We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, remote, and very well managed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oliver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Chaparral Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Oliver B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Located about 10 minutes drive from Oliver, this guesthouse/cabin in the woods is for those looking to get away from it all and enjoy the peace of the countryside. We stayed 3 nights but wished we could have stayed a week or more. It has 2 rooms which share a fully equipped kitchen, a huge veranda with several seating areas including a private outdoor seating area for each room. There is also a grill/bbq which we used every night for cooking dinner whilst drinking a good bottle of Okanagan wine and watching the sun set across the valley. The views are amazing. Each room has a small living room, a good size bedroom, and a bathroom with shower. Very well decorated, and AC if you need it. Anyway, I can't say enough positive things about this place. Would go back in a heartbeat. And make sure you have a pulled pork sandwich for lunch at Hammer House Of Hogs on highway 97 south of Oliver, absolutely delicious!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrueReviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

high on the hillside above Oliver BC...views of the valley and mountains.....totally private....no other humans to see...no lights or buildings hindering your view...just countryside

2 1-bedroom units with a deluxe communal kitchen in=between. perfect for 2 couples. Lovely huge covered verandah overlooking the valley, with lots of comfy furniture, tables/chairs, great bbq......the units have good a/c, comfy beds, beautiful furniture.

Perfect private retreat for a weekend of wine tasting or exploring............you are totally away from civilization............except for free wifi...............we sent so many pics of us all in total relaxation..up to facebook.......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YVRGUYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My parents and I stopped at High Chapparal Guest House as a beginning and ending point of a larger road trip and had a fantastic stay. We booked out both rooms, each of which was comfortable and well-equipped. The kitchen is beautifully laid out and easy to use as well, and there is a barbeque available. Wireless internet is also provided, though there's no phone, so without a cell you're out of luck.

It was about 38 degrees the entire time we were there so we spent our time half in the shade on the deck and half inside in the comfortable air conditioning when we got too hot. One of the biggest appeals is the view. It's on the top of a hill out of the way, so you look out and all you can see is gorgeous desert, and at night you hear the night hawks swooping and the coyotes howling. Great for those who miss those country nights where only animal sounds break the silence.

It's conveniently located to Oliver, so it's a great place from which to recover after a day of wine tours. Highly recommended, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Looking for comfort, quality, sophistication, good wine & dining, and at the same time peace and tranquility, the High Chaparral provided all these things. The view from the patio is breathtaking, with what feels like your own private valley spread out before you. We had the option of barbecuing on the patio, cooking a meal in the beautifully appointed kitchen (two suites share this facility), or driving a few miles into Oliver for dinner. Wineries abound in BC's equivalent to the Napa Valley and together with an abundance of other recreational amenities we were never short of something to do. Hosts Bruce and Linda are the best hosts you could wish to find and the accommodations were extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated. But the icing on the cake for us was the location and the view. Its so peaceful and tranquil. You can't get any closer to nature if you tried. Wild deer frequented the area and coyotes and crickets could be heard at night. It truly is a place to relax and regenerate. This place provides the very best of both worlds, We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a fabulous location and gorgeous view. There is nothing like waking to the sounds of birds chirping high in the hills. It is almost like camping - but with all the luxuries - beautiful, cozy bed, wonderful bathroom and full kitchen in between the two rooms. And the view from the porch made going inside difficult. Close enough to Oliver if you need something from town - but far enough away to relax. Definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KnittingGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We've stayed at the High Chaparral Guest House twice now. The owners describe the property as an adults-only, dog-friendly retreat. That doesn't even come close to describing just how wonderful the High Chaparral is.

The house is perched on top of a hill. You can see just a sliver of a two-lane country road in the distance and the closest neighbours are down the other side of the hill. In the morning, you'll be serenaded by birds; in the evening, the coyotes will entertain you until late evening. We've only just missed seeing brown bears both times we visited - drat!

The guest house has a state-of-the-art stainless steel kitchen that would be at home in a multi-million dollar Vancouver penthouse. Bruce and Linda have thought of everything - there are throws to wrap yourself in if the night turns chilly, the bed is huge and fluffy, and the bathrooms are fitted with the finest appliances. Each room has its own outdoor dining area, as well as table and chairs for sipping your wine while waiting for the steaks from the grill. And if you don't feel like cooking, there are always the great winery restaurants to visit - Mirador at Tinhorn Creek is especially fabulous!

If you're looking for a retreat that offers high-end luxury and comfort, while retaining a bit of rustic charm, the High Chaparral is the place for you. You'll be back - as often as you can - for more of this little charmer.

By the way, I accidentally clicke don the pool and fitness centre in the ratings below - they don't have either, so please ignore this part of my review. Silly Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JandPMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We arrived at High Chaparral with our daughter and son-in law and were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful location and at the attention to detail. The property consists of two separate suites - both with sitting areas, queen bedsin the comfortable bedroom, and granite floor to ceiling showers in the bathrooms. The suites are separated by a complete, well-equipped and beautifully appointed kitchen . A common verandah overlooks a valley full of birds and wild life .
Most wineries are within an hour's drive and this was a perfect respite from the warm days spent touring the wineries!
High Chaparral is ideal when travelling with family members or another couple . we thoroughly enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank BJOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oliver hotels
2.6 mi away
Mount View Motel
Mount View Motel
#1 of 8 in Oliver
49 reviews
2 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
62 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cactus Tree Inn
Cactus Tree Inn
#3 of 8 in Oliver
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elm Tree Farm B&B
Elm Tree Farm B&B
#15 of 22 in Oliver
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
VIntage Merlot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Chaparral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Chaparral Guest House

Address: 409 Patten Rd | Oliver, BC, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Oliver
Price Range: £127 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic elegance in wine country. Providing 2 X 1 bedroom suites suitable for two adults per suite. Outstanding views from the wrap around, covered deck. A shared, fully-equipped kitchen and BBQ are provided. Peaceful, private setting minutes away from Oliver, BC. Wine tasting, fine dining, golf, hiking, biking, fishing, horseback riding and simply relaxing are all at hand. Open year round. Well-behaved dogs are welcome. Adults only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing