We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Excellence”
Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine Country Excellence”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a lovely experience we had at The Sonora Room this week, Dinner was absolutely superb with friendly & relaxed professional service and exceptional food & wine. The ambience and setting were just wonderful. We will be back soon !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    108
    30
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the money”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying that we really love the winery. The rooms are wonderful, the beds are comfortable and the views are spectacular. We had really hoped the dining experience at the restaurant would be the final piece to add to a great weekend at Burrowing Owl. It started out well with the server talking about the wines and helping us with some information on the menu. She was very friendly and accommodating until we asked for the soup to be heated up. Unfortunately the soup was luke warm and we prefer it piping hot. The soup was brought back hot however, the server was now acting quite different towards us. She said quite frankly that the Chef tasted this himself so he knows it's hot and it seemed odd that another server took over our table until it was time to pay. The main course for me was the halibut which was bland and over cooked and my wife had the recommended duck breast which was also bland and tough. We love the winery and the guest house but we'll dine out in Osoyoos next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had our wedding dinner at the Sanora Room and we could not have been more delighted. The chef prepared a five course extravaganza with wine pairing. We finished the dinner off with a wedding cake of chocolate granache with chocolate sauce and thought we had all died and fine to heaven.

We also ate a few meals at the dining room and the food is very good for lunch or dinner. The service is very good and it is well worth spending a couple hours enjoying the food and wine. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and great food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Worth a trip off the main highway to enjoy the beautiful vista and fine dining. Went for lunch and were greeted by friendly professional staff. Sat inside in the chalet style dining room. We had the special chicken rigatoni with garlic which was in a generous bowl and cooked to perfection. The goat cheese salad with organic apples and apricot vinaigrette had a tantalizing presentation and all the ingredients tasted fresh and delicious. We chose a 2 cheese selection of brie and a to-die-for blue cheese, accompanied with spiced candied almonds, sliced strawberries, yummy olives and sliced dry baguette which all were very good. Service was impeccable and attentive. The outside balcony dining area is large and boasts stunning views as well. Good parking right out front. The only negative is that we felt the restaurant was a bit dated, however the food, service and views far outweigh this. We look forward to going back for dinner next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetlagclubmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal at the Sanora Room”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have eaten at the Sonora Room on many occasions with family, friends and just the two of us. We have always been impressed with the wonderful offerings, their presentation and taste. I adore the duck confit and have indulged many times. The service has been exemplar and there is no better view if you sit outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing