We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
53
17
4
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
17
4
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rising sun the pub sunday carvery beef turkey mashed potatoes bank holiday weekend shower and toilet facilities children's play area cannot fault evening meal good size clean facilities excellent value for money friendly owners well worth a visit walking offa's dyke
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Visited last summer and decided to go back and stay in the rooms this time. Clean and well maintained rooms, lovely pub with a good selection of beers and a lovely couple who run the bar. Stayed in all Saturday night drinking and playing darts. kids enjoyed the play area and we're looked after at meal times. Great weekend will go back when we visit Wales again

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank kimmadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a family weekend . Staff were lovely and friendly. We stayed in the rooms above the pub as it was too cold to camp. They were clean and well maintained. The whole place has a good atmosphere and was good value for money.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Steph2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Well where to start. We were booked into this campsite for our rugby tour 10 families in total. We were meet with a blocked entrance on enquiring why we were meet with racist remarks. The weekend didn't get much better. We were spied upon and spoke to like we were trash. On several occasions I was spoken to like a small child. One enquires about the site we were advised that electric was free, that the children could play ball games and there was no mention of not being able to use gazebos. One of the nights we were there the rain was so bad that several of the tents got wet so these famines had to sleep in cars. Gazebos were brought along to stop this from happening.

These people need to learn so manners as well as customer services skills as we were truly made to feel unwelcome.

Would not recommend to anyone and certainly would not return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Upon arriving at the campsite , we was met with the owners car blocking the entrance ( which was the case for our whole stay) not a great first impression!
We had to go inside the pub to ask can they move their car each time we wanted to come in or out... Seeing as we were a large group which consisted of 12 families that was quite annoying!
I camp every year and I have never met such rude, arrogant n bad customer service in an owner... With numerous phone calls prior to our stay , they were aware we was a rugby team on tour , with over 25 children. However , once there, the children were told that ball games were banned from the field, as were gazebos ! During one of the phone calls we explained that we were having a fun/games day with various balls/toys and they said that was ok n there would be plenty of space for that to happen! Quite the opposite! There was a park on site which was handy for the kids. But when a few of them was using the facilities in the park, they were asked to get off the swings n leave the area as the owner thought she was to old for them ! (She was 12)
Our 3 night stay made them over £760 just for the pitches, without the amount taken over the bar . Maybe they should treat their guests/customers with a little bit more respect!

We will def not be returning again n would never recommend if you have children .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank mummyjojo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Had 2 days here with a large group, was on a kids rugby tour, from the minute of arrival, the entrance 2 the campsite field was blocked off by a car, every time we wanted 2 go in or out of the campsite we had 2 ask at the bar 4 the car 2 b moved, on the Sunday morning we needed 2 get 2 the tournament early, after asking 4 the car 2 b moved, we waited over 10 minutes b4 the cars horns going off got her out.......
The owner was rude, made some nasty comments (which I won't repeat) and was constantly spying on us thought a top window......
On the Sunday night the bar closed at 8.30pm......
No gazibos were aloud.....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank pembswayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews