We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect place to relax or to explore”
other travellers have booked this property
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Enjoy the perennial flowers and the butterflies they attract
Fresh new bedding on the foam-topped Queen-size bed in Master Bedroom
Kitchen features a cafe table with stools for a bite of breakfast or a quick snack
Kitchen with fridge, stove, double sink, lots of cupboard space, dishes, utensils and cookware
Cozy pillow-top double bed in second bedroom
Stay cool in the shade of the covered porch on a hot sunny day
Queen bed in luxurious master bedroom (with en-suite bathroom)
Dining room with a glass-top table for 4 plus a bench for 2 more, plus games and books
Rock on... at The Cottage in Hills
Main floor bathroom with sink, toilet, tub/shower and lots of plush towels
Enjoy marshmallow-roasting at the outdoor fireplace
Covered porch with room for dining and relaxing
The Cottage in Hills is a 1300 sq. ft. vacation cabin for 5 (sleeps 6 in a pinch)
Our sign... this way to The Cottage in Hills
View from the Cottage; winter sunset.
Winter is wonderful at The Cottage in Hills.  Plentiful fire wood provided for the wood stove
World-class X-C ski trails
Summer time and the livin' is easy at The Cottage in Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judy P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to relax or to explore”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cabin has everything you will need to self cater. No need to bring anything except food and clothing. Lovely private setting looking up into the snow-capped mountains. Cabin is very clean and grounds are lovely...peonies were in full bloom during our stay. Owners are very prompt at answering questions before arrival and very helpful in giving directions and making suggestions when asked. We enjoyed hiking and biking while there but boating is also possible nearby.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Yes, the cottage is the perfect spot for outdoor enthusiasts. Hiking, biking, walking and exploring are available right from the front door and the beach is only 3 minutes away. Judy, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back to visit us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and the beds were good. The kitchen was well stocked. Our hosts were very helpful in suggesting things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thank you from both of us at the Cottage in Hills. My husband and I spent a considerable amount of time providing these guests with directions, local knowledge, and hands-on support, we are glad that made your visit enjoyable. There are so many great things to do around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conal A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful home. It is clean, fresh, has good beds, and has everything you need including a fantastic front porch to enjoy the view from. We found our host a lovely caring person who was always conscious of our privacy and made sure our needs were met. The location is convenient to New Denver and Nakusp. We brought our mountain bikes and road along the Galina Trail. The views are well worth the fun and easy ride. The house does not have service for cell phones! How awesome is that! I was unable to work at all ...yeah! Living in a farm environment was a really nice change. Thank-you Lorna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your break from work and city pressures.
Most guests get cell reception just outside the cottage a few steps up the road. A good balance: guests can check in with family if need be, but can disconnect from work and other distractions, "sorry boss, no cell service where we were staying." Thanks for your kind review, we do work hard to ensure the cottage is clean and pleasant for our valued guests. Please come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experienc...
2 reviews
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

One of the best winter vacation experiences! We definitely wish to come again, the view from the cottage is stunning beauty! The deer came everyday to our door to the delight of our daughter. Everything was perfect for us. Thank you so much Lorna and Wayne!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
So glad everything was to your liking and that you enjoyed our "winter wonderland" weather in our lovely cottage tucked into the forest. Please come and stay with us again soon... the deer are waiting for their apples!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
time2trav...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family getaway”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our short stay - fly fishing, hiking, kayaking and just savouring 'down time' in your beautiful cabin. We will certainly recommend your cabin to others and would love to stay again if we're in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Glad we could host your family. You definitely made the most of the amazing outdoor recreation opportunities in this area. Our beautiful mountains and big, clean lake are world-class. Hope you will stay with us again. Best regards, - Lorna V., Manager, The Cottage in Hills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDG_11
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So much attention to detail has been given to make this the perfect spot to get away from it all. The cottage is nestled in its own private space tucked away off the beaten track in Hills, BC yet was easily accessible. Lorna and Wayne were the perfect hosts, checking in with us now and then, and providing us with lots of information to make our two week stay an easy and restful one.

The cabin is well appointed with everything you could possibly need for a home away from home. Comfortable beds, cozy fireplace and great music. Internet and WiFi are available a short distance from the cottage if you really need to connect - it was actually great fun sitting on the bench by the chicken coop and have the hens join in the conversation I was having with my daughter!

We enjoyed fabulous walks along Slocan Lake and quick trips into Nakusp and New Denver to get any supplies we needed. Being able to put our feet up and read a favourite book was a great treat but most of all we really enjoyed the magic of just sitting on the porch and watching the constantly changing mountain scenery. Early morning visits from the deer, bunnies and an occasional bear completed the perfect getaway for us.

Highly recommend this lovely little spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and the view
Liked least: The only thing I would add if I had the choice would be a sofa by the fire so we could have cozied up together!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
It's great when guests enjoy and appreciate the cottage so much. I hope you don't mind my mentioning that we also welcomed your two dogs who loved gamboling around on the lawn in front of the cottage as well as lengthy walks on our forested trails. Thanks for your comments, we hope you will visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly V
1 review
“1st Class Accommadation in the Woods”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had an amazing Honeymoon thanks to Lorna and Waynes perfect Cottage in Hills. With all the amenities needed in the Cottage and wonderful places to visit nearby. Restaurants and the Grocery Store had all are needs and good food to boot. We enjoyed sitting by the fire and snuggling in the warm comfortable bed. We visited several Lakes, rivers and creeks, seen the salmon still spawning. Mountain roads where we found bike trails and beautiful views for hiking. Waterfalls that we want to come back to visit and we got to see the migration of thousands of baby toads at Beaver Lake. So much to see, we will be back to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion and felt like home.
Liked least: cell service is sporatic but liked this too.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
We're delighted that you and your hubby had great experiences during your honeymoon stay with us and that a bit of rain didn't stop you from exploring our beautiful area and having fun outdoors. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope you'll come back soon.
-- Lorna, Manager of The Cottage in Hills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing