We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a different accommodation experience”
Review of Plas Llanmihangel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plas Llanmihangel
Ranked #5 of 8 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013. It certainly is different, and if you like chain hotel comforts don't stay here. We had a ball. Sue and David were very accommodating (even did some washing for us!), with lovely food and very understanding of the needs of children. We were shown 5 bedrooms in one wing of the house and were given our pick. We had 2 bathrooms to use, including a bath with a view. For Dr Who fans this house was used in a recent episode.

Good points - great experience in this ancient house. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts are very accommodating. Comfy soft beds and great views. Very quiet, but could hear the sounds of the hunt in the morning. Nice pub nearby for dinner and an easy drive to Barry island for some family fun. Breakfast in the hall is communal but enjoyable. Lovely garden to sit and enjoy (and chat to the sheep).

Not so good - bit of a drive our of Cardiff and we did get lost once, but the people we asked for directions seemed to be very used to this. Lots of stairs and low ceilings, as a building of this vintage would have, so watch your head. No wifi, and the thick stone walls makes internet difficult unless you're near a window.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Plas Llanmihangel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

You need to look at bed and breakfast differently at Sue and David's excellent home which they choose to share with appreciative guests. You are made to feel totally at home in the wonderfully original and ancient rambling historic property of Plas Llanmihangel. You won't get en-suite, no pesky plastic in-room tea and coffee facilities etc but you will get a warm welcome (even the cat welcomed us in the garden), a nice pot of tea on arrival, comfy quirky bedrooms and an excellent breakfast.
History surrounds you in every corner. The painstaking work Sue and David have carried out over the years is evident, as is their love art and antiques and their willingness to share this all with you. We fell we made some friends on our first visit and I know it won't be our last!

Room Tip: Mind your head in the some of low doorways!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

With Plas Llanmihangel you are buying an experience not just a night in a guest house. I booked this as a surprise for my American partner and so glad that I did. We were warmly greeted by Sue who immediately showed us the hall where we were to have supper and breakfast and then on to the parlour where it is like entering a friend's sitting room. Books, information, board games are next to family photos. Please, as other reviewers have stated, do not think for one moment your are going to find all the amenities of a modern hotel. This is a wonderful place run by the owners Sue and David, such a warm, lovely couple who you just have to wonder how they manage to run this house mainly on their own. They are a wealth of information regarding everything local. They will also amaze you with how they stumbled across this beautiful place and decided to make it their home and business. You can wonder around the grounds, sit in the back garden and take in this amazing place. Watch the sheep graze, wake to the sound of silence after a night of comfortable sleep in beautiful beds with proper sheets, blankets and covers. Cannot praise Sue and David enough, thank you for welcoming us in to your home and we promise to return.

Room Tip: Just let Sue know what your requirements are and she will find the best room to suit you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuePNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

If you want stay in a place with character and a quirky charm this historic manor house is the place.Sue and David where lovely very welcoming and friendly.Wonderful large dining room with oak panelling.Hidden away in the Welsh countryside this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inspectorclouseau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This house is just magical. My daughter and I loved staying there. It felt like living in a story book and becoming part of the history of the house. We loved the hidden staircases and ancient wood panelling and arched stone doorways. Sue and David are so friendly and relaxed that we felt as if we had come home to stay. On the first night Sue cooked us dinner. She decides on the day what she is going to cook. She just said it would be delicious, and it was! We had a whole downstairs wing to ourselves with two large bedrooms and a bathroom. My daughter adored her cosy four poster bed. The land around the house is beautiful and Sue also gave us the key to the tiny old church across the road so we could explore. Sue is full of information about the history of the house and the area and nearby castles. Each day we had a lovely chat about which castles to choose for the day. My memories of our visit are filled with the fragrance of fresh lilies and freesias and the sound of the piano and the feeling of being somewhere really special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

to walk in the world of people like famous Tudor William Cecil we go to a historic house or castle . In the home of Sue and David Beer you not only walk it but get to eat there and sleep there. Sue offered us an evening meal on booking and it was superb ( there was not a choice so perhaps alert her to taste or allergy) The woman is amazing late 70's and cooking up a storm. David is even older and has a wonderful sense of humour. Sue can entertain groups for meals for up to 40 and provide beds for 20 ( bathrooms shared) The place is quite beautiful and we had a wing to ourselves including a four poster at no extra charge. This is not the place to stay if you want an ipod dock or sky tv or even a ultra modern bathroom. It is the place to stay if you want a truly unique experience where you will be welcomed as a family member ( but not smothered) be fed delicious home cooked food and for your time there feel like you are king or queen of your very own castle . GO you wont regret it .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinkswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent a night at this historic fortified manor house tucked well away from the madding crowd. We were given a warm welcome by owners Sue and Dave and were shown our bedroom which was in one of the wings of this ancient house. The bedroom was delightful with period furniture and it even had a medieval loo which thankfully was not still in use! We were given an idea of the antiquity of the building as a welcoming pot of tea was produced. Breakfast next day in the central hall was well received and was as good a place to enjoy a breakfast as one could wish for. Do not expect all the comforts of a modern hotel but enjoy a unique experience at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: A sat nav may be useful. This is very isolated and signpost are few.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
0.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#2 of 8 in Cowbridge
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheepleys
Sheepleys
#3 of 8 in Cowbridge
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 4 in Cowbridge
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Llanmihangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Llanmihangel

Address: Cowbridge CF71 7LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Plas Llanmihangel Hotel Cowbridge
Plas Llanmihangel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing