We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled down to Llantwit Major to stay with my wife's Brother & Sister in Law. During our visit they suggested visiting the farmers market and having Saturday lunch at The Bear. We arrived and ordered drinks which couldn't be charged to our table and had to be paid for separately. We ordered food with side dishes, after a wait the food arrived, and we had to ask for cutlery, salt and pepper. The side dishes arrived just when we had finished our meal. Food was OK but rubbish service. Would I go again No!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank melnev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that we disappointed you on this occasion. We do thank you for your feedback as we constantly work to improve on our standards of service.
We always endeavour to rectify the situation personally and would have loved to of had the opportunity to do that for you
We do hope that you will visit us again soon, to see our customer service improvements
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    146
    52
    18
    14
See reviews for
89
137
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent stay for a friends wedding, which was on the premises. Rooms in the old building and was a pleasant modern surprise when we opened the door.
Great how they have manage to mix old and new together so well. Great little extras in the room - toiletries & bottled water. And really comfy bed. Room was a little stuffy although it wasn't a really hot day outside.
Also, if I hadn't been a guest at the wedding I would not off been happy with the noise we could hear from our room. Maybe not the room for a quiet weekend away...........
Carpet a little old and dated in some public areas.

Room Tip: If you are not there attending a function - make sure you have a room away from the function suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the wedding festivities
We hope to welcome you back to The Bear Hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We as a family with friends recently arranged a birthday celebration for a Sunday meal at 6.00 pm.
The restaurant / bar area was very comfortable with a nice atmosphere and the bar staff were very welcoming and friendly.
We all decided to have a delayed Sunday lunch and the meal was served within a reasonable time. There was no preparation of the table before hand with cutlery not provided and were not provided with sauces(Apple and mint sauce)to compliment the meals and had to go and find a member of staff ask for these.
The meals consisted of beef, pork and lamb and the meat was not tender whilst the roast potatoes were hard and not crispy, the vegetables provided were however good,although only luke warm
We were therefore overall disappointed with our meals which should have been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, as without this we would not be able to improve our standards.
We are sorry that you left us feeling disappointed on such a special occasion and wish we could have rectified it for you on the day
We do hope to welcome you back to us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We came for lunch as non residents. A nice relaxing atmosphere, allowing you to relax and chat whilst waiting for your food to be cooked. All food is prepared to order but it was certainly worth the wait. The menu was varied and reasonably priced. Definitely worth a second (or even third or fourth!) visit. Plenty of space too so even though it was busy, it didn't feel crammed.

Room Tip: If you dine in the dining room, you get waitress service, otherwise you need to order yourself at th...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPaulandOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Bear, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited for lunch; good relaxing atmosphere, comfortable seating and large outdoor courtyard area. Drinks and food reasonably priced and varied menu; we had sandwiches which was served with side salad/coleslaw and chips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feed back, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us.
We hope to welcome you back to The Bear soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
201 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

You allow people to smoke electronic cigarettes where food is being served. Not really what you expect. I know their not illegal yet indoors but around food. Maybe some signs! Come on think of others at some point. !!!!!!!!!!!! ????????????

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank delyth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottD839, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we value all comments & we fully take on board your comments concerning the use of electronic cigarettes.

As a business we comply with all of the Smoke Free legislation, but currently this does not cover the use of electronic cigarettes. We do politely ask all of customers to refrain from the act of smoking, so should you come across this again please ask for the Duty Manager who will be delighted to assist.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The above title basically sums the place up. Good ambience, comfortable seating and reasonably priced drinks on tap made for a very relaxing evening. Lots of different types of seating areas both indoor and out. A varied menu and pricing that doesn't hurt the pocket. We had lasagne, chips salad etc and a salmon dish with new potatoes. Both meals were absolutely delicious and we would highly recommend the food. It's great when a plate of food both looks good and tastes good, makes you wonder how other places fail so miserably. Attentive waiting staff and all in all hard to find fault, well done the Bear! However, we went mid week and found that the brief wait period for service and later food service was not a problem but perhaps could have been on a busier evening.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
83Rachel, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Bear
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
372 reviews
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
347 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
118 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing