We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to put into words. Amazing”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves and are we glad we chose here.
Arrived in style from Vancouver in a $15m LAS Helicopter, a 47min trip up the Straight of Georgia, clear day so a fantastic flight. We were warmly met by the pilots before the flight and warmly met by Rebecca when we landed. Upon arrival our baggage was whisked off to our room and we went to the bar for our orientation and given our itinerary.
The resort is immaculate, the rooms are immaculate and the 10 boats that are lined up on the dock are immaculate, and to top it all off the staff were amazing, they could not do enough for you.
Whilst we were there we did a couple of hikes with the dogs, fly fishing in both the stocked ponds, 4 hours of salmon fishing in one of there Grady Whites , 3 hour kayak eco tour, Eco tour on the resorts rib (the guide was very knowledgeable and we listened to him through headphones) , harbour tour with wine and cheese, massage and best of all we completely relaxed, oh and we ate and drank too much :-).
We have eaten is some very nice restaurants but they do not come close to the food we had in Sonora, so fresh, impeccable presentation, just mouth watering.
Before our first meal we were asked if we had any preferences and dietary needs, my wife does not eat meat, so they only went and prepared a separate tasting menu for her. Just over and above our wildest expectations.
Before we booked we read through some of the reviews on here and it was hard to believe that it could be that good, well i do have one complaint, I had to leave.
I highly recommend you visit this resort you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sportbilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We just got back from the resort Oct 8-10 2010. After arriving in Vancouver there was a 2 hr stop over and we highly recomend going to the Flying Beaver its walking distance from the helicopter hanger fantastic food and not too pricy . (you need to get to the reort by plane, helicopter or boat) we were lucky enough to go on the helicopter a 45 min flight from the airport.
When we arrived at the resort it was raining just a little the staff was there ready with umbrella's and take you to the main lodge. There was nothing the couldn't do for us, check-in is with a glass of wine and chocolate truffles sitting at a table while they explain the resort. A games room with xbox, playstation3, pool tables, Virtual golf , then a movie theater to watch movies or sports (with popcorn!) Fishing pond you can fish.
Information... Everone at the resort seemed to be very knowledgeable from the wine right down to the animals. The food... 5 star! no question they take a lot of pride in the food they serve if you want somthing else just ask! I recomend the taster its 5-6 small servings of different food about 1/2 was seafood.
The tours ... The bear watching was great if you have not seen a real grizzley then this is the safest way. After an hour boat ride you get on a small bus and they take you to different towers (so the bears can't get you) and you will see them looking for salmon in the water.
Fishing... It was late in the yaear so fishing wasn't the best but I managed to reel on in anyway. It was great just being on the ocean with a hot coffee and balies. The guide was outstanding. On the way back to the resort we got lucky, we noticed a lot dolphins around, the guide slowed the boat down making a bigger wake and the dolphins jumpped in the wake and swam with our boat it was so cool.. they were so close I could almost touch them.
Spa... 5 star no question according to my wife I was fishing but she said it was a once in a lifetime experience they went above and beyond again to make everything perfect.
We were only able to go for two days so there were parts of the resort we were never able to experience but whenever they could go above and beyond they did, I know the resort is $$$ but it is a once in a lifetime experience (try and go in early September the fishing is better)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryander154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Sonora Resort and Spa is a luxury secluded hideaway where nothing is too much trouble. The staff are dedicated to making your stay 'special' and certainly achieved this. The food is simply amazing and unlike other "all inclusive" resorts is top quality including the drinks available to you throughout. The location is simply stunning with rooms that look out across the waters full of sea lions and seals playing, whilst a short walk away are walks galore through temperate rain forest where Black Bears are easy to spot - a wildlife photographers paradise! The resort also offers a variety of trips from guided fishing to white water rafting - they will even arrange things that are not in the brochure - you just have to ask! This resort is not cheap, but it is definitely a case of you get what you pay for and if its luxury and being totally spoilt that your looking for then this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed for 5 days in August and it was the highlight of our holiday. It is probably the loveliest place we have stayed which was down to a combination of the beautiful location, really helpful and friendly staff and the great facilities. I could not criticise it and will come back. It offered everything for all the family. Wildlife, fishing, sports facilities and a great games room. The food was delicious and while the taster menu could be slightly slow, it was worth the wait. Much thanks to everyone at Sonora for making it a memorable holiday.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank LewisLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Our experience at Sonora Resort was absolutely priceless. This luxurious resort is above 5 stars in our eyes. The staff and food was fantastic. The island was full of natural beauty, fabulous views and breathtaking wilderness. The tours were adventurous and relaxing: Fishing, Grizzly Bear watching & Eco-tour. The wellness-center and spa services were excellent. The mineral pools and hot tubs overlooked the water & were surrounded by nature -- truly spectacular. We were spoiled and pampered for 4 days/nights. We are already planning our next trip back.
Sonora and Staff — Thank you for the experience of a lifetime!
Suzanne & Ricky

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skincare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I booked our trip to Sonora after finding it on the web and then confirming it's quality on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. It had everything (and more) than one would expect from a hotel that is in the Relais and Chateaux guide. From the moment you arrive until the moment you depart it is first class all the way!
We went for 3 nights in early September and the fishing was great - in fact, one of the days we were out on the water an all-time record for the area was set - a 72lb Chinook was pulled out of the water in Denham Islet! It was very exciting to be a part of such a monumental experience!
Our fishing guide was Henry - very experienced, professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Not only did we have a great time and experience, but we learned a lot about the area and salmon fishing in general.
The food was outstanding - hats off to Anna who looked after us for our 3 dinners and the morning breakfast staff as well.
If you like fresh Dungeness crab - this is the place for you - ask to see the cage they have built under the dock, it doesn't get any fresher than that!
The resort facilities were great - all exuded a warm and friendly atmosphere. We stayed in Yuculta 3 - a private and great room with wonderful views.
all in all I would highly recommend going here if you want the ultimate fishing experience combined with 5-star amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanuckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is the second time I've been to the resort, but my wife and her family have been every year for the last five. I just can't say enough about this special place. We've been to some beautiful spots, stayed in luxurious accomodations, and dined in fine restaurants around the world, but Sonora is...different. The food is consistently outstanding, the staff seem to look for a reason to go above and beyond at every opportunity, and the locale is without compare. I left envigorated and inspired. Congratulations and thank you again to the wonderful team at Sonora - especially Wayne and Donna.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,278 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
101 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range: £506 - £968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing