We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offas Dyke pit stop”

The Lancaster Arms Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lancaster Arms Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Pandy B&B and Inns
Kinver, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Offas Dyke pit stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

In its favour - right on the national trail, very clean and Sandra and Keith are very welcoming. Offers hot evening meals, breakfast and packed lunch (there is no shop in Pandy to stock up from). Although no longer open as a pub the Guest house still has a well stocked bar for guests use. Against - traffic noise from the main road is irritating and portion sizes aren't over generous

Room Tip: A walk down to the Pandy Inn will offer wifi and an alternative for an evening meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersons103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were walking Offa's Dyke Path and had to stop at this B&B because it was at exactly the right place and could find no others with room in the area. Things got off to an excellent start - after a day's walking in driving rain, we needed to get our clothes dry. They had converted a room into a "drying room" enabling us and other walkers staying there to spread out our clothes. No ensuite in the room, but still had the most welcome bath possibly in my life! Later that evening, however, the dryer in the drying room was turned off, so in the morning everyone's clothes seemed even wetter than they were the night before. Add to this rather mediocre food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iolo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Literally only a few metres from the Offa's Dyke trail, so an ideal place for us to stop. Sandra and her husband are very welcoming, our room and the adjoining bathroom were spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water from both shower and bath (essential after 17 miles in 30 degree heat.!). Very good breakfast in the morning (they will also cook an evening meal on request.). Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effraruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stopped at the Lancaster Arms whilst walking Offa's Dyke path. Sandra and Keith were so friendly. Lancaster Arms stopped being a pub back in 2006 but it has retained a country pub look. We were told that there are 2 other pubs in Pandy about 10-15 minutes walk. We had walked enough today so decided to stay there to eat and drink which was a good decision. Had excellent Veggie Lasagne + dessert for £11.00 each - good food and good value .
Room was comfortable although a little noisy as close to main road - hot day and had windows open though. Next morning rejoined OD path which was literally few yards away.

Room Tip: We booked early and got double en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed at the Lancaster Arms yesterday for one night as we were walking the Dyke. We received a very warm welcome from Sandra who is also a dog lover and was lovely to our old black lab poppy! Derek came back soon after and was just as welcoming! We had a drink in the lovely lounge and bar and Sandra booked us a table at the pub up the road for our evening meal (although she did kindly offer to cook for us also.)Our room was lovely and roomy with a big bathroom next door. We had a meal then returned for a couple more drinks and a lovely chat in the lounge/ bar again. Derek took our orders for breakfast and they also made us a packed lunch with the best welsh cake I have tasted in a longtime! The next morning was another very hot day and Derek and Sandra offered to look after Poppy until we got back from our walk which was very kind! They could not have been more helpful - i would thoroughly recommend both the Lancaster Arms and its lovely hosts! Thank you both!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah504106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I arrived a bit wet having walked Offa's Dyke. Sandra and Derek welcomed me and helped with my wet gear. I then had a drink and chat with them. My twin room was fine with a bathroom next door. I ate an evening meal which was tasty and Derek dropped me down to the local pub. Breakfast was fine. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed here whilst walking Offa's Dyke. Sandra made us really welcome and as we were shattered offered to make us an evening meal.
We had a lovely night sat in her lounge which has its own bar!
Had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed and a good breakfast. Sandra arranged for our luggage to be transported to our next stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_12019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandy
5.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#1 of 3 in Pandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.3 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lancaster Arms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Arms Guest House

Property: The Lancaster Arms Guest House
Address: Old Hereford Road, Pandy, Abergavenny NP7 8DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pandy
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country licensed guest house, situated on Offas Dyke footpath. Good home cooking and Friendly welcome guaranteed. Located on the A465 in the village of Pandy just 6 miles northeast of Abergavenny, ideally placed for exploring the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons and Offas Dyke Footpath. The market towns of Ross-on-Wye and Monmouth and the city of Hereford are only a short journey away.Accommodation consists of 1 double and 2 twin rooms, with different views of The Skirrid Mountain and the Black Mountains. Popular with walkers / ramblers for its accommodation and Sandras home made food. Other facilities include:Luggage transfer Packed lunches for walkers Garden Darts board, Pool table Board games, Cards and crib board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lancaster Arms Guest House Pandy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing