We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Getaway location and a wonderful place for families”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely Getaway location and a wonderful place for families”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 5 night trip to Sonora Resort. The previous reviews are all right about the food - it is top notch! We were incredibly well fed, with 3 glorious meals a day, served by truly wonderful staff. Michael, in particular, always made us feel so well cared for and knew how to make the kids (little and big) very happy! The restaurant was very accommodating and flexible with all of our needs, and every single meal we had was truly excellent. There was also the option of a 5-course tasting menu with paired wines for dinner every night (recommended time is 2 hours). We have all returned home about 5-8 pounds heavier! :-)

Our four kids (5yo-12yo) LOVED the “Snack Shack” and was always in there raiding it - unlimited supplies of candy bars, granola bars, pretzels, crisps of all varieties and flavours, and all the water, sodas and beers that you can imagine. (I think there were about 15 varieties of cold beers!) We stuck with sparkling water for the most part! :-) There is definitely something to be said about going to an ‘all-inclusive’ resort that makes you feel like you are a kid in a candy store (literally!)!

The games room was fun - everyone loved the two golf simulators, and the kids also loved the shuffle board and the foosball table. There is a fantastic outdoor covered tennis court with ping pong table and basketball hoops in it as well! We also had fun in the movie theatre! The staff will make you popcorn and serve you drinks for your show, and this too can be used at anytime.

I had wonderful treatments at the Spa (probably my personal favourite spot in the resort), by truly lovely and excellent therapists. Chrissy has the most beautiful touch and gave me wonderful massages and facials and did a great mani/pedi! Melissa was wonderful with my 7yo daughter - she gave her the most indulgent and best kids’ mani/pedi that she’s ever had and made her incredibly happy. I also really enjoyed the gym. And they have a good sauna, steam room, warm and cold mineral pools and a hot tub.. all that can be used at any time. I really liked the environment they have created at the spa. They also use a great range of products (from organic skin care to high-end swiss products and also an in-house line).

There are lots of activities that you can sign up for at the resort. We did a family guided rafting trip down Campbell River, as well as heli-fishing, a few fishing trips by boat and an Eco Tour (also by boat) and saw black bears, lots of bald eagles and seals, dolphins, water birds of all kinds. Our guide Ben was very knowledgeable. The guides are all great. So are their boats!! We unfortunately didn’t catch any fish on the boat trips, but we saw people who did! And I would’ve liked to have tried the ocean kayaking and gone snorkelling with the salmon, but perhaps next time! A big thanks to Donna for being so super and efficient at organising all our excursions and trips! :-)

The property is beautiful, easy to get around, great views everywhere, with lots of options for hikes and/or bike rides. The staff are all very approachable and friendly and very helpful. The rooms and lodges are well appointed, very comfortable, with everything (and more) that you need, including (too well) stocked mini fridges, and a great selection of excellent teas and coffees! What I really enjoyed too were the lovely little gifts that they left you during the turn down service every night.

Sonora Resort felt like a home away from home in the best possible way, but with 5-star cuisine and service for every single meal! :-) We never had to get dressed up (which we so loved), and the kids were happy everywhere. Thanks for a lovely time, Sonora Team!

Room Tip: The best thing to do to choose the most ideal lodge/room for your needs would be to dialogue with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you back as our guests again soon.
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
152
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
Level Contributor
600 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Sonora Resort, is just paradise. Everything about this remote place was amazing. We did not expect and were surprised by the quality of the restaurant which was outstanding. In fact, we thought it was much better than the Hawksworth, inventive, simple and excellent. The resort seems to be geared more to fishing than anything else but not being fishing types we also had a great time and wonderful activities ( eco tours, hiking, bear watching, whale watching and much more) were organized for us. Trust the Resort to organize the best activities in light of weather and taste. The best person to organize activities is Robyn who did a great job despite the challenging weather conditions.
Aaron is a very good naturalist and Steve is excellent as a tour guide as he has lived all his life in the area. The hikes on the islands are fantastic and on both hikes we close encountered deers. But you better not be on a budget if you want to do activities on the water at the resort, they are very flexible in what you do as they basically bill you for the time spent and it adds up fast! We saw black bears, eagles, sea lions, seals, etc..Of course there are a lot of free activities at Sonora: virtual golf (!), indoor tennis, ping pong, outside pool, billiard, movies, kids room and a great spa.

Room Tip: VIews form most rooms are just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank-you so much for sharing your Sonora experience. We truly have amazing staff, and we will ensure to pass along you praise. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

These five words say it all. I have just read the previous reviews which exemplify how we feel about this wonderful resort. Apart from the "not so good" weather after the first day we had a wonderful stay in a magic location. The Scenery, the Accommodation and the Great Staff made every moment of our stay memorable. We would love to return to this resort, but as we are "seniors" it maybe a dream. An expensive resort but well worth a great experience in a wonderful setting. It is an unforgettable paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz_packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank-you so much for the glowing review on Sonora Resort. We sincerely hope to have you back as our guests again in the future. Happy Travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was part of my 50th Birthday year celebrations. I had my brothers and sons (and daughter) join my son and I to spend 4 days at Sonora Resort. We saw it profiled in newspapers and the odd AMEX promotion. Its expensive but if you begin to piece together the costs, it actually doesn't come off as expensive on first blush - when you consider cost of 3 meals, alcohol, service, amenities, etc. But it is expensive. We had our own lodge, Marine Lodge - for the 7 of us. That's a great bonus if your group is big enough to get your own lodge setting with its relative privacy. We enjoyed our helicopter ride into and out of property, did some salmon fishing, hiking, mountain biking to a nearby lake where we all went for a swim in the cold water but it was amazing, went sea kayaking, had a zodiac 2 hour eco-tour, played lots of tennis, pool, and simulated golf - which was a real hit. Lots to do - one of my nephews called it 'candyland' for all the things we could do, mostly at no charge for the stuff around the lodge. There were not lots of guests around when we were there, around the Canada Day holiday - so we could play tennis when we want, and had the mountain bikes when we wanted. Hiking, mountain biking, tennis, simulated golf, etc ... all part of the resort free offerings. I really loved the eco tour - great tour guide by our zodiac operator (Arron) - and most loved the sea kayaking - excellent option if you have never done it. Probably most disappointed with the salmon fishing. Not a lot happened there - for what we paid, I would have thought almost a guarantee of one salmon per boat - we had two boats - some of that is time of season but then we almost expected them to reach out to us for a second try at no charge until we caught something, maybe another day - but no such offer. Maybe an unrealistic hope. The other disappointing, and actually part of the trip I was least impressd with was the dinner menu - just a little too much - too pouffy - too high end and rich for a vacation resort. We started asking for simple pasta for some of us after 2 evenings - lunches and breakfasts were great. One other thing they could do better - the fitness facility needed more equipment - more variety - not a lot of stuff there so if it was busy, I could see that being a problem.

All in all, we had a great time. Once in a lifetime, I would say.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, General Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear MikeB,

Thanks very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Sonora Resort!

Your comments help us fine tune our service offerings to better meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. We were sorry to learn the fishing was a disappointment and much as we would love to guarantee that all our guests catch fish, we are at the mercy of the fish!

Thanks also for your comments regarding our dinner menu. While we recognize you were not happy with what was offered on the dinner menu, we were pleased to note that our kitchen prepared dishes to your liking. In regard to the quantity and variety of our fitness equipment, we appreciate your feedback and will evaluate the usage of the equipment to determine if we need to add or change up what is already in place.

It was a true pleasure having you and your family at Sonora to share in the celebration of your 50th birthday, MikeB, and we sincerely hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Sonora on a future occasion.

Sean Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

From arrival to departure it is obvious that this is a special place. True isolation in a locale surrounded by nature. We shared our time with bald eagles, seals, black bears,deer and 3 resident goldens. The staff is caring, the lodging has every possible amenity, the food creative. No request went unanswered. It's hard to get to but well worth the effort. If not on your bucket list revise it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjayatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks-you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are so happy you've checked us off your bucket list:) Happy Travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

From the time you step off your mode of transportation to the exceptional facility, you are treated like a KING or QUEEN .
Activities are top notch : ECO Tours , Spa is magical , Fishing - fantastic guides , Great Gym and great trails to run on , Fly Fishing , pool should you be so inclined to name a few .
Just hiking around the property is like an out of body experience .
Dining experiences are beyond words !
Save your pennies , but it is truly worth the expenditure .

Supernatural British Columbia just does not describe it !

Room Tip: Every room will give a view that will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_macSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank-you so much for your kind words about Sonora Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! Hope to see you again at the resort!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Yes......Sonora is very expensive and difficult to justify..........until you get here and are immersed into the most magical Eco experience. Coming here was a Big Deal for us, we don't normally spend this kind of money but it was definitely worth every cent. I cannot recommend Sonora highly enough for a once in a life time experience that allows you to see nature at her best. I felt like I was staying at the home of great family friends. The staff were simply amazing, the food sublime and the opportunity to see wild life every single day simply amazing. This is 5 star in every sense except for the need to dress up - just heaven getting off a kayak and the walking straight into dinner with a view to die for without the need to even brush your hair. Believe every trip advisor review - it's actually this good!

Room Tip: Every room is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank-you so much for sharing your experience at Sonora Resort and for the glowing review! We hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
263 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,016 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
83 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
19.5 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#6 of 9 in Quadra Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing