else to stay in Cowbridge so one is restricted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

As you have visited us a few times now, we would like to let you know we have a new loyalty scheme starting in September where you can earn points to spend at one of our hotels in the Town & Country Group or at Oscars restaurants.

Also, keep an eye on our website for our great accommodation offers and treat yourselves to a luxury stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked in here following reviews read on Tripadvisor and Booking.com. It is a lovely old hotel and we booked a table for six for dinner. The food was excellent, great wine list and the staff were friendly and efficient. I would probably have given it 5 stars but.........

We arrived back from the wedding at 1 am, only to find the front door locked. Two other guests also turned up just after us and we did not get let in until 1.30 am, despite the fact that the bar was clearly open. The receptionist the following morning was a bit curt when we complained as well.

DON'T FORGET TO TAKE YOUR KEY IF YOU ARE RETURNING LATE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Our night porter locks the doors after midnight for security of the hotel. I am sorry you were not advised of this on check-in and could not get in.

On a positive, we are glad you enjoyed your evening meal, we pride ourselves on our freshly made food and it's always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to The Bear in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our son booked us into this hotel for one night and as a treat he paid for a high grade room. We arrived late after a very long day on the road, having notified the hotel that we wouldn't be there until 9pm. The receptionist was curt and there was no welcome, just sign here, here's your key, breakfast is at ....! The general appearance of the hotel is scruffy and in need of a good refurbishment. Our room was awful, a cupboard sized bathroom. The windows didn't open, the net curtains were on the floor and when putting them back up, were held up by a flimsy nail. I couldn't believe the room could be that bad. On checking out next morning the same miserable receptionist informed us that they had downgraded us, due to our booked room being in the middle of a wedding party and they thought it might be noisy. We weren't offered a choice or even told this until checkout, which we thought was appalling and I rather think it was a question of the wedding party wanting to be together than for 'our benefit'. The bill was obviously a lot less but that wasn't really the point
The staff in the bar were very friendly and in the dining room. Breakfast is a serve yourself, which is fine but it was very cold and offered no choice of egg, only scrambled.
Our son, who lives local and had heard good things about this hotel was really upset, that what was intended as a treat, definitely wasn't. When we visit we usually stay at the Travel Lodge and will most happily be doing so again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katieom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

I am sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with your stay. Customer feedback is important to us and we appreciate your comments.

I have sent a response to you in the post today.

At the Bear, we pride ourselves on our Warm Welsh Welcome, and I’m very disappointed to read that we didn’t hit the mark in areas we should have. I can only apologise for this and hope your next visit is a charm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst working away and I was very impressed with the location and friendly staff at the hotel. The night I arrived was chaotic to say the least as there was a primary school prom on but the check in staff were great! I had a room towards the back of the hotel which was well decorated and very peaceful. The overall deco is a little dated but this actually fits in with the charm and age of the hotel its self. I ate both nights in the bar and the food was excellent on both occasions and arrived very quickly despite it being busy. I did feel sorry for the bar staff as there was only one person serving and lots of guests. Some did get irate and I have nothing but praise for the staff who remained calm and professional - I could not have done the same! When working away in Cardiff again,I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quiet and have recently been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for posting your kind review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear and it is only through receiving customer feedback that we are able to continually review and improve the services and facilities we offer. I will pass your kind comments to the team who will be pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay here. The staff are friendly and professional and the rooms are maintained to a high standard. There is lots of historical atmosphere, not least in the 12th century cellar restaurant.

We had two excellent evening meals in the bar. The lemon curd cheesecake is outstanding! We also enjoyed our breakfasts, from full cooked to pastries and toast.

Worthy of special mention are Louise and Nan, who both really went the extra mile when it came to customer service. We shall be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC_Hotel_Wales, Owner at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay and we're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit.

I'll make sure Louise and Nom (Naomi) see your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
461 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
669 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
301 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range: £134 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing