We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience!”
Review of The Domes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Denver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Domes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just spent my first night here and was so impressed. A European experience in the beautiful West Kootenays! So much value for the money - I have booked again for the Thanksgiving weekend. I talked to the owner last night, and was so pleased to see the focus on customer comforts and satisfaction. It is an experience I hope to have many times in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannieoakly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights in July 2013, saw the images and reviews and decided to leave Nelson for New Denver.
This place is AMAZING! Nice, clean, "everything" you need is there. The design of the domes is fun/funky and VERY functional, the furnishings (part from the log beds) areall IKEA (not a bad thing) and the people you meet here are just friendly. The grounds are nicely manicured and "peaceful". It is private, yet close to everything.

There is no A/C here - one concern for us traveling with dogs when we heard about temps in the upper 90ies - but it all worked out great. Open up over night and air it out, close up during the day and the domes will provide you with a very comfortable environment. The dogs LOVED the cool concrete floor in the domes after coming back from a hike.

Place has a very nice hot tub and BBQ behind the main lodge, there is (for those staying in rooms) a small communal (very clean) kitchen with access to fridge, coffee maker, micro, etc.The upstairs of the main lodge is a large open and airy library/reading room. Great area to meet fellow travelers, enjoy looking at maps, reading about the construction of the domes , or just "hanging out".

Unless you come with a large RV, there is ample parking, and once you have parked, you really do not need to touch the car again as long as you hang in New Denver. Everything is within walking distance.

I am borderline questioning to publish this review, as if the "Dome" (and New Denver) gets too much business, the amazing tranquility of this place is gone...

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong anywhere here. Be nice to Joan and her staff, and they will tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellcraft19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very funky and unique property. Owner is very accommodating and happy to share her knowledge of the area - places to eat etc. Our 2 story unit was more than we needed in terms of space (just my husband and I) nicely appointed with anything you need - if it isn't in the unit, they will lend it to you from the lodge. Must see the Japanese Internment museum while there- very well done. All in all , we will be back when we return to cycle more of the Galena Trail.

Room Tip: I think any of these domes are equal- I didn't stay in the lodge so can't speak to that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynneFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Villa Dome Quixote for two nights in July, 2013, and we can say without reservation that the excellent reviews recorded by others are entirely warranted. The two storey unit that we occupied was perfectly clean and tidy, furnished with all that we needed, and close to "downtown" New Denver. There is a beauty and peacefulness to the gardens on this property which we enjoyed by sitting and reading on the patio next to our cottage. We plan to go back to New Denver next year, and the Villa Dome Quixote will be our first choice of accommodation in this lovely village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda and Bill ... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 5 years. The villa is an absolute gem. Unique architecture combined with a peaceful atmosphere exemplifies that one must slow down in the Kootenays.

The room was simple but clean and well appointed. No tv in the whole hotel which means you are guaranteed less screen time. There is wifi however. There are no real amenities in the room ( no fridge or microwave) but there is a common kitchen area with fridge and oven giving it almost a hostel like feel. There are detached cottages but I did not see inside one of them to comment.

There is a sauna and an outdoor hot tub.

The only challenge I can see is the booking procedure. Given the sleepy town of 500 residents, this is a small outfit with no 24 hr staffing. When booking I played phone tag leaving messages and also delays with email communication. It would be nice if they had an online availibility calendar, or a secure way to book online.
Other than that I am sure we will be back here as it is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jengweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Absolutely outstanding and unique. Great service, cleanliness, etc. etc. etc. I could not recommend Villa Dome highly enough. If you are looking for a spot to spend a night or two in New DenverI would highly recommend one of the domes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Upon a recommendation we stayed at this lovely property. The service, the amenities and rooms were nothing like I have ever seen. A short walk down the street puts you at the lake and the main street of town.
The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. There is a definite pride in ownership at this unique hotel.
Be sure to put it on your bucket list when visiting New Denver, there is nothing like it anywhere else!

Room Tip: Only some rooms have internet, be sure to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Denver
21.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#1 of 2 in New Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 2 in New Denver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Domes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domes

Property: The Domes
Address: 620 6th Avenue, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New Denver
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domes consist of four unique dome cottages located in the heart of the West Kootenay, a short walk from the shores of pristine Slocan Lake. Each unit is self-contained, has relaxing curved interior spaces, a boutique decor and its own patio area with landscaped gardens. Set in the village of New Denver, The Domes are within walking distance of all village amenities: the network of hiking and cycling trails, kayak and board rentals, cafes, boutiques, galleries, museums and food stores. The property has beautiful views of the Valhalla and Selkirk Mountain Ranges, is central to three provincial parks and is located on two scenic loop drives. The Domes provide a friendly base from which to get out of the box and explore the historic West Kootenay region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing