We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Dome Quixote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Denver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Dome Quixote
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed one night here at this little gem in the Slocan valley. It was quiet and very clean and relaxing. We enjoyed a walk to the little shops and to Greer Park which is spectacular. If I was to make a suggestion it would be to bring snacks and drinks as the restaurants close early or are closed for the season. There is a grocery store if you want to cook in your dome. We were given a cord to hardwire our laptop and were able to watch a movie but another suggestion would be to bring your own, a longer cord. Also, bring shampoo etc. as it's very minimal. The hot tub and sauna were welcomed after a long drive and were very clean. Management was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were kept very tidy. It is a very nice get-a-way. There is also a wonderful hike along the lake to an old cabin. The Mori Trail is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed only one night in dome # 3 while passing through New Denver. This property is spotless inside and out. The property is located in the center of town and is within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Don't expect to find much in New Denver as it is a very small village. The gardens surrounding the domes are beautiful and afford guests privacy. Check in was quick and the clerk gave us a tour of the property and explained the use of the communal kitchen and spa. Our dome was very private and we enjoyed a late night tea party as well as an early morning breakfast on our private patio. With that said, we were a bit disappointed with the interior of the dome. The floor is painted concrete (cold and hard to walk on in bare feet)although there are a few scatter rugs here and there. The inside is very spacious as well as the bathroom. The three cornered shower was a bit small and crowded. I am not sure why the bed had no box springs, but it was not very comfortable and we didn't sleep well as a result. In addition, it was very hot inside, although the temperature dropped to in the 50'sF, and we had all the windows fully open. The small kitchen was adequate although we only fixed hot drinks. We were not pleased with the reading material that was placed in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Dome Quixote and it was just as good as the first. The place is just as quaint as the photos of it depict. For the most part it is very quiet (aside from the occasional motorcycle coming down Victoria Street in front of the resort). The hostess gave us a map and reviewed the main amenities and activities in New Denver. Even though the resort was full, the hot tub and sauna was never used which was great. Both the sauna and hot tub were kept very clean. The cabin was also clean, fully equipped with a kitchen and utensils and had a small private patio surrounded by high perennial plants. The garden on the property was also beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad-Sexington-IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom in the main building. Very clean and quiet, wonderful staff. There is a communal kitchen fully equipped that one can use. If you want TV and big rooms, this place is not for you, not much room for luggage in the small rooms. Location is perfect and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room #10 in the main lodge is the biggest room, double and single bed by the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

we booked 2 nights here only because they were full the nights before and after. once we'd checked in and stayed our 2 days we were very much lamenting that we couldn't have called sooner in the year and gotten more nights in this WONDERFUL cottage and town! the cottage is spacious and clean and sweet. the little patio outside it was so enjoyable as well. we had no cell service and only internet in the main building so life slowed way down. so good. the hot tub looked wonderful but we were there on hot days so did not use it - next time! you can make your own meals in the tiny kitchen and use BBQs but we ate in town instead. there are a few neat restaurants, a lake to kayak on and swim in, fun shops to browse, and a bike trail nearby that can't be beat for interesting (galena mountain biking trail). although the price of the cottage was abit higher than our budget for 2 weeks in hotels, we gladly paid the bill and hope we can come back sometime. we LOVED our time in New Denver!

Room Tip: if you can stay in a cottage and not in the main "lodge", you get your own patio, etc. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

PROS: Super service, beautiful scenery, simple necessities, common areas are nice, sauna, hot tub, no tvs clocks or phones.

CONS: We knew to expect the minimalism but felt it was just kind of cheap. The beds are like futons, the furnishings are like a dorm room, the bathroom vanity looks homemade and did not even have room for a toiletries bag, the shower was tiny. We were in a room in the main dome and it was like staying in a bedroom.

If we ever stayed here again we would try and stay in a private dome, and probably bring our own pillows.

Room Tip: Stay in a private dome if you are looking for privacy. Stay in the main dome if you want to socializ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just spent my first night here and was so impressed. A European experience in the beautiful West Kootenays! So much value for the money - I have booked again for the Thanksgiving weekend. I talked to the owner last night, and was so pleased to see the focus on customer comforts and satisfaction. It is an experience I hope to have many times in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannieoakly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Denver
21.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#1 of 2 in New Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 2 in New Denver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dome Quixote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dome Quixote

Property: Villa Dome Quixote
Address: 602 6th Avenue, Highway 31a, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New Denver
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing