We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food Great Wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food Great Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did an Okanagen wine tour and stopped here for dinner, the food was excellent and so was the service. The view was amazing and the atmosphere very relaxing, the perfect place to kick back and savor everything

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    105
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had and i am a foodie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great service. Great food. Dessert special was to die for. Ciopinno had the right balance of flavor. Seafood was extremely fresh. We sat outside and the staff was attentive, bringing blankets to us as we seemed cold.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“New Chef. Still Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

When a top restaurant changes its chef everything changes. Burrowing Owl has a rotating door for its chefs, but the owners have been able to find talented chefs to maintain the restaurant as a destination. We have been here every year for the last 5 and the food and wine have been consistently great. They've even fixed the horrible acoustic problem in the dining room. The place is designed to look like a beer hall and the sound was awful. Today it has charm and much more intimacy for fine dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REO-LTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine Country Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a lovely experience we had at The Sonora Room this week, Dinner was absolutely superb with friendly & relaxed professional service and exceptional food & wine. The ambience and setting were just wonderful. We will be back soon !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying that we really love the winery. The rooms are wonderful, the beds are comfortable and the views are spectacular. We had really hoped the dining experience at the restaurant would be the final piece to add to a great weekend at Burrowing Owl. It started out well with the server talking about the wines and helping us with some information on the menu. She was very friendly and accommodating until we asked for the soup to be heated up. Unfortunately the soup was luke warm and we prefer it piping hot. The soup was brought back hot however, the server was now acting quite different towards us. She said quite frankly that the Chef tasted this himself so he knows it's hot and it seemed odd that another server took over our table until it was time to pay. The main course for me was the halibut which was bland and over cooked and my wife had the recommended duck breast which was also bland and tough. We love the winery and the guest house but we'll dine out in Osoyoos next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing