We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
Kaleden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Location”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I were married here in 2010 and attended a friend's wedding this summer. Both events were spectacular and it was fun to be there as a groom at first and then a guest. Each time the staff were unbelievable, taking care of all the details asked of them. The venue was clean, organised, and beautiful. It was truly special to be able to have our guests stay on the same property the reception was on, and it made the party that much more fun not having to worry about distant accomodations or transportation. Thanks again Lakeside Team, and I'm sure you'll see us again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
I'm so glad that your wedding was such a success! We decided to start offering our facility for weddings, small retreats and conferences, etc. based on how well your event turned out! It does make a huge difference to have your guests staying right where the festivities are taking place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The resort is very crowded, campers are packed in, but the sites are big enough for a tent, shelter and car, but you are right next to your neighbours.
The resort will provide a fridge for a fee, which is very useful when you are camping for a week.
The beach sites are very pleasant and allow kids to play on the beach whilst parents can watch from their site.
The camp ground has a quiet time at 11pm, but be aware that the site is adjacent to a public beach, and every night drunks came around midnight till 2am ish swimming, yelling etc.....this is a major issue if you are in sites 28 - 33, very disturbing,the police were called in one night.

The washrooms and showers were very clean, for a loonie the shower gave a good long hot shower and never seemed busy. The laundry facilities looked good too, although we didn't actually use.

The lake was warm and no power boats are allowed. The site rents out canoes at a reasonable rate, which is fun to do.

For a camping resort this was very good, the only downside is the noise from the adjacent beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank-you for your review! I'm sorry you were disturbed by the Public Beach noise. We do try to monitor that nightly and have the beach cleared when necessary. Try us in the Spring or Fall and enjoy the resort when it's not as crowded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We first came to Lakeside Resort in July 1975 to join my parent who had come for a few years previous. We have not missed a 1st week of July since, our daughters are 33 and 30 now and have never missed a year. My parents have since passed away, our daughters are both married, their husbands and our grandchildren now come along so we're into out 4th generation of Lakesiders!!
Great family campground, quiet time at 11PM nightly, good washroom and shower facilities, laundry facilities, good sandy beach, rowboat and canoe rentals (no power boats allowed in Tuc-el-Nuit Lake) make this resort a summer "must-do" for our family!

Rick & Shelley Townsend
Surrey,B.C.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickitickitavvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thanks for your comments! We have so many families that return year after year to enjoy The Lakeside Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you are a camper who likes a bit of privacy, peace and quiet to relax and unwind, this might not be the place for you. The spaces are incredibly small compared to other campgrounds I have stayed at, with other campers frequently walking through the small plot of land that is allocated to you rather than staying on the paths and roads. There are no firepits in each site, but you can build a campfire down by the beach. If, however, you like all of the amenities of home, this site might just be the place for you with electricity, fridges, blenders, computers, etc. seen around the site. For me it isn't my cup of tea, but for many others they seemed fine sacrificing some peace and privacy for these things.

The resort is very well run, spotlessly clean (especially the washrooms), on a beautiful warm lake close to town. The staff seemed very friendly, and compared to other campsites in Oliver, this is likely the best one. Most of the people camping there are very friendly as well, and it is family-oriented, with quiet hours that most people seem to respect (except for a few loud ones that were near us unfortunately and made it hard to sleep - not management's fault, just basic camping etiquette).

By far the setting on the lake is the draw to this resort, but for me if I was to return it would be to stay in the hotel type building rather than to camp.

Room Tip: Stay on the outside of the resort if possible - there is a bit more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVern7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank-you for your comments! During Family camping season we are crowded, there's no denying it... many families are fine with it because their kids are safe, the beach is sandy and the water is shallow and warm. You know what they say "When the kids are happy so are Mom and Dad!"... Perhaps you'd like to try us in the shoulder season (April, May, June, September, early October). We are much less crowded then. We offer golf packages, self-guided cycling packages and in general a very relaxed getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

So we arrived at the Lakeside Resort in Oliver on the fabled Labour Day Weekend 2011 at about 3pm. We had woken up at 3am in Victoria, puttered around for a bit, loaded the Yaris, driven to Swartz Bay, boarded the 7am ferry, munched our way through several plates of breakfast buffet (Mike), visited Starbucks in Tsawwassen (Robyn), escaped the sprawling metropolis of Vancouver and beyond, cruised the Crows Nest Highway, taken an unexpected, but nevertheless enjoyable scenic detour courtesy of our GPS, and stumbled into Oliver with grateful hearts and a sense of excited curiosity about our lodgings.

We had read about the Lakeside Resort on their website and made our booking based on their claims of "warm weather, casual hospitality and a beautiful lakefront setting". We made an initial enquiry via email due to the fact that our intended stay was going to be on the Friday and Saturday of the Labour Day Weekend, and were informed that spaces were available. We made contact by telephone in July and booked our two-night stay. The email response was extremely quick and the booking process very easy and courteous.

Upon arrival it was apparent that the resort was busy, but not overrun. The entrance leads you down a short driveway to a smart wooden building housing the office. Once inside, my experience of checking in was efficient, friendly and accommodating. The building itself was clean and tasteful. Behind the desk the staff member asked us to complete a short form regarding our vehicle details and provided us with a map of the camping sites, a WiFi password, and other information concerning the resort amenities. We were then led out of the office by another friendly staff member to show us our camping spot. A tour of the resort itself revealed what can only be described as an absolutely charming, ultra family friendly, and wonderful place to stay. We fell in love with it at once. I couldn't wait to pitch the tent, throw a couple of steaks in the pan and crack open a can of beer.

The best way I can describe the shape of the resort is like a slightly flattened teardrop, with the fat end of the drop right on Tuc-El-Nuit lake. My wife and I decided that we would prefer a camping spot a little way up from the lake due to a bit of a breeze coming off the lake on the day we arrived, so once we had chosen the spot we began the process of getting prepared. Each camping spot had ample room for a trailer and a vehicle, but seeing as we had a small car and a two-person tent, we had plenty of space. Each site had a good size and good quality picnic table with accompanying wooden board for BBQs to protect the table. Nearby were the washroom facilities, which also had recycling bins and boxes outside for glass and cardboard, as well as rubbish bins and a washing-up sink.

The 2 washrooms on site were large and clean, and the showers (which took a loonie for about 5 minutes of tsunami-strength hot water) were a great bonus. The resort itself also has cabanas and lakeside motel style rooms on site, so I suggest checking out their website for further details. For our needs, however, it was perfect. Later that evening we sat by the sandy beach overlooking the gentle waters of Tuc-El-Nuit lake, while children of all ages ran in and out of the water and families sat around the various fire pits dotted along the beach, and realised we were truly enjoying a touch of paradise. While the resort was pretty busy that weekend with families, it was very relaxed and cheerful, and everyone seemed to be having a good time. The following day we took a tour of the wineries in the region on the "OK Shuttle" (see separate review) and spent another very pleasant evening.

We departed early Sunday morning, drove to Hinton, visited family in Edmonton, drove to Calgary via Drumheller, came back to BC, stayed in Fernie, and ended up back at the resort the Sunday after the Labour Day Weekend for a one night stay. It was noticeably less busy than the previous week - e.g. less children - and it was almost like coming home. We picked a different site than before, slightly closer to the lake, and spent yet another very pleasant evening, with an early departure the next day.

All told, the Lakeside Resort is awesome. We paid $38(and change) per night over the Labour Day Weekend and $28(and change) a week later. Excellent value given the amenities and location. In the resort office you can borrow badminton equipment and bocce-ball, and review local tourist information to enhance your enjoyment of the area. Tuc-El-Nuit lake is a small, warm and very safe lake nestled in the heart of Oliver, which does not allow any motor boats. Oliver is a great little community between Osoyoos and Penticton and its boast of being the wine capital of Canada is certainly well founded. I would recommend the resort to any family or couple seeking a very pleasant camping experience and we will most certainly visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_and_Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thanks for the glowing review! It sounds like you took full advantage of everything our little piece of paradise had to offer. Hopefully you'll come back "home" soon!!! Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have stayed here three years in a row. The sites are close together yet still are somewhat private. The site we stay in has a gorgeous lake view and we were only steps to the beach. The firepita are communal ones located at the beach. It was great to chat with other campers at the fire. Two of the years we stayed the place was full of kids. This was awesome as the kids organizes themselves into some great soccer and hide and seek games. The front desk people have been great and are prompt to return calls when making reservations. The resort is close to town, to wineries and to golf. I will definitely bring my family back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxinvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Families are our specialty in July and August. We offer a safe environment where kids can be kids... running, exploring, swimming, building sand castles. One thing we don't offer at the resort is any kind of arcade style games - just pure clean fun. Once every week we offer a Penny Candy Sale, a sandcastle building contest and a Karaoke Night. When kids are having fun so are their parents!!! Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is one of the best little hidden gems in B.C. Most people have not heard of Oliver, B.C.. The Lakeside Resort is an awesome place to go for families big and small. Our family has been going to the Lakeside Resort for over 20 years now and never get tired of going there. About 15 years ago we informed our cousins about this place and they have joined us each year ever since. It becomes a mini family reunion each year. The resort and the city you can never get tired of. Over the years we have done tenting there, renting an RV and having it set up there and most recently staying in the hotel side. The place is tucked away on Tuk-el-Nuit Lake with a private clean huge beach. The water is very clean as the lake does not allow powerboats or any gas or diesel engines in it. You can rent canoes and kayaks to go around the lake by the hours if you like. Depending on local fire bans you can also have fires on the beach (in pits of course). They provide free firewood as well for the fires, so no need to purchase. They also offer free WiFi (very slow when everyone is on it, night or day). The only downside this year we discovered was the dock has been taken away. We use to love to swim up to it and jump off of it. The resort has many trees in it to make for nice shady areas at the beach during a hot summer day. We will keep coming back forever to this place! If you haven’t been here you are missing out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thanks for the great review! There are many many families that have huge history with The Lakeside Resort. There are a number of family groups that have been coming to The Lakeside Resort every summer for over 50 years. Sorry about the dock! After many years of trying to manage rambunctious kids and a couple of very near-miss serious accidents I reluctantly took it out. Most people have adjusted just fine and bring along many floaties, big and small, that fill in just fine!! Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliver
1.1 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
11.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
11.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cactus Tree Inn
Cactus Tree Inn
#3 of 8 in Oliver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
13.0 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Resort

Property: The Lakeside Resort
Address: 6707 Lakeside Dr, Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oliver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Resort offers whatever type of holiday you're seeking! World-class wineries, golf courses and outdoor recreation amidst the splendour of Canada's only true desert. Soak up everything the Okanagan has to offer while enjoying our campsites, cabanas, or fully-equipped suites set on 150 m of private beach. Summer holidaying is ideal for families with the warm, clean, shallow lake and grounds with designated smoking areas, no power boats, or late-night noise. Spring and fall provide opportunities for golfers and wine connoisseurs alike. Take advantage of our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake' golf packages. Explore the beautiful Okanagan terrain and sip your way through the Wine Capital of Canada with our Self-Guided Cycling Getaway. Ask us about hosting your next family reunion, wedding or weekend getaway at The Lakeside Resort. We are very accommodating. Free internet access puts a smile on everyone's face! Unwind at the resort:- safe swimming, sandy beach- canoe, rowboat, and kayak rentals- horseshoes and bocce ball- bicycle rentalsTour the local attractions: - Golf courses (ask about our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake'golf package)- Hike and Bike Trail (ask about our Self-Guided Cycling getaway) - Wine tours - Horse stables- Orchard and farm tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing