We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned charm”

Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Pandy B&B and Inns
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Interesting little place. As mentioned by other reviewers, Keith was a keen host and lost no time in sharing his enthusiasm for local history, the house and places to eat and drink in the area. The room itself was a little dated in its appearance and the electric shower lacked any power. That said, wifi was available. Breakfasts were great but I see what another reviewer meant about the harp music. In an old house you can expect creaky floorboards when people are moving around during the night so be warned.
The area in the vicinity of the house is superb for walking and the village has 3 pubs and a hotel all within 15 minutes walk (just take a torch for the walk back if it's dark).

Room Tip: Room 2 (Victorian) is above the dining room and below the owners' room so be prepared for some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

You will have an unforgettable stay here. It starts with the 1/2 mile yomp up the driveway to this spooky looking place !

The owner (Keith) is a man who knows what he likes and likes what he knows. Long suffering other half is pleasant but seems to wear long suffering perma grin.

Rooms are fine if a little dated (1973 to be precise).

Harp music is played loudly whilst you butter your morning toast and you are then compulsory frog marched to a musty old book to read about the house's history and then marched off again to sign the guest book. I don't think writing 'Keith is mad' would of been an option.

l liked it, girlfriend couldn't wait to escape..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaerials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed in the self catering flat beneath the bed and breakfast, called "the retreat". The kitchen diner was lovely - new and well equipped. The bathroom had an absolutely lovely, big shower with good water pressure. Unfortunately though, both the bathroom and the bedroom had no windows and so they were very dark and slightly depressing. We didn't sleep in the bedroom as a consequence and used the sofa bed in the kitchen diner. There was allocated parking and a small outdoor patio (with table and two chairs) where we had a little BBQ.

The kitchen has lots of utensils, plates and cutlery etc, but no condiments and/or extras, so come well stocked! Waitrose and tesco is nearby in Abergavenny.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medical154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2010

It was a bit difficult to find our way, but once we were there, we were treated to an extraordinary stay. Keith and Carol are most welcoming and anxious to make our stay memorable. They are more than willing to share their knowledge of area history as well as local amenities, from where to get the best food, to where to get the best beer. Keith's breakfasts are a dining delight. It was our last night in Wales, and a most pleasant memory.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmildew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We arrived from Orlando Florida and loved the restful atmosphere of this B&B. Our host and hostess were a world of information regarding the surrounding area, where to eat, hike, enjoy the countryside. Also gave us other information we asked for including local history, geology, maps to direct us around. Coming from the USA, we loved the helpfulness of the owners. I would highly recommend to anyone from another country with little local knowledge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We chose this B&B for it's location and value. Did not know what to expect when we got there. Run by quite friendly couple and helpful in most ways one can imagine. If you are expecting a 'leave me alone I am the guest' treatment or if you are a 'touch me not' and cringe at people contact - forget it. They are friendly and they will talk to you and the owner Keith will tell you about the local history. Anyone there will do the same. We felt very much at home there. The property is offset from the road and that is it's greatest plus point. If you don't like walking and hate single track roads this is not for you. Dont believe your TomTom - it will lead you astray - use a map instead. My family and I do intend to go back there provided we get the opportunity - especially for walking on to Offas Dyke pathway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristleWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mönchengladbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

First of all, Brynhonddu is not my first B&B and will definitely not be the last one. During several other stays in the UK, I was always satisfied with other B&Bs and happy to receive such a warm welcome so that I am still definitely convinced that this is the best way to travel through the country. However, now I had to learn that bad examples might meet you on your way as well.

When we arrived, our host and hostess had some heavy renovation works done in their „beautiful“ 16th century house (bluntly speaking, to us it did not seemed to be well-kept). Walls were painted and the smell of paint was penetratingly, especially in the breakfast room. The carpet in the hall was covered with dust, some doors were missing and wall paint tins were stored in the kitchen next to the fridge.

Our room, though small, was clean and tidy so that I of course didn’t want to object and decided not to complain first of all.

However, a bad surprise followed the next day - when we returned to our accomodation a little earlier as probably expected, we found out that renovation works unfortunately did not stop in front of our room. After entering the room we only had to discover that our stuff was poorly covered by a bed sheet, as some cableworks and drilling was just being done in our room. To us, however, they never ever wasted a word on that!

Even though, the landlady explained that a change of the room was not possible, as some other guest were to arrive (I suppose some family members, as they told us that we were the only guests and that their son would visit them two days afterwards). They suggested to reduce the amount due, however, after that we definitely had enough and left.

Eventually, I just can join some of the others, also with regard to the landlord who seemed to us rather strange, and say NEVER AGAIN Brynhonddu, but UK again and again ;-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffsgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pandy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandy
5.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
7.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
479 reviews
7.8 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pandy
19 reviews
5.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bwlch Trewyn Estate, Pandy, Abergavenny NP7 7PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast Pandy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing