We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a three day adventure to Sonora Resort. This was my sixth trip to this very unique part of the world, and I can't wait until I can go again.

A couple of tips if you go,

a) engage the staff, they are very well trained and very fun.
b) choose your fishing guide wisely, get one of the most experienced guides, the old timers work together to find the fish, have really fun stories, and will get the fish in the boat. Ask for Cam McDonald you can't go wrong and he has XM radio.
c) go Grizzly watching, there is no thing like it. Ask the Lodge for thier loaner camera and zoom right in on the bears.
d) on the helicopter back sit on the Left side for the more interesting views.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to share your Sonora experience and for giving future guests some Sonora travel tips. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Safe and happy travels!
The Sonora Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
144
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited Sonora in October 2012 for my 60th birthday primarily for the grizzly bear viewing. Whilst the scenery, service, food & accommodation are exceptional, unfortunately the bear viewing programme was poor. The "guide" was as far as I could ascertain the young man who drove the boat and spent the whole 2 hours in the stands chatting with other staff about their plans for the winter. He would occassionally look up and say something along the lines of "there is a bear coming out of those bushes". I learnt nothing about grizzly bears. Disappointing doesn't begin to describe it. On the other hand the guide for the eco-tour was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and led an excellent excursion. I would summarize by saying that if you would like to widen your knowledge about grizzlies this is not the place for you

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, General Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks very much for your comments regarding your experience on a bear tour with us in October 2012. We were very disappointed to learn of the problems you encountered on the bear tour and we have addressed the matter with our boat operators that transport guests to and from the Orford River where the bear viewing takes place. We partner with the First Nations people on whose traditional lands the bear viewing takes place and ordinarily it is their guides that accompany our guests and provide the information about the bears. We’re puzzled as to why this was not the case on the occasion of your tour and unfortunately, given the time that has passed since the tour, we have had a difficult time getting to the bottom of the problem. Notwithstanding, along with our apologies, we trust you will accept our assurances that this regrettable situation was most certainly not in keeping with the high standards of service we endeavour to provide to all of our guests across all aspects of our operation. We also hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Sonora on a future occasion, although under entirely favourable circumstances.

Best regards

Sean Ross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I are still currently at Sonora waiting to leave after five wonderful days but we couldn't wait any longer to post a review. It is what you imagine it to be and more. A pristine wilderness setting with the added bonus of a 5 star luxury resort. From the fishing to hiking, bear watching, to kayaking it is very hard to want for more. Seeing the orcas was incredible. The helicopter from Vancouver is a wonderful way to start the holiday and the service from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is world class. It really has been a superb stay. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool have a wonderful view and are close to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank-you so much for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we look forward to having you back as our guests.
Safe and happy travels!
The Sonora Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is the wilderness at its finest! We are still here right now, but I could not wait to review it. We came here with multiple families to celebrate a friends 50 th birthday. I really didn't know how much I would enjoy a wilderness adventure. After arriving in Vancouver, you can only get to Sonora by helicopter or seaplane. That alone was great. The complex is gorgeous! The staff can not not do enough for you from the moment you arrive. We had a group of 15 of us in our party. The rooms were beautiful and the kids had there own rooms. It's hard to begin. We started the first morning with salmon fishing. We caught 3, and they resort works with a service that will have the fish smoked, filleted and shipped home for you. Some of the fish we had prepared by the chef for sashimi that evening! In the afternoon we went out by boat to see the Orcas that were spotted nearby. Words can not expressed what we experienced. We drifted in our large zodiac boat with out amazing guide Aaron and a large male Orca surfaced about 10 feet from our boat, yes 10 feet! Ok, maybe 5 feet. The photos and video are incredible. We went on another tour and stood and photographed a female grizzly bear and her 2 cubs from about 30 feet across a stream! It was incredible. The hiking was also amazing. Eagles, sea lions, seals, deer you name it!

The food was very good and our server Michael Hood was awesome. He was such a great young man all wanted to adopt him! I could go on for hours about this place. Gift shop items were pricey but high end. Tomorrow morning we are going rafting and snorkeling with salmon.

This is one special place.

Room Tip: I can only comment of Gillard lodge which is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank-you so much for sharing your Sonora experience. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you back as our guests again soon.
Safe and happy travels!
The Sonora Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

After a great stay three years ago, we made a second trip with some degree of apprehension that the experience would not live up to the fond memories of our prior stay. We're happy to report that the resort, in terms of the accommodations, services, dining, available activities is still awesome. In both this trip and three years ago, we subsequent stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim in Vancouver, a nice hotel in its own right, but was made to feel anticlimatic after the incredible experience at Sonora. When we arrange our next visit, it might be best to reverse the order of the stays.

The best part of this visit was when our daughter, now strong enough to reel in a fish, caught a pink salmon (a big thank you to Mike Sear for guiding us!) We ate a little piece on the dock; freshest and best tasting sashimi we've ever had. Terry Pichor, the extremely talented Executive Chef, cooked the rest of it for us for lunch. Amazing.

Sonora Resort is, by far, the best lodging experience we've ever had...anywhere. If it were possible, it deserves a six circle rating.

Room Tip: We've enjoyed rooms in the Arbutus and Gillard Lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us, and that your youngest angler caught a delicious salmon. We look forward to having you back again soon. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We spent four days at Sonora on a quasi business retreat with two other couples and every second was beyond outstanding. The food was mouth watering, the accomodations first rate and the attention to detail by the enthusiastic staff was tireless. Seeing sea lions, eagles and dolphins in their natural habitat was a once in a lifetime opportunity. I'm already trying to figure a way to come back

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your retreat with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Sonora Resort in July 2007. Simply amazing. The food, the facilities, the staff. You get full value for your dollar here. We also enjoyed a few of many available excursions, salmon fishing, grizzly tours, etc. You leave feeling like you were really taken care of and that you've just experienced something you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to have you again as our guests!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing