We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over the Easter break. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely; tastefully decorated and spacious, overlooking the main street.

We had drinks in the courtyard before dinner. A great sun trap in the warmer months!

Breakfast was decent, and probably the only thing that could be improved on.

Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank desigoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay at the Bear Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    146
    52
    19
    14
See reviews for
90
137
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Easter weekend 2014.
Nice hotel, a little dated, but ok.
Room (15) comfortable and roomy, although furniture and decor a little dated. Room curtains need looking at, won't close fully (pet hate!!!)
Shaving light in bathroom not working (reported). On the shower, beware! It sort of 'pulses' ( probably as it's on a large ring and the pump was struggling to keep up), however, this was accompanied by Luke warm to HOT!
Bar areas are nice with eclectic mix of furniture
Two main areas, sort of old and new.
There was a wedding function the night we were there, but noise levels were ok.
Cowbridge was quite quiet for an Easter Sunday, maybe it's always like this?
Breakfast was good

Positives:
Nice comfortable hotel
Large car park to rear (a sign post on the Main Street to this would be useful?)
Large paved beer garden area would be really nice on sunny days

Could do better:
Decor a little dated and tired, could do with a makeover


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank layton_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we value all feedback both the good and the constructive as it is only with this that we can further improve the service & product offered to our guests.

I have taken on board your comments concerning the decor and would like to make you aware that we are on a continuing refurbishment programme of the bedrooms & public area's at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited the Bear on Saturday evening, we arrived at 6 pm when the resturant opened, there was only my husband and myself in the resturant we ordered our meal but it didn't arrive until 6.50 which was unacceptable, we had to try and catch the attention of one of the waitresses to get another drink. My next door neighbour was going to the bear later that evening with family, and she said the waited 1 hour for their meal, and waited ages for drinks. Meal was good but don't think we'll be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time post your review, we appreciate all feedback both the good and the not so good as it is only with this feedback that we can further improve the service we offer to our customers.

I am sorry to hear that your experience when dining at the Bear Hotel was not a very positive one.

We do always have a Manager on duty and should you have any issues at all please ask to speak to the Duty Manager who will be very pleased to listen and assist in any way we can to rectify your issues.

I would value the opportunity to discuss your comments further with you and if you would wish to do so please contact me on 01446 774814 at your convenience.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

WE are here pratically every week the roast dinner is simply to die for & is consistent week in week out - serve some great beers & the staff are extremely helpful - we just love it & would highly recommended the roast beef

Room Tip: Go early to avoid a wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of the Bear Hotel and our Sunday Lunch. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team who will be delighted to read them.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I called in here for lunch on Saturday. A friendly staff member diverted us to the grill bar. Here a polite member of staff apologised for it being busy but offered us a table where possible. It was comfy and cosy, the food was reasonably priced and arrived in a decent amount of time. My girlfriend had gammon which was huge and I had the fish and chips. The only negative I have is that the plates and food could have been warmer, however for taste and portion size the meals were great. Will definitely visit again as had great value for money too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pindge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and tasty meal at the hotel, however I have taken on board your comments concerning the plates & food not being hot enough and will ensure that this is feedback is passed onto our Chefs.

Many thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Visited for coffee and lunch as part of a slimming group.Friendly staff trying their best to be helpful.Very little choice of healthy options lunch menu.Jacket potatoes with a choice of fillings,soup which was served luke warm to one group member,and caesar salad with a choice of meats.The chicken caesar consisted of six large limp lettuce leaves with approximately four ounces of chicken decorating the top of the salad,with croutons,and small pots of salad dressing and grated cheese.All this for the price of £9.95!!!
Left the restaurant still feeling hungry and very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadvaleofglamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value all feedback both the good and the not so good as it is only with this that we can further improve the service offered to our customers.

Your comments concerning your meal have been noted and passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in the Bear for a few weeks over the Xmas/New Year period. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. The hotel is a mix of old and new - I prefer the new so stayed in the annex at the rear of the building. There is a great on-site car park which gives easy access to the hotel and has a gate code so space is almost always available. Food here is a bit expensive for the menu but that's probably a reflection on the surrounding area that dictates pricing.
All in all, it's a 3 star hotel and a reasonably comfortable one at that!

Room Tip: Rear of hotel when nothing on in the function suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value all feedback given to the hotel as it is only with this that we can further improve for our guests.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall but am disappointed that you find out food offering over priced. All of our food is cooked fresh to order and we believe that our menu and pricing are fair for the product that we offer.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing