We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway traffic at your front door!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oliver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallagher Lake Lodge
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highway traffic at your front door!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A group of us ladies, looking for a quiet spot, rented a cabin for the weekend. It was not part of the "motel" area but completely separate, for privacy. The cabin was "dated" but that we could live with, after all it is a cabin but it was dirty and smelled of human body fluids.
The owners did provide a spray to try to remove the smell.
The worst part of the stay was that the cabin is right on the highway, the front doors on cabins face the highway,,, the traffic noise was unbearable at times, being it is the Okanagan in the summer. It is only a short walk to the beach which was very nice, small but nice and water is clean.
If we had known we would be right on the highway we would never have rented this place.
the "motel" rooms are right on the lake but the cabins are not.
be prepared to bring earplugs or music to drown out the highway traffic.

Room Tip: DONT rent the cabins unless you are prepared for NOISE from the highway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolina95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Gallagher Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Thank you for your review.
We want to apologize for your less that satisfactory stay you had with us in 2013 but are happy to announce that Gallagher Lake Lodge is under new ownership. The lodge will be going through a few upgrades, updates and a good thorough cleaning. Please feel free to check back to either this page or our Facebook page for updates.

Thank you
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    1
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just came back from spending the weekend. Rented one of the cabins thinking we would be on the lake. NOPE we were right on the highway with so much noise you could not even talk from all the traffic. The lake is beautiful...but the cabins are not worth the money. We were there 2 nights and it cost us over $500.00. Unbelievable. We had to check out by 11 on Sunday morning and asked if they minded if we spent a few hours sitting on the beach. Can you believe they said NO. I would never ever give them my money again. Lots of people go there every year and it bewilders me as to why. So my recommendation is KEEP looking. Not friendly owners...also when we got there the smell by the cabin was really awful. I could keep writing, but I think I have said enough..........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 571sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Gallagher Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Thank you for your review.
We want to apologize for your less that satisfactory stay you had with us in 2013 but are happy to announce that Gallagher Lake Lodge is under new ownership. The lodge will be going through a few upgrades, updates and a good thorough cleaning. Please feel free to check back to either this page or our Facebook page for updates.

Thank you
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oliver hotels

Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I have been coming to Gallagher Lake Lodge for over 25 years. Over that time, we have usually enjoyed ourselves and all the other families who regularly holiday there during our August week. There have been a number of managers/owners of the Lodge over that time. Some good some not so much. The current managers, Mel & Izzy are the best ones yet. Always very pleasant and they keep the place very clean & shiny. Yes the rooms are old but comfortable. Mel & Izzy have been upgrading a few units at a time every year. We view our week at Gallagher Lake Lodge as a little bit of paradise close to home. Now our daughter and her family have started their annual vacation at the Lodge, the same week as us so we can all have a great family vacation that does not cost an arm or a leg. A number of other families who share our week also have their married children with families joining them too.
Yes, there a rules but every place has rules to guarantee everyone has a safe, quiet and enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on Upper level are bigger. Rooms on lower level have direct access to lawn and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you are looking for luxury, this is not your vacation. We have been coming to Gallagher Lake for 45 years. Not a lot has changed. The lake is clean, cool, and a great place to cool off during the hot Okanagan summer. The units are small and old but you do not stay at Gallagher lake for the units, you stay for the beautiful beach and lake. Our kids came with us when they we young, now they bring their children.
The managers, Mel and Isabelle are great. They are very friendly and the grand-kids love them. As others have indicated, there are some rules, but rules are what keep the place neat, clean, and reasonably maintained.
We will continue to return each year that we are able.

Room Tip: With small kids choose a lower room. Adults only choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Several families gathered at Gallagher lake annually for many years. Our family did not miss a year for 40+ years and became our destination of choice for our family of 4 generations. We as children looked forward to spending our coveted week at Gallagher Lake and as our families grew, so did our children and grandchildren. We hold so many fond memories where families are so busy during the year, it was our one week to connect and enjoy ourselves.

We had experienced the sale and turnover of the owner occupied lodge on several occasions but whomever purchased the business continued to make us feel welcomed and it felt like home.

It was with great sadness that as a family we had to make the decision to stop our gathering at our beloved spot. Yes the decor and accommodations had not changed much over the years. In fact most of the furniture, dishes etc were the same year after year. That did not matter to us though as it was OUR family time that we cherished the most.

After the lodge was sold the last time, it was not owner occupied anymore. We felt the difference immediately. The owners, who are from Kelowna, would stop by but never interact with the guests. I guess we no longer mattered. This was also evidenced by the current managers. The experience became all about silly rules. The last straw for us was when our 11 year old niece folded her beach towel into a little square and placed on the grass so she could paint her toe nails. Mel (the manager) immediately came out on his balcony and proceeded to yell at her.

In terms of housekeeping, Isabelle ( the manager) would follow the housekeeping staff around and yell at them.

After putting up with Mel and Isabelle for 3 years we began to wonder why were were spending our coveted vacation time with all this stress! In the 40+ years we did go it was practically impossible to get a summer reservation as all families came back every year. Interesting that now there is no problem getting a reservation. I wonder why??

Should Mel and Isabelle ever leave we would certainly consider going back old furniture, dilapidated kitchens and bathrooms etc.

If you are looking for a wonderful family experience would certainly NOT recommend staying at Gallagher lake!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 396Margaret57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Gallagher Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2017
Thank you for your review.
We want to apologize for your less that satisfactory stay you had with us in 2013 but are happy to announce that Gallagher Lake Lodge is under new ownership. The lodge will be going through a few upgrades, updates and a good thorough cleaning. Please feel free to check back to either this page or our Facebook page for updates.

Thank you
-Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

After reading the rest of the reviews I felt that I have share our experiences here.
We have been going to Gallagher Lake Lodge for years, staying in the lower level of the lodge. While the place may not be all that much to look at from the road, when you go through to the lake, you see paradise. The beach is well maintained and the deck is a wonderful place to let the world slip away and relax at just about any time of the day.
The rooms may be dated but they are always clean and the current management has been doing upgrades in the off season to improve the rooms and amenities.
The staff and management are approachable, cheerful and friendly.
The managers, Mel and Izzy are very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional.
The lake is spring fed which makes it cool but clean and crystal clear.
We will be going back, hopefully many time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Let me start off by saying that I had read all the reviews before booking, and seeing there were mixed reviews, I had to check for myself. YES........ the rooms are old..... but the beds are very comfortable. It was AMAZING quiet, especially seeing as you are right on HWY 97.
When sitting outside our room looking at the lake, we NEVER heard any traffic noise. Secondly... the hosts, Mel and Issy were wonderful, friendly, overly helpful. I went there for a fishing trip because I had heard that the lake held bass, which I love fishing for. Although we did not get any bass, we had a fantastic time catching Yellow perch, and sunfish. In fact, in the middle of the day on Saturday, we took out one of their paddle boats, and just for the fun of it, took our rods with us. Issy told us where she caught fish from the dock, so we paddle out there and got a large PERCH. The water is CRYSTAL clear, sand bottom in the swimming area.
Not only would I recommend this place to anyone, I have already booked for next year, early in the season when the bass should be biting.
Mike Walters, Chilliwack BC

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmOilerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliver
4.5 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
3.5 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
60 reviews
14.7 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Bluff Motel
#8 of 8 in Oliver
15 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cactus Tree Inn
Cactus Tree Inn
#3 of 8 in Oliver
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallagher Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallagher Lake Lodge

Property: Gallagher Lake Lodge
Address: 8331 Highway-97, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Oliver
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer rustic cabins, lodge rooms, and an RV space set in spacious grounds on Gallagher Lake with a private beach. Gallagher Lake Lodge is a relaxing retreat in the heart of Canada's wine capital, Oliver, BC, and an ideal base from which to explore the sunny Okanagan Valley. Our lodge is family friendly and we enjoy multi-generational families coming back year after year. Gallagher Lake Lodge is recently under new ownership as of April 1st, 2017, and new management as of June 2017. We have currently renovated 1 room, and will be doing more renovations in the fall of 2017 and beyond. We're very excited to take on this new project and make Gallagher Lake Lodge the best it can be. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing