We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Enjoy the perennial flowers and the butterflies they attract
Fresh new bedding on the foam-topped Queen-size bed in Master Bedroom
Kitchen features a cafe table with stools for a bite of breakfast or a quick snack
Kitchen with fridge, stove, double sink, lots of cupboard space, dishes, utensils and cookware
Cozy pillow-top double bed in second bedroom
Stay cool in the shade of the covered porch on a hot sunny day
Queen bed in luxurious master bedroom (with en-suite bathroom)
Dining room with a glass-top table for 4 plus a bench for 2 more, plus games and books
Rock on... at The Cottage in Hills
Main floor bathroom with sink, toilet, tub/shower and lots of plush towels
Enjoy marshmallow-roasting at the outdoor fireplace
Covered porch with room for dining and relaxing
The Cottage in Hills is a 1300 sq. ft. vacation cabin for 5 (sleeps 6 in a pinch)
Our sign... this way to The Cottage in Hills
View from the Cottage; winter sunset.
Winter is wonderful at The Cottage in Hills.  Plentiful fire wood provided for the wood stove
World-class X-C ski trails
Summer time and the livin' is easy at The Cottage in Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adalziel1
Regina, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family spent 7 nights at the cottage. The pictures don't do it justice and our experience far exceeded our expectations. The hosts were great and we enjoyed the surrounding towns, lakes, beaches. The cottage felt like home...was quiet, relaxing and private. I would recommend to family and friends and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
We so enjoyed hosting your lovely family and seeing how much you all embraced the natural wonders of this beautiful region. Days at the beach, collecting rocks, going for nature walks, seeing a deer on the property... so glad you could embrace all of that.
Our objective is to provide "country solace for city folks" so please plan to visit us again soon. - Lorna, Manager, The Cottage in Hills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpj748
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Everything that we expected and more”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cottage in Hills was a perfect family vacation. We enjoy the outdoors and the location was ideal for canoeing, swimming, hiking, whitewater rafting, zip lining and just enjoying the nearby lake. At the end of the day it was a perfect place to unwind, enjoy supper and watch the deer walk by your front yard. It was spotless clean. Lorna was a gracious host and the Cottage felt like home. We didn't want to leave but unfortunately all good things come to an end.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
So glad the cottage felt like home. We've tried to ensure lots of homey features are in place: a soothing porch swing, a bureau full of old-school board games and puzzles, 200+ movies, a fully outfitted kitchen, and a covered porch for outdoor meals and relaxing with a view.

It makes us happy to know you had a good time. Please come back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Quiet paradise with soaring snow-capped mountain views”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a luxury version of "roughing it" in an off-the-beaten-path mountain retreat with ease of access; the photo doesn't do the cabin justice. Inside it is modern, squeaky clean and charming; it's near abundant summer-swim-able lakes and more trails than there is time to hike them. The views are world class with clean air and peaceful woods; the beds are great, bathroom clean and complete, the kitchen has everything you need, a great deck with a porch swing. It's warm in the summer in this part of the world but that's what the lakes beautiful lakes are for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Yes, the lake is one of the great things about the Cottage in Hills -- only three minutes to Slocan Lake! No matter how hot the summer day, a swim in Slocan Lake is guaranteed to beat the heat. Glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back to visit us again soon. I'll work on getting a better photo of the cabin - time for a drone shot I think!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KikiAugus...
Creston, Canada
1 review
“An enchanting retreat for the city-weary”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Cottage in Hill, B.C. is a veritable tonic. Built with its backside against a mountain, this immaculate cottage looks out upon a vista of gardens, lawns, swaying pines and in the near distance, Big Sister Mountain of the Valhalla Range. We had great plans during our one-day visit to hike along the forest path from the cottage to revisit Slocan Lake, but never got off the front porch with its rustic twig armchair and wicker swing. No matter: our stay was gloriously satisfying for the cottage alone, which has been built and furnished with extraordinary care. The kitchen contains every cooking accoutrement one could possibly desire, the cabinets are full to the brim with old-fashioned board games, local history books and DVDs — and the bed linens are to die for! Thank you, Lorna and Wayne (and chickens), for 24 hours of bliss. We shall return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks for this lovely description of the Cottage in Hills, Kiki. It's true that many guests arrive with grand plans only to be lulled into a state of soporific relaxation on the front porch, rocking gently in the porch swing. Please come and stay with us again, our motto is "country solace for city folks."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to relax or to explore”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cabin has everything you will need to self cater. No need to bring anything except food and clothing. Lovely private setting looking up into the snow-capped mountains. Cabin is very clean and grounds are lovely...peonies were in full bloom during our stay. Owners are very prompt at answering questions before arrival and very helpful in giving directions and making suggestions when asked. We enjoyed hiking and biking while there but boating is also possible nearby.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Yes, the cottage is the perfect spot for outdoor enthusiasts. Hiking, biking, walking and exploring are available right from the front door and the beach is only 3 minutes away. Judy, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back to visit us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and the beds were good. The kitchen was well stocked. Our hosts were very helpful in suggesting things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thank you from both of us at the Cottage in Hills. My husband and I spent a considerable amount of time providing these guests with directions, local knowledge, and hands-on support, we are glad that made your visit enjoyable. There are so many great things to do around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conal A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful home. It is clean, fresh, has good beds, and has everything you need including a fantastic front porch to enjoy the view from. We found our host a lovely caring person who was always conscious of our privacy and made sure our needs were met. The location is convenient to New Denver and Nakusp. We brought our mountain bikes and road along the Galina Trail. The views are well worth the fun and easy ride. The house does not have service for cell phones! How awesome is that! I was unable to work at all ...yeah! Living in a farm environment was a really nice change. Thank-you Lorna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your break from work and city pressures.
Most guests get cell reception just outside the cottage a few steps up the road. A good balance: guests can check in with family if need be, but can disconnect from work and other distractions, "sorry boss, no cell service where we were staying." Thanks for your kind review, we do work hard to ensure the cottage is clean and pleasant for our valued guests. Please come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;