We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Venue”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended our friends wedding Anniversary at the Bear Hotel Cowbridge and the whole day was very enjoyable.

The food for the function was first class as was the sandwiches we had in the evening and the cooked breakfast the next morning and a credit to the Chef and his staff.

Our room in the main building was spotlessly clean and had tea and coffee if you required.

The outside areas and grounds are very well kept and the gardener has done a great job.

Thanks to all the staff for a great day out with friends and we would recommend the hotel and it facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the 1st June 2014 as part of a wedding party.

Parking is at the rear and could be difficult to find if you're not familiar with the area.

Once we had parked the check in was swift easy and the staff were very pleasant.

Our room was in the anex/separate building in the courtyard was was very clean, really spacious and had all of the things you'd expect such as tv, king size bed, en suite, wardrobe and desk if you needed it for business.

The function room was very well decorated and the BBQ buffet was excellent. Beer and wine reasonably priced and bar staff always smiling and happy to help.

Tip: If you do have a wedding here book your own DJ. The one they had was terrible and had nobody dancing.

The buffet style Breakfast is included with all rooms and was served in what I think is the restaurant? It has real character and looks like it is in the old cellar with arched ceilings. I loved it.

The breakfast is great with cooked breakfast (the sausages are good quality and meaty), toast, most cereals and juices and locally sourced yogurts which are amazing. The only thing was there are no beans to choose from, only tomatoes which I find strange? I also don't like tomatoes so it did spoil it a bit although overall it was all cooked well and tasted great too.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIESELindustry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My colleague and I were booked into the Bear Hotel for one night during a business trip. The hotel was excellent. Both our rooms were tastefully decorated and had good facilities. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. I had brought a travel iron along with me however there was one provided in room. The staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was good. What more can I say? I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for business.
Room very comfortable.
Food was great
Breakfast was great
All staff very friendly

But be warned this hotel is very popular for weddings. Whilst this didnt detract too much from the stay. I was in a room directly above the late bar overlooking the high street and one night the wedding crowd did get a bit loud and i could hear muffled singing. But despite this i did manage to get back to sleep

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank nickjenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback regarding functions at the hotel, we do frequently hold functions at the hotel and we do make all of our guests staying aware of this and do our utmost to ensure little or no disruption to other guests staying within the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Pleasant hotel stayed here many times on business. Stayed in the main hotel this trip but have been accommodated in the rear annex previously. This visit the room was clean and complete with a four poster. Bed was very comfortable but the room was very hot (outside temp wasn't heatwave). However good job I had to be up early as the 'dawn chorus' from the road was quite active from 05:30 onwards.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We value all feedback both the good and the not so good, it is only with this that we can further improve the service & quality we offer to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived in Cowbridge after 5pm and decided to see if we could stay at this hotel. We were a late walk-in and were offered Room 14 and were asked if we would like to look at the room before we finalised our decision. Well Room 14 is a very large well appointed room with a 4 poster bed with a view out across the high street. We stayed for 2 nights in this very comfortable hotel. We alos ate in the hotel both evenings and had very good bar meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team who will be delighted to read them.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked cellar restaurant for 14 people for a leaving party. I also booked a room to stay overnight. On arrival at reception met by a polite young lady,check in straightforward. Offered help with our bags. Small double room but adequate for one night. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
TV, tea/coffee making facilities, bathroom well stocked with soap etc.
Party met at 7.30 for dinner. Food pre-ordered, and although restaurant was full didn't have to wait long. Word of warning, the portion sizes are enormous! Food was delicious as were the desserts.
The waiting staff were rushed off their feet but still managed to keep smiling, they are a credit to the hotel.
Retired to the bar for drinks and again the bar staff were efficient and polite. Breakfast was hot/cold buffet style. Impressive range of food on offer, and again staff very attentive.
Will definitely visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choc-queen374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
198 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
303 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
7.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range: £79 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing