We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winery in a Very Scenic Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oliver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Oliver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Great Winery in a Very Scenic Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Burrowing Owl is a gem of a winery in the area just north of Osoyoos. Great wines, friendly staff and a wonderful view of the surrounding vines and hills. Of our 16 winery stops in the Okanagan, this was the only place we purchased a case and shipped home ( Caruja). Would love to spend the night there next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    20
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I heard a lot of good things about this winery, so I came here for my birthday dinner when we were staying at Osoyoos.The view is awesome. Didn't like the tuna though. I would definitely come back. Very relaxing and romantic for just a couple to enjoy their time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowwiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went to this winery last year. The Pinot Noirs and the Pinot Gris were our favorite to try. We also had lunch in the restaurant on the patio which has a great view of the desert over the mountains. I would highly recommend visiting this winery.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were here 10 years ago, when Jim was planning the "Boutique Hotel" and he knocked it out of the park. The 10 condos are elegant, spacious, high quality finishes, slate floors, great views to the pool and the valley, easy pool access from the lower units. Yeah - we loved it for 2 nights, and we partied by the pool, and even did some lengths in the salt water. Love it! There's a "party room" or "board room" on the second floor, where our 4 couple party gathered for appies and wine, - how elegant. The restaurant is excellent, and Burrowing Owl Merlot still my favourite red wine, even though the Valley's whites are still my favourites.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely magnificent property in a glorious setting. Everything is all well thought out. Superb rooms, pool and hot tub accessibility. Fabulous restaurant on site. Inviting tasting room. Tasty gourmet breakfast included. Making plans to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogieboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Lorna at the front desk. Right away she recognized the our name as my husband had spoken with Lorna to let them know we were coming to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Lorna asked if we preferred Red or White Wine. We were given the tour and shown our room which I must say was beautiful. A bottle of Red Wine was waiting for us along with two glasses which I felt was a nice touch. We did the wine tour which has been one of the best we have experienced . Sophi, our guide did an incredible job of explaining the whole process from growing the vines to harvest then the fermentation process right to the bottling of the wine. Well felt it was worth the $5 pp. We explored the area and a few of the other wineries in the area then came back to dinner Sonora's. The whole dinner experience was a perfect 10. Ron our server did an impeccable job and a joy to chat with.
As we got little to no sleep the night before due to the constant dripping (see trip to choose a good room) and we are early raisers we wished breakfast started at 7 am rather than at 8 am but I must say I felt breakfast was very well done. There was plenty of fruit, pastries, breads and their version of an eggs benedict.

Room Tip: The only reason we did not give this property the excellent rating was due to the fact we got little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Yes this place is expensive, but with the large rooms, expansive views of the vineyards, and the valley below, you feel like you've just inherited your own villa!

My wife and I stayed there for two nights in early May for our 32nd Anniversary. This guest house has been on our bucket list for years, and now it will remain a yearly event!

When they say the guest rooms are large, you'll never believe it until you see how large. Let's call them big enough to be the first apartment you had when you were starting out. A small bar, king size bed, two comfortable easy chairs, and then of course there is the expansive bathroom with huge walk in shower that makes your inner self want to hum tunes.

The large patio outside your room is perfect for having a glass or two of wine before dinner, and the Guest House provides you a complementary bottle of wine. The place is hard to leave after you get there. There are the vineyards to wander through, a large pool and Jacuzzi just for the guests, and of course the tasting room for wine.

This guest house is remarkably quiet in off season, and I highly recommend going in that time, as the staff have lots of time to discuss the vineyards and the area, and you'll never feel rushed by the crowds of tourist that swarm the place in July and August.

Room Tip: Off season is the best time to go, and there are also great deals with dinner if you book Monday to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliver
6.1 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
5.7 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
6.3 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
60 reviews
7.2 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Guest House

Property: Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Guest House
Address: 100 Burrowing Owl Place | RR#1, Site 52, Comp 20, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Oliver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Guest House Hotel Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing