We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabins, relaxing atmosphere, family-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glacier View Cabins
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our family has stayed here twice now and we love it. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but that's not what you want here in the Kootenays anyway. The cabins are quaint, clean and equipped with everything you need. The former gravel parking lot has been replaced with grass so kids can play lawn games or you can enjoy eating your meals outside at the picnic tables. The lake is a short walk away. The owners are friendly and helpful, and very knowledgeable about area hikes and activities. Overall, it's a relaxing stay in the quiet Kootenays. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAnnS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

These cabins have been taken over by a young friendly couple with children. They are working hard to upgrade their property. Recently they fenced the parking lot in the front and planted grass. It is a great place for children to play safely and for the adults to sit outside and visit if they wish.

We stayed here for a wedding in Silverton and had a lovely time. The cabins are plain but had everything we needed although our friends with children said the extra bed in their cabin made it a bit cramped.

We were supplied with fresh locally roasted coffee and had a full size fridge and cooking facilities in our cabin. The cabins are not on the lake but it is an easy walk through the quaint village of New Denver. A highlight to visit is The Nikkei Internment Memorial Centre (in memory of the internment of Japanese Canadians during the Second World War) at the other end of the village.

Staying at Glacier View Cabins is like visiting friends. There is little formality. Sara was hosting a friend and her children in the yard for the afternoon and Trevor was putting a roof over the picnic tables. When we have grandchildren we want to stay here. I think it is a work in progress and fits in perfectly with the serene and leisurely pace of the Kootenays!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #4 in a queen bed.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Maryjean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

These cabins were probably quite nice about 25 years ago, but they could use some sprucing up now. They have a musty/ mildew smell that permeates everything. The parkay flooring is dated as well as all the furniture. Having seen inside two cabins, it looks as though everything was purchased at garage sales - a long time ago. One cabin had missing pictures - obvious because the hooks were still on the wall. There was a decent area rug on the floor in one cabin, while the other cabin had a bare floor. No washcloths in either bathroom. No bathtub - just a small dark shower. When the toilet was flushed, the drain in the sink gurgled. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was flat. No air conditioning. Needed a good dusting to get rid of the spider webs. The doors & walls need to be scrubbed to get rid of dirty fingerprints. The outside needs some good maintenance as well. There was junk in between the cabins that should be hauled away, and the yard could be tidied up. On a positive note, the owner was very nice & helpful – and perhaps just too busy with household responsibilities to properly take care of the cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ourroadtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierCabins, Front Office Manager at Glacier View Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Glacier View Cabins were first built in the 1950's and were known as Rowe's AutoCourt. The cabins were completely rebuilt from the studs up in 1996 including rewiring, plumbing etc. Since we took over in 2005 we have removed a lot of the furnishings that were cluttering up the cabins, repainted them completely and hung my wife's photographs of the New Denver area on the walls. Sara works as a professional wedding photographer (www.rainfoto.com) in the area and also sells the local photographs as framed prints (http://kootenayexperience.smugmug.com/Kootenay-Locations/Glacier-View-Room-Framed/5057536_2RTRL4) which does explain why sometimes there are prints missing. We did complete a complete renovation of the exterior garden over the last three years moving the parking lot from right in front of the cabins out to the road and making a 60x100 ft green space with gazebo, gardens, white fence in front of the cabins perfect for group functions, barbeques, quiet space, etc. as well as lowering the temperature in the area significantly on the hot days. The lawn has completely grown in now and our guests are enjoying this benefit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Ok for our needs on a bike trip. Pillows were completely flat. Last saw a TV like this in the 80's. Owner/operator seems pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMoCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Glacier View Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier View Cabins

Address: 426 8th Ave, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in New Denver
Price Range: £53 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glacier View Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cabins are clean, quiet, and close to all of the amenities and activities in New Denver and Slocan Lake. All of the cabins are equipped with a full kitchen including all pots, pans and cutlery. Comfortable beds with duvets and a TV make this a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Glacier View Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing