We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The room was a nice size, clean and spacious. We didn't like the mattress, it was very soft and my husband woke up with an aching back. The hotel bar is nice and modern. The breakfast was good. I didn't like being in a separate building from the main hotel, it was raining when we were there which meant we had to run across to the main building. Also the front door of the building was not locked so anybody could get in from the back lane, we did have two keys so I'm not sure why it isn't kept locked.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the ones in the main building but they might be worth investigating if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    155
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
100
146
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here last weekend with friends whilst the food festival was in full flow. The welcome and help we received from Chrissie on reception was exceptional. Both of our bedrooms were modern and very comfortable. We were told when booking that one room was small but have to say we were very pleasantly surprised.My only complaint would be that the room on the second floor was very warm during the night even though we had the bedroom window open.
The restaurant food was excellent and very good value....our lunch, and evening meal were most enjoyable however breakfast was unfortunately understaffed for the volume of people staying which meant the buffet food lacked being replaced. Overall we had a great time and would definately visit again

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the second floor especially in summer as warm air rises and there was only one small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear and it is only through receiving customer feedback that we are able to continually review and improve the services and facilities we offer. I will pass your comments to Kristy, she will be pleased to read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel last night and although comfortable the rooms are tired and dated, they were totally unprepared for a full house at breakfast and waitress huffed and puffed when we asked for items on the buffet that had ran out, glasses for our juice and bread for toast.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with your stay.

Customer feedback is important to us and your comments will be actioned with the team.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to show this is not the normal standard of service evident at the hotel and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Called in for another pint and a wiskey after one in the duke, nice old hotel and bar but not as good as it once was in the sixties and seventies . There was a nice little cocktail bar at the far end where we called in on a Sunday evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value all feedback both the good and the not so good as it is only with this that we can further improve the product & service offered at The Bear Hotel, Cowbridge.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had our wedding reception here several years ago - It was lovely then - A perfect winter wedding venue really.

Went to meet a friend for evening dinner, and it still holds its charm. This is proof that period buildings do not need to be shabby and chilly but can indeed be cosy and well maintain.
The food is always excellent - highlighted by the its popularity at all times of day. It is worth waiting for a table just for the cake selection!

A treasure of the vale.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's always a pleasure to hear from our regular customers.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the venue for Weddings, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the Wedding Team who will be delighted to read them.

Keep an eye out on our website for accommodation offers and perhaps treat yourselves to an overnight stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The room was a little on the small size but size isn't everything and it was perfectly proportioned and fitted out - well equipped, clean & comfortable.
Being a bit of a "foodie" I do like to indulge in good food and wine and The Bear doesn't disappoint - each of the 4 nights I chose something different and each time I was more than satisfied so will certainly be staying here in the future

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Balcombeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for your kind review.

We pride ourselves on our freshly made food and it's always a pleasure to hear from our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Bear for a week visiting family and friends. Whilst it had been thirty years since we were last there, it has lost none of its charm. What made a big impression this time was the attentiveness and courtesy of the staff. One morning there was no plain yoghurt at breakfast, so one of the staff promptly went to a local grocery store to get some for us. Its a delightful old coaching inn dating back to the 1300's, so don't expect elevators, but the rooms are comfortable, and had been renovated to a very high standard. Cowbridge is a great location to stay and explore the beauty of Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our customers and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you're next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
395 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing